We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, location is great, what can one say.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sammy Dalat Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sammy Dalat Hotel
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel, location is great, what can one say.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

I recently spent 3 nights at the Sammy Dalat Hotel. I was very pleased with the amenities, good breakfast and super friendly staff. I too visited the Crazy House. Nice morning adventure. The tram to the Temple was a trip well worth taking. When standing next to the rail outside of the station of departure to the right of three is a large field with a single yellow building on it at the far end; well, that was the location of an American artillery battery during the war. It is over, but thought folks who are history buffs would like to know.

I was unaware there was no A/C. The temp at night during my stay was around 58 so we slept well.

Dalat is my favorite city in Vietnam. Clean and welcoming. Well worth the visit.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    61
    31
    9
    2
See reviews for
39
49
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Hotel on the whole was fine, clean, nice rooms and close to the town!
Service was abrupt and very unhelpful! Mainly I think due to their lack of English!

I booked myself in for a body massage and steam in the VIP room! The girl offering the massage was only interested in earning extra money for services that were not wanted! She walked in whilst I was showering. During the massage she kept offering extra and grabbing. Really very unpleasant! The eventually removed my towel totally and tried again. I got dressed and comained to the hotel. They could not be less interested! I know this happens in Vietnam and as someone who lives in HCMC you sometimes expect it to happen. This however was something that totally wrong! Will never use the hotel or it's brand again. Such a shame!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GJG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

The hotel was nice, except no AC. You must walk 10 minutes and see Crazy house!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Sammy's is an upscale hotel for Vietnam--about 4 years old, but made to look vintage French in its architecture and design. The room itself was very large and well-decorated. Our only complaint was the plumbing in the bathroom. It flooded before the shower was even turned on! There must have been water leaking out of the walls or floor. Also, there was no Wifi in the rooms, as advertised by the hotel. There were 16 in our tour group, and this was universal. There was Wifi in the lobby, though, so those with smart phones or laptops could check email down there. The breakfasts were adequate, but not super in any sense. The typical strong Vietnamese coffee was wonderful, though.

Dalat city is beautiful and off-the-beaten-track in terms of tourists. It is mainly a cooler climate where Vietnamese go to enjoy a weekend or vacation. We were there right before the Tet (Lunar New Year). Since Dalat is renowned for its flower-growing economy, the flowers were plentiful and wonderful.

The spa in the hotel basement offered a great massage, although the prices given at the hotel reception were different from what the spa tried to charge us. We eventually bartered the massage place down to the hotel's quoted price. We had 8 different massages in various Vietnam locations, and this was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireWilson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Of our six hotels on Overseas Adventure Travel trip, this was the best. Only down side was VERY hard bed. All the beds are hard in Viet Nam, which I actually like, but this was ridiculous. You can walk in the neighborhood on sidewalks which is nice. Breakfast does fill up very early, but you can sit outside, weather permitting, or in an auxiliary room. Unlike other reviewers, we had no problems with staff. As in every other hotel we stayed at, the shower was unworkable without leaking onto the floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargeBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here on a tour of Vietnam. A pleasant enough hotel. Everything was clean and breakfast was fine. Is a short walk to the Crazy House, which you must see. About 15 minute
walk to the market. Great place to shop for food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurersyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed here as part of tour package. I wouldn't say it's a 4-star property, but it's nice enough, especially for what they quoted as the walk-in rate (wondering how much it was per night.) Rating of 4 stars is for overall value. Taking value out, it would give it 3 stars at best.

We got the suite room which was very spacious. Nice tall ceilings with french doors that lead to an extended balcony. Bathroom was very spacious too, with separate tub and shower, dual sinks. There is also a powder room, I suppose for guests. The decor was of louis style, which lends to the character of the place and reminiscent of what you would think DaLat used to be. Upon arrival to the room, we were pleased to be greeted by a plate of local fruit, fresh flowers, and a tea set ready for afternoon tea, compliments of the hotel. Didn't have time to use the wi-fi in room, but in lobby connection was fine.

Only flaw to the room was the cockroach in the powder room. Despite that, everything in the room seemed clean. We didn't let that bother our stay, but did leave the scene of the homicide visible to the cleaning crew so they are aware. The hallways are also dark; I think the lights were left off intentionally during the day and only dimly lite at night.

Our room faced the side of the hotel, immediately below you can see some small but quiet businesses. Not a lot of traffic noise, but in the morning, you can hear the music from a school nearby. It sounds like a kid singing, and I imagine it as the type of music that the kids are doing group exercises to. It didn't bother us.

We did not need to interact with the staff very much and we spoke the local language. But the staff was not very personable, and I think that is an area that needs to be improved for the hotel to really stand out. It was slightly annoying that during breakfast, the waitress removed every dish and utensil as soon as it seemed cleared...it was to the point where they were practically hovering over you and robotic. That was a bit annoying.

The buffet selection was okay, it looked more extensive than it actually was because of the setup. It was included in our tour package and sufficient for our needs. The local food selections were tasty, but the western style dishes could be improved.

The hotel also has a night-club on-site, the largest one in DaLat. However, we did not hear any music from our room location at night. We did not go so cannot comment on it.

Location is relatively good, close enough to be a 20+ minute walk to central lake and a bit more to the DaLat market, ...but with kids, it would be easier to taxi.

If the price is right, we would consider staying again. But we would take the chance to try another place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaDep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.4 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#7 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saigon -  Dalat
Saigon - Dalat
#12 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.9 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#6 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
0.6 mi away
Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dalat Plaza Hotel
Dalat Plaza Hotel
#21 of 73 in Da Lat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sammy Dalat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sammy Dalat Hotel

Property: Sammy Dalat Hotel
Address: 1 Le Hong Phong Street | District 4, Da Lat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sammy Dalat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sammy Dalat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing