We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property needing some tweaks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in Da Lat
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful property needing some tweaks”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I love restored colonial-era hotels, so I was very much looking forward to my stay at the Dalat Palace. It's a great property with spectacular views. But the owners/management need to make a few changes to earn the full five stars in my opinion.

First, the good: the staff were very helpful and kind. The rooms are lovely and clean. Bedding was good (although the mattress may have been a tad soft for my liking). Wifi was free and fast.

Second, where things can be improved: The room service menu, while served 24 hours, is quite limited. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was good, but also fairly limited as far as hotel buffets go. Plus, they stop service at 10 am sharp. Tourists who want to sleep in a bit who want breakfast after that time are out of luck (the same goes for the affiliated restaurant Cafe de la Poste). The hotel always seemed eerily quiet. I saw other guests come in and out, and occasionally during the breakfast service, but there was a definite lack of energy. The minibar in the room wasn't plugged in (and I couldn't find an outlet), so beverages were warm.

Despite the above, I still wholeheartedly recommend the Dalat Palace. It is really quite lovely. I'd really like this place to rank amongst the best in the country, but they need to do a little more work to get there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    76
    37
    15
    6
See reviews for
43
105
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel was certainly grand in its day and probably well kept while it was a Sofitel but no more. It is now a worn down property. First of all, it does not have ac and due to the Mosquitos you have to keep windows shut. Our room had a fan but the cord was all frayed. Staff speak limited English so difficult to communicate. One of the converters in the room had melted. Makes one concerned about the electrical. The bathroom has a claw foot tub however water gets everywhere.

The breakfast buffet was good, eggs made to order. The pastry chef deserves special mention. The croissants and pastry desserts are amazing. We had dinner in the dining room. It was beautiful but we were the only ones there, kind of weird. Food was nice, French colonial and local treats like atrichoke salad that was very nice. If you do not stay here, it is worth a trip to see the place.

We also tried the spa for manicure and pedicure. It was just ok, took a long time but ok.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrottertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, West Midlands, England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for four nights and had a wonderful time. The staff are excellent, so friendly and welcoming and they really make you feel special. We had a problem with the plumbing in our room on the first night but our room was changed and upgraded without any fuss.
The afternoon high tea is a delight but I would challenge anyone to eat it all.
The lack of air conditioning might prove difficult for some in high season, and the stairs and steps around the hotel wouldn't suit the less mobile. But for a sumptuous experience which you will never forget, the Dalat Palce would be hard to beat.
Don't miss the train ride at the local station!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I booked my mother and I for a manicure and pedicure at this hotel spa as a treat. We were not staying at the hotel so I cannot comment on the rooms. The service we encountered was fantastic, friendly and welcoming.
However the skill of the pedicure and manicure was appalling. I am not sure these therapists have had any training and I sincerely hope they sterilise the instruments due to the traumatic way they are used. No preparation of the nail is made. A small amount of cuticle cream is applied before it is massicured. The cuticle was cut very roughly, bleeding at points. The nail was dug into by the cuticle trimmers, which was then smoothed out by the therapist having to peel off the top layer of my nail using the trimmers and tearing it off!? This happened on almost every nail while the therapist rushed through watching the clock the whole time (we were 20 minutes early for the appointment booked). The nail painting was satisfactory but since the state of my nail was ragged due to the unneccesary peeling it looked awful. During the whole time my hands were being done the therapist soaked my feet. I thought it might've been in treatment oil or something but when they were taken out of the now cold water they were grey and wrinkled and had been over soaked and as such turned very dry following. My toe nails were then massicured in a similar manner as above. All very unpleasant and expensive for the lack if skill and discomfort.
I would expect more from a spa in a smart hotel like this.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppysop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the second time that my wife and I have stayed here. The hotel facade and interior is most impressive. The rooms are large and furnished in colonial style. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are two slight drawbacks. Firstly the rooms are not airconditioned and when the weather is warmer than usual, particularly when it is recommended that you do not leave windows open after 6 pm because of the mosquito problem, the rooms remain somewhat warm. This was not a problem the last time we stayed there in November 2011 as the weather was cooler. Secondly we were on the second floor and the stairs, there is no elevator, become a little wearing. It is however a hotel that every visitor to Vietnam should stay at at least once to experience what it may have been like in former days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

One amazing place. A throw back into French sovereign Vietnam era. Decor and ambiance quite impressive. City of Dalat full of flowers and fresh produce. Best food in Vietnam with vistas and cool climate.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank june101055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in February.The hotel reflects the history of this area. The decor offers an array of antiques from the French influence. Be aware there is not a lift and you must step into a bath which can be used as a bath or has an overhead shower. My room over looked the large lake with a spectacular view to the mountains. The buffet breakfast was fantastic . We enjoyed dinner one evening which was wonderful, the service was excellent and the food very French. There was very little to fault during our stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.1 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#9 of 78 in Da Lat
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
3.8 mi away
Binh An Village Dalat
Binh An Village Dalat
#14 of 78 in Da Lat
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Saigon -  Dalat
Saigon - Dalat
#13 of 78 in Da Lat
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 78 in Da Lat
135 reviews
1.4 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#8 of 78 in Da Lat
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel

Property: Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel
Address: 2 Tran Phu Street, Ward 3, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Dalat Palace)
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Da Lat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Da Lat
#10 Spa Hotel in Da Lat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Dalat stands a remarkable residential address – Dalat Palace. Built in the early part of the last century, in 1922, Dalat Palace offers luxurious elegance, gracious service and French colonial charm.The Hotel is located right in the city centre, within walking distance of the Dalat Market, shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. It is 30 minutes drive from Lien Khuong Airport.43 rooms of elegant colonial style feature ornate furnishings, wood floors, floor-to-ceiling French doors, chandeliers, cast iron bathtub, a working fireplace, luxurious bathroom amenities and high-speed Internet access. Each room offers a Xuan Huong lake view or Dalat Cathedral view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Dalat Palace
Sofitel Dalat
Dalat Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing