We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Falls

Elephant Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Full-Day Dalat Countryside Tour
Ranked #5 of 85 things to do in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We saw the falls as part of a countryside tour and I'm glad we didn't do a separate tour just for them as they were pretty average but then maybe we are spoilt by the natural falls we have all over Scotland. The climb down is steep so be careful. You can also get behind the falls which was a bit of a novelty

Helpful?
Thank LCDobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    452
    180
    36
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best waterfall in Đà Lạt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We took a bike to get there. It's pretty far away from the city center but it's worth a ride for its nice beautiful landscape. The falls is not crowded, very wild and natural. You have to make your way to go down to see the falls. There's nothing like Datanla or Prenn or any other waterfall which is the greatest thing about it. Its a must-see attraction in Đà Lạt!

parking: 5000/bike. entrance fee: 20.000vnd. Reasonable price cafe shop available.

*Disgusting toilets I must warn you*

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
389 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“Self-tour guide to stunning Elephant Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you have time to spare, you can take a half day out to do the falls yourself. Having done Datanla and Cam Ly Falls, we felt that elephant falls blew the others away. No themepark setting just natural, beautiful falls. It is a stunning cascade set amongst amazing grass covered rock formations.To make your own way you can get a taxi or a local bus. We travelled by bus - it is a blue and green bus that has Nam Ban (among other destinations) on the side windows. The bus fare is 20K VND per person from the town centre. You can get on at the terminus at Khu Hoa Binh north of the Hoa Binh theatre in the centre of Dalat. You need to ask the bus conductor for Thac Voi (pronounced tack voy), our fellow passengers were very helpful and friendly. This bus is every 30-40 minutes and the (in parts) bumpy ride takes an hour. It is an experience, though, and the views are stunning. The bus conductor or bus friends will tell you when to get off. The entrance to the falls is 10K VND per person you pay at the cafe on the right. Walking shoes are necessary and no matter what the weather is it will be wet and slippery. The falls have a strong cascade that emits a lot of spray. There is a steep boulder/step clamber down. About half way down, there is a path to the left that leads between two boulders to behind the falls. There is a lot of spray (of course) so expect to get wet. The path to the right continues down to the rocks at the bottom of the falls. This place is kind of missing a place to sit and soak up the atmosphere (and the spray) but it absolutely stunning. A real must see for keen photographers. As it is inaccessible for large groups, you also benefit from having the falls pretty much to yourself. A lovely morning out. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank sherylpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

A lovely little spot with a bit of a treck through some of Dalat's lovely forest made arriving at the falls feel like an adventure. A good volume of water made the falls quite impressive!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting trip in countryside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked a private car, headed to Elephant falls and happy Buddha. Previous comments didn't detail how steep the climb down was, we headed there with two children under 12 they managed ok,but stressed me a little! Climbing under the waterfall was a definite No! Got close and its obvious that its two narrow and a too slippery, but still worth a look. The falls are lovely but you can not get very close without mountain goat skills. The drive to the falls is a great look at the countryside and makes the trip worthwhile. The happy Buddha is a large statue up at the back of the temple to the right of the fall entrance, very few tourists at this pagoda. Cost of hiring a van and driver was $35US and he drove really well. Hired from Highland Holiday Tours.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Falls also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Elephant Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing