We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hoang Loc Villa Hotel
Ranked #12 of 350 Da Lat B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Verdict: I will stay here again.

Room Type: Superior Double Bed
Room No.: 103
Paid: USD 23.45

Pros:
- Accommodating staff - agreed to put me up in the driver's room when I checked in at 5am and my room is not vacant/available; Called me on my mobile when room is available at around 1pm; provided towel for me to take a shower before I take the night bus to HCMC
- Clean and looks new
- English-speaking staff
- Food and shops within walking distance (although I didn't venture nearby)
- Away from the noise (hotel is at the end of a small lane); although there is a Karaoke just next door, I didn't hear noise from my room or at the reception
- Scooter (automatic) rental at 100,000 VND (or roughly US$5.00) per day; petrol station is just 1 minute away!

Cons:
- About 10 minutes' drive to town (not walking distance)
- No fan in room (cool weather means air-con is not required but fan will be helpful for ventilation); 1 window but you have to accept noise from your neighbours if they have a chat outside their room

TIPS FOR TRAVELLERS:
- There is a "public" toilet/shower-room that you could use if you want to have a quick shower before catching a night bus. Just ask the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifesExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 65 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in Hoang Loc Villa hotel for 3 nights and booked through Agoda, since they didn't want to make bookings without advance pay. Reading the other reviews we thought this was a nice quiet family hotel a little out of center city.
Well the hotel was not quiet at all. First of all the owner has a very dangerous looking dog sitting in a cage next to the hotel and this dog is barking a lot. Also in the middle of the night. Furthermore there are two Karaoke places next door and the seem to be doing good because they make a lot of noise all evening and beginning of night.
We don't know were the family feeling, other reviews talked about, came from, but we didn't notice it. They were helpfull but the boy at reception was not aware were any of the major attractions in the area were. And when complaining about the noise we just got a sorry.
Also when arriving at 12.30h our room was not ready yet and we had to wait for one hour. This is not a problem, but we didn't get any drinks offered or anything, we just had to sit and wait.
Last but not least, the hotel is really far from anything and there are no good local restaurants nearby. We had scooters, but even on bike, which are also not complementary, it is quite far.
Rooms where ok, but didn't have any chairs in it, only 2 very tiny wooden chairs just outside our room, and the children didn't even had any balcony or something to sit.
For the money paid there are much better hotels available.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob30berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Overall a comfortable stay. Food has to be pre-ordered and they could give more than just one pillow each. The hotel is located off the main road down a steep slope so be prepared for some exercise if not calling for a taxi.

Room Tip: This is a two level house with extension buildings. Get rooms on the 2nd level if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevindo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had 2 x rooms - 1 x double and 1 x twin and both were excellent - beautifully done and very clean - even doors on the showers! Rooms comparable to good modern western hotel. Gardens are lovely although the rooms do not look on to them. The hotel is a little way out of town but a cheap taxi ride away and the upside is that there are reasonably priced restaurants around and a supermarket approx half a km away (toward town). Very quiet and lovely and cool, however watch out for mosquitos if any windows are open. The staff speak very good English and are extremely helpful.
We had breakfast one morning and not overly impressed but ok. My husband asked if he could pat their alsatian guard dog (held by the owner on a chain after a walk) and was told yes. Unfortunately the dog is kept locked up most of the day in a kennel which may explain why he suddenly attacked my husband quite viciously as he turned to leave, causing lacerations (a couple deep) on his arm and back. The staff rushed to help with iodine solutions and we were assured the dog had had his rabies shot, however you can imagine it was quite shocking and an experience we will never forget!

Room Tip: All seem to be fine - twin room upstairs so warmer than the downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camclanAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Villa is a beautiful place. You feel so relaxed in the garden area. There is a nice common area with a piano if you choose to play. It was such a comfortable place to stay. It is a little way from the main center, but I just walked to the center. It's a nice walk. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The son helped us most of the time and spoke pretty good english. I would highly recommend staying here for a peaceful, beautiful place to stay

Room Tip: Not sure if they have air conditioning or not, but would try get a room with one instead of a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This prosperity offers guests an island of tranquility whilst only 1 KM from the center of Dalat. The garden provides a relaxing place to sit after a day out and about. Breakfast, although not included in the room rate, is excellent. Guests rooms are nicely furnished and spotless. Beds are very comfortable bathrooms are first rate owner / operators are gracious and helpful.

What could be improved? Maps of the city should be available for guests and aren't. The same comment applies to a list of recommended restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAinnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved this place, gorgeous cosy room, beautifully fitted out, excellent bathroom and so peaceful too. The garden is lovely for breakfast, a small choice of options, but what is offered, omelettes, baguettes etc are all good. Wifi is good and they also have a couple of computers you can use and a small book exchange.

All the staff/family are super friendly and the daughter and son both speak great English if you need any help with translation and or information.

They will soon have even more rooms to offer as a new extension was being completed while we were there.

One suggestion I would make is to rent a scooter, they can help you with this as it is quite a long way from town, maybe 25 minute walk. Their scooters were only 100,000 vnd per day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastygringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
1.6 mi away
ZEN Cafe & Villa
ZEN Cafe & Villa
#11 of 86 in Da Lat
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
1.7 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#10 of 86 in Da Lat
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
2.4 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 86 in Da Lat
142 reviews
2.5 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#8 of 86 in Da Lat
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoang Loc Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Loc Villa Hotel

Address: 22/2 Phu Dong Thien Vuong, Da Lat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 350 B&Bs / Inns in Da Lat
Price Range: $20 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hoang Loc Villa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hoang Loc Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing