We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a day trip, wouldn't recommend staying the night.”
Review of Crazy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crazy House
Ranked #3 of 301 Da Lat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for a day trip, wouldn't recommend staying the night.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place was fascinating to visit. We spent the day exploring (getting lost!) through the hotel, admiring the different rooms. However, i couldn't imagine staying here would be quite the same experience.... constant streams of people coming through, not to mention they were quite dirty and didn't appear to have the best security system in place. Check this place out for a day trip though!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dudiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    91
    44
    14
    12
See reviews for
56
125
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Only did the day trip. If you have adventure and fun in your soul then stay the night. I wish I could have stayed. Agree that it was a tad grubby but I've stayed at far dirtier on my travels and nowhere that could be as quirkily rejuvenating as this place. Life should be FUN and this place is exactly that. Loved it to bits!

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynfromCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 2 nights, although 15 years ago. No entrance fee at that time. Seems that the hotel has extended since. A bit a shame it became a kind of tourist attraction, but at that time it was an amazing experience. The room was comfortable.
Maybe intresting to know that the owner is a daughter of a former president of Vietnam

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mundooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My friend and I had a great time visiting the Crazy House. It is unique and definitely worth a visit. Every corner is interesting and a photographers delight. I'm glad we didn't stay there - we did try but it was booked out. The rooms are small and a tad grubby but I reckon it would have been a good experience to stay there. The only thing with staying there are the amount of people trampling through the place - it is definitely a tourist attraction rather than a place to stay. Dalat is a wonderful place and we stayed in a place up the road from the hospital for US$12 a night which was heaven. Most day trips take you to the Crazy House as part of their programme.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyMissKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This left me rather speechless. The house is absolutely insane. We didn't stay the night but walked all through the house and every inch of it was something new. Some of the staircases are way up high and give you a great view of the surrounding countryside. All in all if you do visit Dalat make sure you visit.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank darthteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I visited the Crazy House without staying there overnight (entrance fee was 35,000 dong, or about $1.75), and it's one of the coolest places I've visited in Vietnam, worth the trip to Da Lat alone. The property isn't exactly huge and it is partly under construction, but it's still a magical and bizarre place that's awesome for unique photographic opportunities. The strikingly unconventional and far-fetched style made for a unique and highly recommended experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderlustV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

One of the best & most bizarre places we visited in Vietnam. Absolutely fascinating & worth visiting Da Lat for on its own (& I loved Da Lat). Its like a cross between Alice In Wonderland & a mini version of Gaudi's Sagrada Família in Barcelona. A must see, but I wouldn't recommend staying there. The rooms all looked very grubby & old. We were warned not to stay there as it was a bit dirty & damp. Having visited, I'm glad we didn't stay, but delighted we visited it.

Room Tip: Visit, but don't stay.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
39 Thank sammyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
2.0 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#7 of 77 in Da Lat
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#10 of 77 in Da Lat
533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#5 of 77 in Da Lat
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
0.5 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 77 in Da Lat
132 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crazy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crazy House

Property: Crazy House
Address: 03 Huynh Thuc Khang St, Ward 4, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Hang Nga Guesthouse)
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Crazy House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Crazy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hang Nga Guesthouse Hotel Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing