We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive!”

Le Cafe de la Poste
Ranked #49 of 258 Restaurants in Da Lat
Cuisines: French, European, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Too expensive!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We thought this would be a good place but everything is just overpriced. We only stopped by for drink when we saw the price on the menu. When we came in. we were greeted by this very cold waitress. We were served by another waiter which was a lot friendlier than his colleague. Find another place to eat. I don't know why wikitravel suggested this place to dine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatumarioneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tram Anh N, Public Relations Manager at Le Cafe de la Poste, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments on our Le Cafe de la Poste Restaurant during your visit on 21 March, 2014.

We are sorry to know that you were not satisfied with our prices and the inappropriate attitude of one of our waitress. Our Food and Beverage Manager was made aware of your feedback and a refreshing training on customer service etiquette has been conducted to improve this aspect.

We are glad to inform you that as of 1 April 2014, a lot of changes has been taken place in Le Cafe de la Poste such as new menu, new reasonable prices and new management.

It will be our great honour to have another opportunity to welcome you back and we hope that your next experience will surpass the previous one.

Warmest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    60
    28
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hays, Kansas
Level Contributor
440 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Food here was very good with a nice selection of different types of food. Service is good and a very nice atmosphere. Food is expensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kuyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No French food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Couldn't see a single French meal on the menu so don't go there if you especially want French food. The food was nice and not too expensive for the location. It's just a big restaurant that sort of feels like a colonial bar so don't expect nice views or a lovely French setting because it's not like that. Perhaps more suited for lunch than a special dinner as we had planned.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
402 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice western food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Ordered set lunch (3-course menu VND370k/person). Nice atmosphere and service. Bread are freshly made. Salad are fresh. Well worth the money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Art deco meets Vietnam food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

After competing in the 3rd Vietnam International choir competition in Hoi An, we spent several weeks touring Vietnam. This review is by the Annie part of HenknAnnie.

The standout dish from several meals in this lovely art deco bit of French architectural history was the roasted duck Vietnamese style. Every piece is individually wrapped in a thin layer of duck fat and the result is tender, succulent and lovely.

Other great dishes included artichokes and a crème brulee dessert that was light, fluffy and well balanced.

The restaurant is part of the Palace Dalat complex and while you are there, don't miss going to see the original Palace, which is now a luxury hotel. If you can stay there, so much the better but all I could do was look longingly at the amazing décor. It was built I the forties together with the Palace 2 and the Café de la Poste is next to Palace 2.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenknAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe de la Poste also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Le Cafe de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing