We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Binh Yen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Binh Yen Hotel
Ranked #34 of 236 Specialty Lodging in Da Lat
Da Lat, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here before taking Easy Rider tour. Nice friendly staff, good value, the beds were kind of hard. Definitely great for budget travelers.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaCeDaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
24
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I can't say with 100% certainty that the money was taken at the hotel, but 200,000 dong (and a few U.S. dollars) went missing from my bag in the hotel room at some point. It very well could have been taken on my bus journey to Da Lat, but my bag was in my possession (or in the care of my boyfriend) during our bus journey. They took only a portion of the money in my bag, which would lead me to believe they didn't want me to notice (if it was taken on the bus, I don't think they would have taken such care, they would take the entire amount) - but I know for certain the money was taken. The hotel was cheap, yes, but they took the equivalent of a night in the hotel, I would rather spend that somewhere I can trust. We stayed one night and left the room several times for meals (we made sure to lock the door), and checked out promptly when we found the money had gone missing.

My advice if you decide to stay here - know how much money you have, don't leave it in the room (I try not to carry all of my cash on me, but now I'm rethinking that strategy), check your valuables at the front desk & receive a receipt for them (don't leave them in the room). I don't think it is the front desk woman (she seemed genuinely surprised when we mentioned money may have gone missing in our room), but I suspect that there is someone dishonest working at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't leave valuables in the room. Or just go next door to the pink villa (where we ended up st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuperTramp011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Da Lat hotels

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Binh yen affiliation to the Freelance Easy Rider Bike Tour
We got dropped off by open bus company at this hotel and on arrival were told about the 1 day countryside freelance easy rider tour on a motorbike. This company is affiliated to the binh yen hotel hence our review.The manager said that if we are unhappy about the tour he would refund us our money. The following day we were picked up at our hotel and in general enjoyed the tour . We want to warn other fellow tourists about the stop at the weasel coffee / rice wine shop. We believe this is a scam and suspect that the Freelance Easy Rider company is in on the act. Weasels are kept in cages at the back of the shop. We feel very silly falling for the scam. Pd 1000 000 dong for 100grams only to find out that you can buy it for 300 000 dong per kg! In Dalat at a proper coffee shop (not the market) and 600 000 dong per kg in Hanoi. As we wanted to be fair to the manager, we went back to the hotel the next day and explained to him that we are unhappy. He got very aggressive. We still do not know if the coffee that we bought is the real thing...It is unfortunate that in Vietnam in general you are in constant risk of failing prey of scams and it is therefor our responsibility to take the effort and time to warn future tourists of possible rip offs. Skip this coffee shop as a place to visit as we saw other tourists. We also did not enjoy the minority village, monkey is kept on a chain, give it a miss. Website address of freelance easy rider company did not work so we could not check validity.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HandsOn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

For $5/night including breakfast you can't go wrong. We got dropped off right in front of this hotel, later to find out there were many in the close vicinity. Next time I would probably check the other ones out to compare first, but otherwise I can't complain.

I slept well here for two nights. Shower was warm, but you had to hold it up. It was clean. The staff were friendly and there was wifi in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights after we had been dropped of here in a minibus. At first it looked OK, the rooms are big, and since it even was in the lonely planet we tought it was OK. The shower didn't work propperly, most of the time no water (and cold) the musquito nets are actually a hole with a little bit of net in it and worst of all our open tour bustickets got stolen from our room during our motorcycletour. We booked the motorcycletour in the hotel with this guy who enters the bus on arrival and then wants to give you some information after you've checked in. He told us normally it is costs 30 dollars but he charges 20. He gives you a list of all sights and you can pay afterwards. The trip itself was great with nice guides. But when we arrived back we had missed some sights and when we confronted the guy who sokd us the tour he had this information form he showed is the day before only now with a price of 30 dollars. We didn't even want to pay 20 because he lied to us, but he didn't let us go blocked the door and told the busdriver not to take us (this scene played during our departure from dalat), so we had to pay him...
The open bustickets that got stolen were a different story. They still had our information @ hahn cafe so we got new ones for free. We feld the cleaner did it because he was a weird guy. He spoke no english so when the girl from the reception came an we said we wanted to go to the police she said we could go there but we wouldn't get our passports back if we did.
All in all a horror stay at this hotel and I would recommend not to go there.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BartAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in late September, in hindsight we should have checked out on day one but we had a tour booked and just seemed ok, but the second night the dust mites properly dug in, we ended up sleeping in our own sleeping bag liners and using our own pillow cases. My wife slept in her rain proof with the hood up! We both left with bunged up noses and painful sinuses.

We also have reason to believe our open bus tickets were sold on to a cheaper company as the quality of bus we arrived on was not repeated.

All in all it may be cheap but you get what you pay for and we would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiltedmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We decided to stay at this hotel as our bus dropped us off outside and we decided to have a look. Normally we would not stay at the hotels that the bus companies take you to, but when we were told the room was only $10 for a double room with breakfast (fairly basic) included, we couldn't say no! The room was huge, had all the usual amenities and it was spotless. The only issue was that the shower often lost pressure and stopped working which isn't great when you still have shampoo in your hair!!!!

We booked an 'Easy-rider' day trip through the hotel which was a fantastic way to see the countryside. Make sure you find out exactly what is included in the price though, because there are often hidden charges, such as entrance fees and lunch that they catch you out with, depending on which tour you sign up for.

Also, there is a massive family-sized room which can easily sleep 5 people!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_n_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hai Long Vuong Hotel
Hai Long Vuong Hotel
#1 of 230 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep In Dalat Hostel
Sleep In Dalat Hostel
#7 of 236 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalat Central Hostel
Dalat Central Hostel
#17 of 236 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Organic Garden
Organic Garden
#54 of 236 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old House Hostel
The Old House Hostel
#22 of 236 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalat YOLO Hostel
Dalat YOLO Hostel
#7 of 230 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Binh Yen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Binh Yen Hotel

Property: Binh Yen Hotel
Address: 7 Hai Thuong, Da Lat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 236 Specialty Lodging in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Binh Yen Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Binh Yen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing