We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring, no atmosphere bad music”
Review of The Hangout Bar

The Hangout Bar
Ranked #59 of 279 Restaurants in Da Lat
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Boring, no atmosphere bad music”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We read about this bar in lonely planet so decided to check it out, The only thing it had going for it was free pool, the atmosphere is dead and the owner is miserable doesnt care about customers. Would be better with re-styling the bar. Beer was 20,000 not bad mixed drinks were weak tasted watered down, There is other bars around with more life, If there is nothing else open have a beer, Lonely planet needs to visit again.....

Helpful?
2 Thank josh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just a cool place to be”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was travelling through Vietnam by myself in March & jusy found this place while walking around Dalat. The food was great & so was the company. I will go back there again next time I'm in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shultz_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I just went by the hangout to thank Tuan for taking such good care of my boyfriend that morning, taking us to the hospital and making sure he was well taken care of there. ( we had been on an easyrider trip when he got sick) He offered me a drink, and gave me some fruit he had bought especially for my bf. Meanwhile all other guests were also looked after and all looked happy, having some beers from the fridge and playing pool. It is a small cafe, but a nice place in the city center to have a drink.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Annika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleiku, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best bar in Dalat”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Come to there like you are at home. Friendly service, great atmostphere! They offer free games, movies are always available. Chit chat and walk around pool table, bet some changes and get more travel tips here! Come to see and try to experience.
Hangout or overnight^^

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“unfriendly, so many better places in Dalat”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We didn't actually stay long enough at this bar to have a drink. The sign said free pool and happy hour 5 to 7 and again at 9 to 10. We walked in at 945 thinking we could still have a quick happy hour drink before 10. The man working seemed very uninterested when we walked in, he was watching TV. We asked about happy hour drinks and he made an expression like, what are you talking about, happy hour is over. I said, doesn't it end at 10? He made a grunt noise and looked at the clock. He said OK, we have buy 2 gin and tonics and get one free. They had no beer specials. Cans of beer were $1. He seemed like he could really care less so we just said thank you and left. There are many nice places in Dalat, I recommend elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hangout Bar also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to The Hangout Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing