We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guided tour!”

Phuket Heritage Trails Tours
Ranked #72 of 432 Tours in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by a Phuket native with an aim to promote the cultural and historical Phuket Island in responsible and educational manners, Phuket Heritage Trails offers cultural, historical, and natural tours of Phuket, showcasing local beliefs, architecture, cuisines, and lifestyle within the historical backdrop made up of the community's ethnic and religious diversity.Phuket Heritage Trails stands apart from other local tours in that it is not a commercial tour jammed with commission motivated shopping diversions.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic guided tour!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My sister and I booked Chaya for an afternoon guided tour when we were in Phuket last December. First off, Chaya was very prompt in replying my emails and we managed to confirm our booking with ease. Chaya is just amazing. She is really warm, friendly and knowledgeable of the history and info on Phuket Old Town. She drove us around in her car to show us the sights and the people. We especially loved the visit to the Sea Gypsy village. The stories she shared with us about the Sea Gypsies really touched us. To cap off the wonderful afternoon, she brought us to some of the best local eateries for tea and dinner. It is a great way to get to know the place and the people and a fantastic way to spend 1/2 a day!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    4
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend a day.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent an afternoon and evening with Chaya being introduced to the wonderful history and culture that is Phuket. She has such a wealth of knowledge about the island and its people and we were fascinated just listening to her. She took us to places that you would be hard pressed to locate yourself and told us many stories of her family and their history. It was such an enjoyable tour-more like being shown around town by a new friend. If your thinking of coming to Phuket, then this is a must do. Highly recommend it if your I the rested in the Real Phuket!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrishH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“An amazing day in Phuket!!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My daughter and I recently spent the day with Chaya and had the most amazing and memorable day in Phuket. Not only is Chaya knowledgeable about Thai culture and history, she is also a friendly, genuine and thoughtful person. She has a happy demeanor and personality, creating an open environment to ask questions and share stories. We spent the day visiting the oldest home in Phuket, strolling through the original shopping area of Phuket, enjoying a local Thai snack and eating our favorite bowl of noodles. Our most favorite and meaningful part of our visit was to a Buddhist nunnery. Thank you, Chaya, for making the day so special for us!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had awesome afternoon and evening with Chaya from Phuket Heritage Tours. Meeting local people, hearing about the history of this beautiful country. Visited Buddist Monestry and saw Monks chanting and spoke to them "whatan experience". Love seeing Sino-portugese architecture. Sea Gypsy village where we watch them making fishtraps, children playing with the biggestsmiles on their faces. Local Indy markets. Soi Romanee in Phuket town. Dinner at Tunk ka cafe with beautiful views of Phuket was breath taking. This tour is a must for history and cultural experience. Chaya is very knowledgeable and welcoming. I didnt want the day to end. 5 stars from us. Would definately do this again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fitz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Must when in Phuket”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spend a few hours with Chaya and you will learn to appreciate Phuket. She talks about the people, its history and its food with true passion for her town. She drove us all over town visiting a Buddhist nunnery, a Buddhist and a Taoist temple, a beautiful ancestral home. She also brought us to see the sea gypsies just outside of the town and bought us lunch at a wonderful local restaurant at Rang Hill overlooking Phuket Town. A must when in Phuket.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Jennusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Heritage Trails Tours also viewed

 
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Phuket Heritage Trails Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing