We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star building with dreadful service, poor food and out of town location not suited for all people.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalat Edensee Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dalat Edensee Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
northwood
Level Contributor
403 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“5 star building with dreadful service, poor food and out of town location not suited for all people.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

You will really only like this place if you like solitude, a quiet environment with nothing to do. It is at best 15 minutes by car from Dalat town and their shuttle service is badly managed time wise. It will also cost 10US dollars each way if you need to travel independently.

good news: the rooms and the main building are excellent, all newish and well maintained, good sized and very quiet.

Bad news: few of the staff speak English, front desk is manned by a really rude local guy and no one there can speak English. You need to deal with 2 very nice girls as guest relations who are helpful and good and speak English.
Food: as mentioned by other reviews breakfast is limited and the chefs cannot make good western eggs, choice generally is limited, some days a buffet other days just a menu. We were charged extra for fruit juices even though they were on the menu but the front desk guy on check out could not understand! Be warned. Also the restaurant I'd very expensive probably 4 times the price you would pay. In Dalat for similar food. The restaurant was also empty every night we were there so unless you want to eat on your own with no atmosphere you go to Dalat town where they are dozens of good local restaurants and also nice bars and coffee shops to enjoy. However the shuttle bus leaves at 730 you get there at 8 and the collection is at 930 hardly time to eat and enjoy the town. Same in the morning leave at 930 get there at 10 and come back at 1130. No thought for the guests.

The Spa is absolutely a nightmare, even bad by Vietnamese standards and totally unacceptable for western guests, lousy service and the place is squalid. The pool is situated in a dark room where all the lights were turned off and no one around, when we found the switches over 50% of the bulbs were out. Also the sauna and steam room were switched off and unusable. The staff could only just speak English and could not translate the spa menu correctly. This is dangerous if you have any medical issues. Also my wife chose to have a hair wash but the girl was completely untrained and had no experience of hair works or the equipment usage, again dangerous. Finally when we went to the appointment prebooked, for5 pm the 2 girls walked away saying they were going for the food break and would be back in 20 minutes. They left us there! They eventually came back and as as result all the later people also had to wait 30 minutes and everyone was complaining. This spa is garbage and do not use it.

Finally it is quite clear that there is an owner here who does not understand how to run a 5 star hotel and is not investing in training. All the 5 star hotels in Vietnam that I have stayed at are excellent and this place is really at best 3 star for service and as a result is empty offering huge discounts and is only for conferences or for people who want quiet and peace outside. It will not everybody and the service and food are poor at best.

Consider your priorities before you book here there are far better options in town. Dalat is a quiet town anyway and you do not need to be far away for peace and quiet and luxury.

Room Tip: The front line lake villas are excellent but all the rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    25
    6
    13
    3
See reviews for
43
58
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend took me here for my birthday and if was so brilliant. The service was brilliant, food was great and massage was a little on the average side. We hadn't mentioned it was my birthday and after our spa treatments a concierge arrived to our room with a birthday cake for me. Really baffled us. They obviously saw it on my passport and it really highlighted the stay for us. Thanks to all staff for a wonderful relaxing stay - would definitely recommend a visit!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraSheahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I was introduced this resort by my super-tough Singaporean friend. She was here in her honey moon and can't stop praising it. So, I truly believed.

I chose this resort for my wedding anniversary. I'm an active person, always want somewhere noisy, exciting, but this is the time I want to be calm and relax. And I must say, I was totally satisfied. I can see Tuyen Lam lake, the most beautiful lake in Dalat, from my balcony. The decoration is nice. I like the jacuzzi in bathroom. The bed is soft and clean. I can use the swimming pool, take the bike and ride around, or just walk slowly across the lake, enjoy the sound of the pines. Really really peaceful!

The service here is excellent! At night, they gave us chocolate with "good night" wish. In the morning, we were late for buffet breakfast (since we didn't want to get out of the soft bed), so they served us à la carte with nice smile. There's also a free bus to take you from the resort to the center. It's about 25 mins from the resort to center.

Room Tip: chose the lake view room and the one which is nearest to the receiption
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phan X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our second hotel on our Vietnam vacation. The hotel car met us at the airport on time. On getting into the car we received a cold face towel and bottle of water. Nice big car and very good driver (Quang).

Check-in was smooth and our deluxe lake view villa was nice and clean. Because we travelled over lunch, Tri Do had arranged a late lunch for us in the restaurant and even called the driver to check on our progress to the hotel. That's what I call great service. The lunch was pretty good as well.

While We only stayed in the hotel for two nights, the service and food was excellent. We used the hotel car and shuttle bus service on numerous occasions and it is both reliable and comfortable.

My wife arranged a special dinner with our friends living in Da Lat at the hotel restaurant. Again we were looked after by Tri. We were provided with a personalised menu and really excellent service. Everybody commented on the excellent food and decor of the private dining room. He attended to all our needs on the evening.

All the hotel staff really looked after us including those at breakfast, house keeping and reception. Thanks to the second in charge at the restaurant who offered my wife items not included on the menu such as a warm ginger drink and soya milk as she was not feeling well. Sorry for not remembering his name.

Thanks Da Lat Edensee.

Room Tip: Go for the Lake view villa if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VietnamLoverCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The resort is located in a superb landscape reminding the scenery of a mountainous area in a mediterranean country. It is well maintained, rooms are very ok, but when the occupancy is low it reminds me the mood of the movie Shining with Jack Nicholson. For people with theage of 60+ a must, for youngsters maybe too quiet and depressing. Will go there again in 20 years ;-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evagoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We recently spent a fabulous weekend at Edensee and I would highly recommend this place to anyone. The villas are new and extremely luxurious, the grounds are extensive and lovely to walk around and the views are amazing.

The service in the resort is very good and staff are extremely attentive and kind. The only thing of note is that food in the resort is expensive for Vietnam and we had a few meals that weren't worth the price. In saying that it didn't put a dampener on our weekend and the overall experience was incredible.

If you want to have some time out in busy Vietnam then this place is a must.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent 3 weeks traveling in Vietnam, stayed in top-rated hotels everywhere, and this was the best hotel we stayed in. The setting is beautiful ...outstanding lake views, pine trees, fresh mountain air, and quiet. It is 15 minutes from town but that is a good thing ...we spent a day and a half seeing the top-rated sites in Dalat and walking downtown Dalat, and easily decided the resort was the place to spend the remainder of our 3 day stay ...so beautiful and relaxing ...and fun ...we played ping pong and badminton ...walked around the resort ...and had all three meals there on our last day ...on their restaurant's balcony overlooking the lake and pine trees ...delicious and reasonable ...and our waitress, who you must request if you eat there, named "Vy" (pronounced "V" but she also goes by "Vivian") was special ...she was delightful, loves to speak English with guests, and showed us how to make a Vietnamese coffee at our table ...and it was the best coffee we'd ever had. The staff of the resort is outstanding. The resort itself is only 3 years old, so the facilities, rooms, everything, are in perfect condition. My wife and I booked a one bedroom suite because our adult son was traveling with us ...and it was beyond words how nice the rooms were ...we felt so spoiled and loved it ...and, unlike other hotels, when you book an extra bed here you get a real bed, not a folding bed, with a box spring and mattress ...my son said it was the most comfortable bed he'd ever slept on. The views from their one bedroom suites, with balconies overlooking the lake, are the best on the resort, so I recommend splurging for the suite ...the extra room and luxury is indulgent and you will remember it fondly for a very long time. For those of you who are familiar with the western U.S., i would liken the setting to Lake Tahoe, and the hotel rooms to the Bellagio (in Las Vegas).

Room Tip: Camellia Suites have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wugdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.6 mi away
Binh An Village Dalat
Binh An Village Dalat
#16 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.8 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#6 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.6 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#7 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Terracotta Hotel & Resort
3.7 mi away
Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel
3.6 mi away
Saigon -  Dalat
Saigon - Dalat
#12 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalat Edensee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Edensee Resort & Spa

Property: Dalat Edensee Resort & Spa
Address: Tuyen Lam Lake, Zone VII.2, Da Lat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dalat Edensee Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort offers 112 rooms which are set up in three distinct categories and villas. The European designed villas with all international standard amenities and equipment are situated within three different areas. Furthermore is each room category named after a flower from our local landscape.All villas are surrounded by natural landscaping; bursting with Dalat flowers and most offer a view of the beautiful Tuyen Lam Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Dalat Edensee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing