We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special, but "solid" - and fresh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goc Ha Thanh Restaurant

Goc Ha Thanh Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 255 Restaurants in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but "solid" - and fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The raving reviews on Tripadvisor are a bit misleading: The food here is not special in any way, and if you expect too much, you might be disappointed. The meals are, however, cooked with fresh ingredients, and the staff and the owner are indeed very friendly and seem to care a lot about what they cook and how to please their guests. That is already quite something in a city like Da Lat which is blatantly touristy and where it's sometimes hard to find a nice, decent place.

You won't see many Vietnamese guests here, but that's not because of food quality, but simply because the style of the restaurant is seen as rather "Western" and most Vietnamese customers probably prefer larger tables, where they can sit in big groups. The taxi driver seemed convinced that this is a tourist trap, and he recommended a place that looks more "bia hoi" style. It is certainly not a tourist trap, it's a nice and solid place. Nothing special - but fresh food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisd0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    152
    68
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The food and service were great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a lovely meal here. They have a fairly extensive menu with a few western options but mainly Vietnamese. For a small, family run place I was very impressed with the food - it was of a high standard. I had a salad and the dressing was delicious (I'm not one for salad dressings normally) and my friend had the spring rolls. We were both in agreement that it is a lovely place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mat1lda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good food - reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My Vietnamese fiance and I went to this restaurant based on the trip advisor rating. I had the fixed price meal and she had pho bo. The food was quite good at a very reasonable price. We also had the snail spring rolls which were excellent. We are staying in Dalat for two weeks and we will definitely go to Goc Ha Thanh again. A big plus - they have adult size chairs there which is unusual in Vietnam. Normally the chairs are quite small.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barlowe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value set meals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Dalat and both chose the set menu which included a drink, a main meal and seasonal fruit for dessert. I was a little surprised when the meal came on one plate (I chose chicken with mushroom & vegetables, rice, chips and cucumber and tomato salad). The food wasn't the best, nevertheless it was great value for just $70,000 vnd!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkE82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant, Lovely People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have eaten here twice and on both occasions have really enjoyed our meal. As other reviewers have said it is a small family run restaurant and that makes it all the more special. If you go try the snail spring rolls. The garlic dipping sauce that is served with them is soooo good. Thuy (pronounced Twee) was kind enough to explain the recipe so I can try and make it when I go home. Would definitely go back and would recommend to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goc Ha Thanh Restaurant also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Goc Ha Thanh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing