We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food Great Music”

V Cafe (Restaurant/Bar/Live Music)
Ranked #21 of 257 Restaurants in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The V Cafe is the home of LIVE MUSIC and great food in the central highlands of Vietnam.The story...Opened in 2002 by long-term Vietnam resident, Dr. Michael Sterling, the V Cafe carries on the tradition of good food and good value, and is now adding a "taste of the blues," as Curtis King and friends light up the V Cafe with their live blues and acoustic music.The menu... A great mix of Western favorites (including some of the best Mexican and tastiest pizzas in Vietnam), a smattering of Asian dishes, including a few Vietnamese all-time favorites (pho, spring rolls, etc.) Vegetarian? You'll enjoy a full selection of Vegetarian dishes, including some great curries. Good selection of local and imported beers and wines. (No MSG added to our food.)We've added a great breakfast menu, and are opening up early for travelers wanting to get an early start before heading out to see Dalat.Nightly live music - acoustic, rock 'n' roll, blues, folk, country, international.Free WIFI.Delivery within Dalat!Smoking section outdoors. Location: The V Cafe is about 200m from the lake (Xuan Huong Lake) up Bui Thi Xuan street. Opening hours: 7:00 a.m. until about 10:30pm (a bit later on weekends and eves of public holidays)
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food Great Music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Menu was diverse food fresh and prepared well, good wine list and fine music and friendly, good service

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harvey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    221
    96
    51
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Moldy bread with sandwich”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went there twice, first time all was perfect, the food was delicious, the service was good, the music was great! So we decided to be back for lunch next day, what has been proved was wrong. I ordered a club sandwich, when I almost had half a piece, I found the bread of one remaining piece has gone bad, then I noticed there are small black dots on the bread of the one I'm eating! After we told the waitress, her smile's gone, and removed the dishes at onece, 3-4minutes later she was back and told us the solution with a very bad attitude: they can recook the sandwich for me, but won't refund or compensate! What? I'm sure all your sandwiches are from the same bread, why do I order another deteriorated sandwich?! Because of the afternoon tour, we don't have time to argue, and their manager or boss didn't show throughout.

We were so disappointed, without problem they are good, but once there is an issue, they just want to escape but to deal with.

Tip: Double check your food before have it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcafedalatvietnam, Owner at V Cafe (Restaurant/Bar/Live Music), responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Sorry! Our fault!

We buy our bread and other ingredients fresh every day from the local market, so it's quite rare to get a review like this. Not sure exactly how that happened.

"Our bad" for not refunding it on the spot..... Oops. Indeed the manager was not at V at the time.

Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great evening in Da Lat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We returned for dinner after a quick lunch on Day 1. Live music was playing and it was really good. The menu was varied and we had lovely food in a great atmosphere. The service was just perfect. Clearly popular the cafe soon filled and we were glad we went early at 7pm

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Good enough food- very reasonably priced and tasty. Service was fantastic and musician was brilliant. If I had more time in Dalat, I'd return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxx_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“we loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

the food was great and the atmosphere was even better - they have great live music in the evenings.
all the dishes we've tried were very good, waiting time was a little more then average

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed V Cafe (Restaurant/Bar/Live Music) also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to V Cafe (Restaurant/Bar/Live Music)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing