We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for children”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Phuket Aquarium

Phuket Aquarium
Ranked #55 of 240 things to do in Phuket
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ok for children”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went there this morning and to bee honest I was expecting smth more from it. The aquarium is ok but nothing special. Few fish do make big impression though. 30min and u are out.
Good experience for children though :-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adammier83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    279
    200
    37
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
413 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Phuket's main aquarium has undergone extensive renovations over the years and one of the highlights of the aquarium is a 10 meter long underwater glass tunnel.

The Aquarium is quite small and would only take you about an hour to go through, but it is good value for money as the entry fee is quite cheap.

The aquarium is very well laid out and all information is in Thai and English.

If you are interested in diving, a trip to the aquarium will provide a good introductory course to the marine life found in the waters around Phuket. As Thailand's major marine biological research station, the centre conducts research on tropical reef ecosystems, commercial fisheries and other projects.

The aquarium also hatches and breeds species of endangered sea turtles in order to release them back into the sea.

Phuket Aquarium is definitely worth a visit and it is located near the southern tip of the island at Ao Makham on Cape Panwa. There is a small shop for drinks and ice creams plus a souvenir shop.

A taxi or tuk-tuk from Patong will take about 1 hour. Expect to pay at least 1,000 baht to get there and back. The aquarium is open daily from 08.00 - 16.00 and admission fees are 100 baht for an adult and 50 baht for a child.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expected Much More from an Aquarium in Phuket”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I live in Phuket and thought I'd check out the aquarium. It was just so-so. I really didn't find it that interesting although it seemed well kept. There were no large sea creatures and, as a scuba diver, the usual fish didn't really excite me too much. I'd definitely give it a miss, especially if you've been to any other aquarium before.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Southaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable visit”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We visited the aquarium with two children, aged 7 and 10. It only cost 300 Thb for the family - very cheap indeed (compared to our local aquarium in Cape Town). We saw a great number of fish species we've never encountered before, and the aquarium is very nicely laid out and very educational. The display on a tsunami was a wonderful visual display for our 7 year old, and the turtles were amazing. It was also not overly busy, with plenty of local visitors (a good sign). It's definitely worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaassensFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must for all ages”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Well one may think aquarium is a kids area. As I have big fascination for fishes, I went there at one of the must thing to do. Well location at the end of the island. Well maintained, but at few places the light is not enough. Variety of fishes and other mammals and general information is real good. Keep at least 2 hours for a proper visit,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank debb612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Phuket Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing