We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fun place to visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crazy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crazy House
Ranked #4 of 262 Da Lat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What a fun place to visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We went here to check out this tourist attraction that is somehow also a hotel...I would not want to stay at this place but it is a huge hit with the kids. They ran around the twist and turns and climbed everywhere for well over an hour. A really fun place an not far from town.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 5Americans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    91
    42
    14
    12
See reviews for
55
120
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Hang Nga Crazy House is a must see in Dalat. It's well named.

It's crazy architecture and eccentric decoration (kangaroo with glowing red eyes) make this a great visit. It poured the day we were in Dalat so we decided to splurge an stay at the crazy house. We had a nice stay, but as a hotel it's way overpriced.

The room we stayed in was tiny and creativity aside accommodations were worse than the $10 room we stayed in the night before. My wife is allergic to dust and this hotel was full of it. Our biggest complaint is that because it is such a great tourist site it sounds like grand central outside your room from 7 am to 7:30 pm.

Service was pretty good. No wifi.

It was fun to explore it late in the evening when we were the only ones around. For pure novelty it's unique, but not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BPAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Dr Seuss meets Alice in wonderland. Took about 100 photos. Would love to stay a night for a trip. But one night only before the 'visitors' arrive. I did not stay this time so I can not comment on the service etc. Can only make comment on the out of this world architecture.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carts44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We had a most excellent trip throughout Vietnam & did two of our hotel bookings on the internet with hotels-in-vietnam prior to arrival. Their website & assistance was much appreciated from the other side of the world with some unknown variables from our end.

With Crazy House in Da Lat in particular, it was an amazing and interesting place. We did however find their prices to be somewhat elevated compared to other available comparable accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlepiggy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

We did not stay the night at the "Crazy House"

We toured the house the morning of our departure from Dalat and were glad we did. This house must have been designed by the owner after watching Alice in Wonderland while under the influence of something. It is very strange, but amusing at the same time. I felt like i was in an attraction at Disneyland waiting for a character to come around the corner for a photo opportunity. We spent an hour there and came away with a smile.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SF49erFan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

the crazy house was a great place to visit, but I don't think I would have liked to stay in one of the beds. The linen did not look fresh and the mattresses where just a bit of foam. I think kids would love to stay here though as it is a sight to see.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank debbier65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

I decided to book rooms at the Crazy House for my family (me, hubby, 2 young kids) and my mother-in-law after reading about in the Lonely Planet and looking at photos on the internet. It was relatively expensive but the atmosphere was superb and so unique - fulfilling my childhood fantasy of living inside a hollow tree (our room, the Tiger room, was like that!). We were there for 3 nights and my kids would have happily stayed a week without ever leaving the hotel grounds! The staff were wonderful and hooked us up with a fantastic tour guide who we employed for 3 days to take us wherever ... so we explored the countryside in comfort, learned heaps and had some terrific experiences. The Crazy House is open as an attraction during the day which means people would rattle on our doors if we were there after opening time, but most of the day we were away so it wasn't too much of a problem. Staying here was fantastic and we have already picked the room we'd like to stay in next time ...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerberas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.6 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#7 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.3 mi away
Binh An Village Dalat
Binh An Village Dalat
#16 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.0 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#6 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#5 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 73 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crazy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crazy House

Property: Crazy House
Address: 03 Huynh Thuc Khang St, Ward 4, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Hang Nga Guesthouse)
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Crazy House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Crazy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hang Nga Guesthouse Hotel Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing