We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bareboat charter in twenty five years”
Review of Andaman Yachting

Andaman Yachting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ours is a small, owner operated company, specialising in bespoke sailing courses and skippered charters for families and small groups. We operate in the spectacular Phang Nga Bay and Andaman Sea area, one of the World's most amazing sailing locations. Glorious sunshine, breathtaking scenery, idyllic anchorages, warm crystal clear waters and a cool breeze, making this the perfect setting for any type of sailing activity. Our yacht 'Sita' is a Beneteau First 45f5; she is a modern 'performance' cruiser with three spacious, double berth cabins and a convertible berth in the saloon. Her forward Master Cabin is particularly comfortable with en-suite head and shower compartment, plenty of 'swinging' room and a full, Queen size berth. We are proud to be a recognised RYA Training Centre, offering the full range of RYA sail cruising courses, both practical and theory, up to Coastal Skipper Yachtmaster Offshore level. We specialise in private charter 'Master Class' courses for families and small groups, with optional Thai cook on-board to take care of all the galley work and help with general crew duties (highly recommended!). We can also provide onshore accommodation for our RYA theory courses, or for a few days relaxation before or after your sailing trip. The accommodation is in our secluded, luxury pool villa, which has two double-bed guest rooms, each with A/C, en-suite, wi-fi and satellite TV. Breakfast is included and other meals can be provided if required. Please visit our web-site for prices and more information.
Windermere, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best bareboat charter in twenty five years”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We chartered Mervyn's 45' Beneteau "Sita " through Elite yachting but could have done it from him directly. In twenty five years of being involved with bareboat chartering in western Canada and the Caribbean this is the best we ever had. This boat is older than most in the charter fleets we have experienced but it is the best maintained and equipped boat we have chartered to date. Mervyn takes pride in this lovely boat and it shows, everything works including the fridge. He also does his own check outs which are thorough but relaxed. This was our first time in Thailand and we found the whole experience wonderful. There were three couples on the boat and we found it very comfortable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“A great experience! Truly amazing!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We did the Day Skipper Master Class with cook and it was a master stroke! Everything was first class, the boat, the food, the weather, the location, and Mervyn's very competent, laid back style made the learning so enjoyable. No hesitation in recommending this to anyone wanting a sailing course or a sailing holiday.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
332 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“A relaxing and learning time with Mervin on Sita”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our experience with Andaman Yachting was very positive from A to Z. The first contact with Mervin was very precise with all the details on the course and the way to get to the marina. Once in Phuket he arranged us a very nice and honest driver, Phui, who showed us around as the course only started one day after arrival. We were jet lagged and appreciated to be taken care of and be dragged from one beach to the other, without having to take any decision.
The course went very smoothly and we had the impression we learnt very much without feeling any pressure, having even time for relaxation. Mervin is such a great teacher, very attentive to detail and obsessed with precise definitions and notions.
1) The boat Sita is Mervin's baby. It's spotless, is very well equipped and in a superb shape
2) Mervin would do all his possible to make you feel welcome onboard and comfortable on his boat.
3) Mervin knows super well the navigable area and this is extremely important as the maps don’t necessarily reflect reality in this region, as we noticed several times.
4) We didn’t take the option with cook, so Mervin spoiled us with some delicious meals prepared by his wife Sonia. The curries were delicious, actually the best during our stay in Phuket.

Once done with the course, we still had one day free in Phuket before flying to our following destination. Mervin suggested we stay at his place where his wife is running a guestroom, sort of B&B. The guestroom is very spacious, spotless and very nicely Thai decorated. The house is very well located, not far from Phuket town, in a green and quiet compound. It also has a pool where you can cool off in the evening. Sonia cooked for us couple of curries and cut coconuts from the garden trees and served us near the pool. It was luxurious!!

We had such a hard time to leave. Would have loved to stay another week!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kizkouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent course and great hosting”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband was keen in taking a coastal skipper course and went ahead and booked with Andaman Yachting. I was a little worried prior to the trip as I had unwillingly sailed quite a bit during my childhood and was a bit scared of the thought of being on a boat for almost a week...My fear quickly disappeared after meeting Mervyn and having a look round the boat, which was very spacious and comfy compared to what I was expecting . Mervyn is great and a very competent and patient teacher as well as being very good company, and took us on a beautiful round trip of Phang Nga bay, including stops in Krabi, Phi phi and Racha islands. The on board chef dished up some of the best Thai food I have had. The days started with breakfast and a course planning exercise, followed by sailing and sightseeing. In the afternoons we had a swim and evenings were spent anchored off a beautiful and quiet beach , looking at the stars and hearing the waves lap against the sides of the boat. At the end of the 5 days we were very happy with the RYA certificates gained and the entire experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebbieSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Simply Great”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

At my request Merv agreed to schedule my Coastal Skipper Course into a timeframe that fitted into my vacation time. Not only that he arranged for lad to join (who was doing his Competent Crew course). Merv is a complete sailing professional and I although I have sailed for many years (without formal qualifications) I left the course in a much better position than when I started. I highly recommend Merv and Andaman Yachting.

PS. Merv, I am still having nightmare with the man over board drill with only the sails.

Steve Mc of Singapore

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andaman Yachting also viewed

Phuket Town, Phuket
Phuket, Thailand
 

Been to Andaman Yachting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing