We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel & spa, but be conscious of location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #229 of 754 Hotels in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel & spa, but be conscious of location”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Booked at Pier 42 for five nights in January 2012. Our stay was nice as we were looking to stay away from the super touristy areas of Patong. I wanted my family to experience a more local flavor... something outside of the 5-star big hotel, big price, huge pool, beachfront resorts. We booked two rooms for about $60 each which was about 10x less then what the rooms in the 5-star places wanted.

The rooms were nice, clean, etc... Bed was hard, but it just takes a bit getting used to.

The hotel location is in Chalong, which is about a 15 minute scooter/tuk-tuk/taxi ride away from the main touristy areas. Pier 42 is right next to the pier where many people take boat rides to the nearby islands. The road that it's on is filled with "bar & massage" joints that can look a bit seedy. Never felt unsafe, but it's not Kansas.

This hotel is NOT near a beach ... you need to take a cab/tuk-tuk/scooter to the nice beaches of Kata/Karon. We took all 3 modes of transportation ... cab rides cost 500 Baht, Tuk-Tuk cost 400 Baht and the best is renting a scooter (200 Baht a day!). Note, scooters are cheap and fun, but it's freakin crazy getting used to the traffic. Tuk-Tuks and Taxi's are available at stands at either end of the road and the bar next door (and many other bars on the street) rent scooters. But cost wise, unless you have a real need to have immediate access to a beach, the economics of this place make a lot of sense... and you get a better feel for the culture.

We used the spa a number of times for massages and foot massages. They were really good and relaxing. The prices are higher then what you can pay, but the quality and serenity were worth it. It felt like a real spa experience vs. a massage on a table on a beach. "Tick", the spa manager was great. You pay about 900 Baht/hour, probably 2x the cheaper places, but the location and product is well worth it.

Pool was small but very refreshing after being out all day. It is a salt water pool. Kids enjoyed it.

We did laundry a few doors up the street ... cheaper then at the hotel... it cost like 40 Baht per Kg ... so very cheap. Pack light and do laundry ... it comes back clean and folded nicely.

The restaurant at the hotel was actually really good. It served both western and Thai food and the quality was good. The breakfast included was OK ... eggs, toast, croissants, bacon, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, etc...

A few doors down towards the water is a great restaurant called Kang Nang... it literally feels like you are walking through into Wonderland ... you go from a bit of a grimy street to an oceanside oasis with great Thai food. A few blocks the other way, we went to Sabai-Sabai cooking school and did a Thai cooking class... it was the best time and the best food - it was so authentic, personable and fun ... small, intimate and just fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter-YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier42, Owner at Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Peter, Thanks for the generous and helpful review,
I am pleased you appreciated what we are trying to achieve at Spa 42 with our 100% natural products philosophy.
We will be including in the resort rooms some information on the beaches in the area and how to get there + placing some bicycles in the resort so that guests have another free of charge transport option.

Housekeeping do have some mattress toppers on request to soften the beds for those that find them a little firm :)

Hope to welcome at Pier 42 again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    41
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
53
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

After staying a week near Patong, the peace and quiet of this side of the island was so inviting. The hotel has a beautiful setting-so much vegatation around the pool offering both sun and shade in the chairs. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our massage was wonderful, very professional, very reasonable and highly recommended. Not much in the area but we shopped a lot in the attached store and restaurant. This is a popular dive area but we just enjoyed laying around the pool, our massages and the peace and quiet. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are similar except for being on first or second floor. If stairs don't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My friend Twiggy booked this place, which turned out to be great. Lovely rooms and great staff. They have an excellent spa and the hotel has been done up in a really cool way. Lots of individual character. The receptionist, Tia, is very nice and deserves a promotion and a pay rise. She works very hard, between the front desk, the cafe, the bar and organising the spa treatments. She really is a gem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Our family (parents and one teen) stayed here for a total of seven nights (before and after a scuba trip on a liveaboard). We agree with all positive comments in this posting. The photos are accurate. The hotel is very comfortable, clean and rooms have everything needed. The people are very friendly and helpful which is a plus AND we had breakfast each day in the coffee shop with the best lattes ever! On on our departure day, they arranged for taxis and the offered two free foot massages (30 mins)! That's a nice perk.

If you want to stay in Chalong, this is a good spot for sure. We visited the seafood outdoor restaurant on the beach a few doors down at the pier, which was really good...returned several times for lunch and dinner to sit outside at the beach. Really good variety and choices, service etc. (try the ice lattes). There are other tourist services along the road out front of the hotel leading to Chalong Pier, but the rougher bars and nightlife was not appealing for families although it was safe enough. This is a good location if you are diving from the Chalong Pier (we used the German-run Dive company called Sea Bees which is only a block away, so made it fun. They had a nice boat, good DMs...and thanks to Marcia at Gekko Scuba (a travel agent) who helped us with the live-aboard, hotel and dive company.

Room Tip: for family use, we booked room 102 VISTA (I believe) which has two adjoining rooms right beside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stay at the hotel only for 3 days but it was enough to realize that Pier 42 is a nice place where we will come back definately. The staff is friendly, the design is amazing, the furniture in the room is not only beautiful but also very convenient, the territory is cozy and beautiful. Cleaning was every day, really proper cleaning - towels, washing the floor etc. If we come to Phuket again, we will stay at Pier 42 for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prevaricator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier42, Manager at Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you for your very kind review, hope to see you in sunny Phuket soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed for a couple nights at what tuned out to be a fantastic boutique hotel, literally hidden away. Rooms all very peaceful set in a tropical garden with a colonial feel. My room was w beautifully decorated and equipped with full size bean bag for relaxing - a great idea.
Breakfast was delightful - served in 'the library' a bright open setting with an array of eclectic furniture. The food was simple and tasty..

Spa was quite nice - thai massage - and the adjacent homeware store was a real find.... will definitely go back and relax for a few days with friends... absolutely worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My friend and I stayed in Pier 42 for one night recently. We absolutely loved the place: the decor was beautiful, each room was really nicely done, and the swimming pool was lovely too. There's lots of space to sit around and relax, which was just what we needed. The breakfast was good, so all-in-all very good value for money.

We also had a traditional Thai massage, which was very good.

The staff were all very friendly.

And I personally loved the craft shop...
A great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket hotels
2.4 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
0.6 mi away
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
#2 of 12 in Chalong
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RaTaNa Apart Hotel
RaTaNa Apart Hotel
#28 of 42 in Rawai
39 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palm Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Chalong Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 42/5-6 Viset Road, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 754 Hotels in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional and intimate 24 room boutique resort & Spa in Chalong, Phuket, distinguished by first rate service & an eclectic style which features renovated hardwood floors, retro furniture + contemporary urban design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing