We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience with Nikorn Marine”
Review of Coral Island

Coral Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.10*
and up
Raya Island and Coral Island by Speedboat from Phuket Including Thai Buffet...
More Info
$985.12*
and up
Golden Dragon Catamaran Sailing Day Trip from Phuket
Ranked #70 of 244 things to do in Phuket
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Coral Island's Banana Beach and Long Beach provide everything that can be desired on a day excursion to a pristine tropical island with stunning beach scenery, virgin rain forest backdrop, good reef snorkeling (Banana Beach only) and full menu of active and passive water sports. Banana Beach is more quiet and laid back, actually the beach lounges are under natural shade, modern clean amenities and of 5 star standard of restaurant and service. The design of all buildings is amazingWe even barge in fresh water for our guest's to wash the salt off before heading back to the resort.Nice touch for the ladies! Long Beach is a 800 meter long white sand Beach with several of the biggest watersports companies in Thailand which cater for all looking for an active day swimming, basic snorkeling, SASUBA Hookah Diving,Try Scuba Diving, Sea Walker, Parasailing (old beach take-of style), Banana Boat rides. All water sports are available at Banana Beach as well as coral viewing clear kayaks, however the active sports are operated far away from the beach thereby maintaining the tropical beach relaxed ambience. Summary: Banana Beach: The day trip is slightly higher in price, 5 star in service, quality of activities, 5 star restaurant, 5 star amenities, 5 star speedboats, 4 star coral reef and water conditions. from 2,300 baht each.( Banana Beach Coral Island is nominated for "Best water sports day-trip" and "Best speed boat day trip" in Phuket in Thailand Tourism Awards" Long Beach : Budget price day trip, fun for the action seekers, a little busy for those looking for a quiet beach. Water sports is of same price as Banana Beach however you may to queue for turns and the standard is rated 3 star.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience with Nikorn Marine”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was there for the trip around September 2012. I used Nikorn Marine, although a little overpriced, however the overall experience was good! Great service, beach clean, food at The island's Hey Restaurant was delicious. Plenty of activities there to play with, I tried the banana boat and para sailing, and spent a wonderful day trip at the island. Scenery was also amazing! Clean sea waters, fishes in the sea, Wonderful Experience! And, if I get the chance I will return and use Nikorn Marine services again.

Helpful?
1 Thank DanteSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    191
    130
    66
    74
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coral Island...The Place to Relax”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife, Debra & myself spent a week in Phuket in early November. To
say that we had the best time is an understatement…we loved it. We
went over to Coral Island to spend some time with Lim. What a great day we had….B.E.A.U.TIFUL.

Everything was perfect & we will be recommending you
guys to any of our family & friends that travel to Phuket.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Day Trip”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our local taxi driver at our resort suggested taking a long boat out to Coral Island to do snorkeling.We organized to go the next day, but overnight and next morning was heavy rain so we rang to cancel. This wasn't a problem at all and planned to do it another day. Fortunately the next day proved to be beautiful, ideal to go out. Mr.9 drove us down to Rawai and our long boat was waiting for us. Short trip across to Banana Beach which was the place for snorkeling. It was a beautiful beach not overly crowded and the option of either chairs or lounges to hire. We chose the chairs at 80baht. The snorkeling was pretty good. It you take the time you get to see lots of beautiful fish. The coral is pretty dull but the fish make up for it. We should have taken advise from Jdt1986's review and taken a picnic lunch with us. The food was ordinary and more expensive than on the main land (which is understandable). A very relaxing day, well worth the visit across going by long boat, that way you can please yourself how long you stay.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank soapyjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent SASUBA dive on Coral Island organized through Power Snorkel”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My daughter aged 17 and I had a superb day on Coral Island. We got there by a private long tail boat and Steve filled us in about SASUBA. I know only SCUBA diving and I have done the advanced PADI last year. With this floating oxygen tank you are only wearing a weight belt and your mask. We were breathing air from the same tank my daughter and I, so I was pairing up through the air tube which is approx. 5 m long and always had her in sight. We could feed the fish with bananas and they ate practically out of your hands. The buffet lunch at Coral Island Club was very nice and staff very friendly. We had an awesome day, thank you Steve.

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dead Coral Island”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was the most disappointing 1 day tour of Raya & Coral Island. Chalong pier was packed, you can buy a loaf of bread for 60 baht to feed the fish or use the toilet for 20 baht. Our speed boat was packed with 50 people, no one spoke English except us & the tour guide spokem only broken English so if an emergency arose & you couldn't speak English you'd just have to work it out.

After 45mins we arrived just off Raya Island for a 10min snorkel, collecting & signing for our gear as we proceeded to queue & jump off the boat. Many with life jackets on, to say it was chaotic & badly organised would be an understatement. Snorkels didn't work, let in water & had to be changed. Should have been checked by the co first.

Then we were taken to Raya to snorkel off the beach sit on the sand or pay 200 baht for a sun lounger with shade. Fish were great & plenty of them in the rocks but the coral was totally decimated. Seems a combination of excessive tourism, greed & wilful abuse of the environment. It's just tragic but more was yet to come.

A 45 min ride to Coral Island with 'chicken bone curry lunch' & 3 hrs to snorkel with dead coral & the buzzing of the 3 speed boats ferrying 50 parasailing Asians for 2 hrs, not my idea of a relaxing afternoon. The 'restaurant staff' were rude barking @ my wife 'Only 1 chicken drumstick' & the boat staff barking not to get on the boat @ 3.50pm but wait til 4pm.

We went on a fantastic canoeing tour & awesome tour around Phi Phi Islands. The staff were informative, friendly & attentive.

I wouldn't return to Coral or Raya for snorkelling but maybe suggest taking the 2hr trek to Similan Islands instead.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Iswaisgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Island also viewed

Ko Racha Yai, Phuket
 
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Coral Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing