We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Artist Alley Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 258 Restaurants in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Artist Alley restaurant is renamed of News And New Art Cafe.Owner Vo Trinh Bien, a famous artist in Vietnam. Artist Alley restaurant located in the end of Truong Cong Dinh street, in the alley. We serve coffee, vietnamese food and western food, especialty, steaks. Weekly traditional Vietnamese music performances.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is beautiful, besides us there was only one other table there at dinner time, and with the paintings on the wall and the ceiling, it felt like a quite museum. The portion of the food was a bit small but the owner compensated that with a free painting! The feeling of a quite museum never went away, it was not that comfortable to stay there for a couple of hours in spite of the attentiveness of the owner and staff, but definitely a great place to have dinner at.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IanRenYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    105
    49
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This sounded like a good place to have a romantic meal what with the candles, music and the decor. Sadly it was a let down.

We came here to get a dessert after a bad meal else where and though if it was good we would come back the next night for a meal. The waitress couldn't explain or show us the cake of the day and when we ordered pancakes we got a chocolate cake with bananas on top. We were the only ones in the restaurant and the owner was sat in the other section. He poked his head round, spoke to the waitress and went back to sitting doing nothing. A far cry from the warm welcome other customers have received. Maybe if we had spent more money he would have acknowledged us.

The paintings are very good and the tables, candles etc do make the place look very nice. Sadly we didn't feel welcome so didn't go back for a romantic meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkladyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newart70, Owner at Artist Alley Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Dear Pinklady.
Thank you very much for your review .I sincerely apologize both of you for the waitress confused your dessert..
The day you came to my restaurant I was little bit sick ,I tried to draw for you 2 paintings.
As you know,we are artists , the life is so hard for me,I always try with my best to make peoples happy. I am very sad because you did not have a good time in my restaurant .
I hope you have a great time in Dalat.I wish to see you again .
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We only wanted to have a drink here and then move on but ended up staying for dinner. The wine they serve here is delicious!! Service is very kind and attentive. This is the fist time that our food came out all together ( in a reasonable priced restaurant). I had the snow balls and they were very yummy! Try them! Bien also drew each of us beautiful pictures and showed us his great talent and technique. The ambience and the decoration including his drawings is just beautiful. you get a great view over the street. Bien made sure everything was ok, as well and had a roll we could carry our new drawings (for free!!) with us for our onward travels. One of the best dining experiences in Vietnam!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food, Free Painting???”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Let's be honest, food in Da Lat is nothing to write home about. However this place is a gem and is well worth a visit. The food ranges from western to Vietnamese, and they give you lots of meat in the dishes (good, HQ white meat chicken, for example). It was a bit quiet and there were only two tables taken, but beyond that the ambiance is nice - the owner's paintings are hung from the walls and many of them are very impressive (especially given the fact that he paints all of them with his finger).

At the end of the meal, the well-dressed/well-articulated owner comes to your table and literally paints you a custom piece of artwork. I don't know what he does when they're busy, but for the two of us he spent a good 15 minutes creating the paintings. All the while he was chatting with us, talking about his art studio, why he started the restaurant, etc. Overall just a very friendly guy.

So let's summarize: bad food in Da Lat, good food here, free painting, awesome owner. Go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and painting while you eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went there three times and came back for the atmosphere and friendly staff. Twice the food was excellent and only the last evening nothing special. But the painting at our table made it good. Where does this happen for free? Don't forget to visit the toilet and take your camera with you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artist Alley Restaurant also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Artist Alley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing