We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dining”

Le Rabelais Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 260 Restaurants in Da Lat
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had dinner here on our last night in Dalat. It is described as being expensive and it is by Vietnamese standards but it is no more than you would pay for a mid-range meal in Australia and well worth it. Lovely old building, great views, excellent service, staff with good English, food beautifully presented and tasty. We both had a fish dish, grouper with curry sauce, vegetables and some tagliatelle with a kind of mint pesto. My husband also had a berry millefeuile which looked gorgeous and was probably delicious if you like that sort of thing. The only thing that wasn't great was the bread, but that is not such a big deal. Overall a great place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLT725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tram Anh N, Public Relations Manager at Le Rabelais Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your dining experience at our French Gourmet Restaurant, Le Rabelais. We are delighted to know you were most satisfied with the restaurant, from its ambiance, the food to the service rendered by our staff.

We look forward to having you back in the future and hope that the next experience will surpass the previous one.

With warmest regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    17
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A trully French style!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Quiet and romantic environment. We visited the place on a Saturday night, and ordered the day's special: Lamb - all you can eat. It were very well seasoned and barbequed, the flesh came off the bones easily. It was delicious. An interesting fish dish was the tilapia with lemongrass puree, subtle flavours and nice to go with white wine. This is nice place for families and friends as well. Cheers!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venus Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great French food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

First impressions, very good, we chose to sit inside. Good presentation, clean and airy, with good tableware and linen. The diner was overall excellent, and although expensive for a meal in Vietnam we did not mind because a meal like this would be out of our budget at home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must visit if you like classy atmosphere”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

One of the nicest dining rooms we've ever seen. A bit pricey, but it's worth the trip, even if only for drinks or coffee. It's like a museum, full of amazing art. A real colonial era feel to the place. Built in the 1920s or so.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank garybodenaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Truly Old-World Charm”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We didn't stay in the Da Lat Palace, but walking into Le Rabelais after a hot blistering walk along Lake Xuan Huong was like stepping through time. Uniformed waiters take your orders in soft undertones, your table is set with silverware and starched white linen. Candlesticks and chandeliers light the room, while a huge reproduction (we think!) of The Ball by Tissot graces the opposite wall, and your food is served with silver polished dishcovers.

We had a simple lunch at Le Rabelais. The quality of the food was good though not remarkable. It was pricey for Da Lat, but not pricey for what was served. Doubtless dinner would have been better. A good choice to round up a holiday in Da Lat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoWest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Rabelais Restaurant also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Le Rabelais Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing