We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First proper tour for my 3rd time in patong”

Ranked #218 of 432 Tours in Phuket
Attraction details
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First proper tour for my 3rd time in patong”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Not being someone who plans things took a leap and decided I wanted to do this. I had a group of 7 from the age of 10+
It was an hour and 30mins from patong
But the bus was pretty much brand new very comfortable and we just slept as it was an early start.
First we went to the thai naval base where they look after the turtle conservation... you see different stages of life in these turtles before they are released
Also there was the tsunami memorial which showed what was left of a submarine. ..
Then went off to bamboo rafting which I enjoyed as it was very relaxing then followed by a thai lunch which wad beautiful. ..
Then came the elephant treckking, this was an utterly amazing experience
As we had 7 we had one group of 3 and I got to sit on his head for the trip
Once we reached the water the guides thought they have some fun with them and got them to spray me with the water I was completely soaking wet after but it was so much fun
Then had the opportunity to have photos with the elephants lifting you up
They will take plently of photos on your personal camera for you along the way but they do at the end get pushy and demand a tip

After we visited the mini zoo
They seemed to be taken care of a lot more then phuket zoo but its still not a great environment makes you appreciate what you have at home

All in all it was a well organised tour that was relaxed and pretty much ran at our own pace
Big day but worth doing
The monkey temple on the way home was simplicity
You hand feed these wild monkeys

Our driver tommy was great and pur guide charlie was good entertainment
He explained a lot and gave us a good laugh but knew when to be quiet

MUST DO TOUR!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank bubbles0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
145 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Experience more than just beaches”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Firstly, this is a big day trip but not hard.
Our guide "Charlie" picked us up at about 8am and it took 90 minutes to get to the first stop, the Monkey Cave. This was great. The kids loved hand feeding all the monkeys and some cheeky little fellows would climb up onto your shoulder to eat where the others could not steal his food. Inside the cave is also fascinating - it cost 40 baht ($1.20 Australian) to get in. Inside is an enormous laying Buddha statue in gold and various other entities. The cave goes deeper with other sights and places to climb up.
Second stop was a mini zoo where they rehabilitated animals for return to the wild, where possible. They had all sorts of critters from Buffalo Bears (with purple poo??) to pygmy loris' that had been confiscated from photographers on Bangla Road.
Third stop was elephant trekking through the river and river banks - not as long as some treks but different going through the river. We had fruit and drinks here too.
Next stop - waterfall. A nice one, not that high but very pretty and time to swim at the base which we always love to do - somehow feels special.
We then went on a bamboo raft ride down the river which was the greatest fun. Two people on a raft with your guide who is a bit like a gondolier in Venice. The scenery was lush jungle, with the odd hanging snake! Every so often you would go through mini rapids, the water was freezing and would splash over the raft, so wear at least bather bottoms. This gave the kids a little thrill. I thoroughly enjoyed it to.
We had lunch in the restaurant overlooking the river - plenty of food.
We started our trek back stopping at the Turtle Conservation Centre and the Tsunami Memorial on the way. We were back in Patong at about 5.30pm
All of this for the princely sum of about $150 Australian for 2 adults and 2 kids!
Charlie was great - every stop had toilets, it was well organised.

Big tip - never use hotel tour desks. We use an agent on the street and they book tours for half the price on the brochure (especially in off peak season). The hotel ones probably do to but don't tell you and pocket the difference!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank indiweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent day”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We book the tour thru Ramada Resort and next day 08:30am driver and guide pick us up. Bob the tour guide was very caring and explain all aspect off mahout and elephants situation in Thailand.
Firs stop we have at local marked to check on same different fruits and food stuff. Next stop we jump into the kayaks and slowly run down the river look at same spectaculars views.
After lunch we visit the elephant raiding place and have lovely trip thru the jungle to stop at fresh spring pools to have deep. This I recommend to any one the National Park at Khao Lak is beautiful place

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Flapydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Khao Lag is an amazing place where we really find ourselve closed to nature It has got lot of greenery and virtues which anyone can enjoy ,One of the wonderful place where you can visualise things so easily and near to nature.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Sumeet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“The eplephant trek was great, but...”
Reviewed March 3, 2007

We did this tour that includes a visit to the sea turtle farm, an hour long elephant trek, a trip down a small river on a bamboo raft, lunch along the way and a stop at a waterfall...It was advertised as "soft adventure" and a "nature tour"...I'd argue the description.

This place is 90 minutes from Phuket. The sea-turtle farm consisted of tanks of turtles in various stages of being
nearing their release in to the ocean. There was no description of their mission and no information was given regarding anything to do with the turtles. The elephant trek was GREAT FUN-but they offer them about 1 hour closer to Phuket
then this. The elephant ride did a loop through a jungley area. The guides were great and we stopped along the was for some photos. This was the highlight of the trip. The grounds were beautiful, the people friendly, the elephants well cared for and we had the opportunity to spend time feeding and petting the
elephants without being rushed. The lunch was fantastic and besides the elephant trek, this was the second redeeming feature of the trip...the raft ride was suppose to be an
amazing trip down the river seeing "colorful birds and a surprise around every turn"...while "your guide points out the wildlife"...There was no wildlife that we saw. Our guide did not say one word (nor did he attempt to point out anything). He definitley did not understand a word of english (which the tour
was suppose to be in) The river was shallow and the water fall was very small-But in defense of them, it IS dry season.

My major pet-peeve with this tour was that I could have saved about 3 hours of travel time by doing the elephant trek in Phuket-the "Nature Tour" is an extreme misnomer-We were hoping for an informative, eye-opening "soft" adventure and we were
somewhat disappointed with the lack of learning more about Thailands wildlife and fauna.

22-Feb-07 Khaolak Nature Tour (from Phuket)


Helpful?
21 Thank Darlyne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khao Lak Nature Tour also viewed

 

Been to Khao Lak Nature Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing