We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food not very tasty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trong Dong Restaurant

Trong Dong Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 255 Restaurants in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Trong Dong - a homey place for your meals! Dear valued customers, Every year we close our beloved restaurant 2 weeks for vacation. This year our schedule is from August 20 to September 5. We will reopen our service on September 6, 2015. We would like to thank you very much for your great support and hope to see you all again :) Cheers!
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food not very tasty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The setting of this restaurant is simple, nice and cosy. The fresh milkshakes are good. But the main dishes are so-so and we would found it hard to pick a dish from the menu. The selection was more exotic with several eel, rabbit and frog dishes. We did manage to find a claypot chicken and Pho. We could not finish either of them because they tasted average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giang P, Owner at Trong Dong Restaurant, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Julie,
Thank you for your straightforward opinion. Today we conducted a meeting where your comments were taken seriously. We are happy to hear that you loved the drinks, service and the cozy atmosphere of the restaurant. This affirms our efforts in improving them since the past year.
However, we are sorry that you are disappointed with the food. As we no longer serve chicken simmered in clay pot, I assume it was the chicken curry. We are also considering to revise the menu to include some more "non-exotic" food to ease your choices. The issue is how to choose the tasty ones but local because we want also to introduce local culture.
In addition, I wish you could let us know at the time so we can correct it right away as customers' comments are always appreciated in our restaurant.
I wish you have a great time and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    78
    46
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
225 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A real change of pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a very interesting restaurant, clearly catering to Westerners, but with an authentic Vietnamese flavor. Casual, inexpensive, and great local dishes. Many young tourists flock to this place. The dining room is small, and is set up something like a diner, but they make it work. Definitely worth checking out when in Dalat, either for lunch or a casual dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful staff n menu :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Lovely staff! Beef in loc-lak leaves was wondreful. Dessert- pin wheel banana roll with homemade yoghourt and jasmine tea was exquisite- went back there again, so worth it. Highly recommend.
Allan & Michelle

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Minimich61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, pity about the bar next door”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

All in all, we'd highly recommend this cute little restauant- maybe just wait until they've finished trying to soundproof their downstairs, or request a seat upstairs. The food was really fantastic. We were a bit disappointed that they'd run out of the papaya salad, but were more than happy with the recommended lotus salad, which was fantastic. We visited this restaurant on a Saturday. Our hotel recommended it, and when we walked past in the afternoon it appeared to be under construction- scaffolding was up inside and the doors were all open- as we stopped, the owner came running out and with a big smile told us they'd be open again at 5. We couldn't believe that they'd look like a restaurant again by then, but sure enough, when we walked down the street for dinner it looked like a cute french restaurant- white tablecloths and all. The atmosphere inside would have been pleasant- with the classical music playing and attentive staff, except for the extremely loud club music being pumped out into the street by the bar next door and the smell of fresh paint from the work they'd been doing that day. They had gotten almost all of the way through putting heavier windows into the front, and one windowpane near the top was missing, which meant it was pretty loud- once they finish it will probably still be audible, but not so bad. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SaritaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giang P, Owner at Trong Dong Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear SaritaMae,
Thank you very much for your detail writing. Yes, we already put in the soundproof door and windowpanes so the noise is pretty much controlled now. Next time, remind us to serve you the fresh papaya salad. Cheer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Okay food, slooooowwww service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice little restaurant recommended by our hotel. Even though only two tables were occupied, the service was really slow. The food was okay but nothing great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giang P, Owner at Trong Dong Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hi Doris, We are a bit sad to hear your comment but it's helpful for us. I sincerely thank you for that.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trong Dong Restaurant also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Trong Dong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing