We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tasting Cheap Thai Food but watch out for the cockroaches”
Review of Number 6

Number 6
Ranked #99 of 2,781 Restaurants in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good tasting Cheap Thai Food but watch out for the cockroaches”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We passed by during dinner time and it was packed with people and had a queue waiting. As the place is small and only has around 8 tables, we decided to come back for supper (closes late). We ordered the Tom Yam Seafood soup, glass noodle salad, and a beef dish. Food was yummy and very tasty, definately authentic tasting. Furthermore, the price is very reasonable. However, while you see a certificate for restaurant cleanliness on the wall, we had on two occasions at two different tables where baby cockroach crawled up our tables and ran around our dishes. Needless to say, we quickly stood up, paid and leave. Noticed that there is another new branch that has opened up, so my advise is since the food is good, try going to the other branch and hope that there are no cockroaches there since its newer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juni1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    261
    91
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Jean du Monts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“always full”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I would have loved to have eaten here but unfortunately it was always full. We spoke to a couple who did manage to get a seat after a long wait and she said the food was great and well worth the wait. My hubbies tummy will wait for no man

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Todmordengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Busy little street restaurant”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Not sure where the bad reviews are coming from recently on here, what were these people expecting? For 400baht/£8....... Dinner at harrods,London?. :)

We found this place through recommendation and we weren't disappointed at all. Yes it can get busy and you might have to wait, but its well worth it. We eat the night before across the road and paid 1000baht for some very average food. We eat here for just over 400 baht and it was delicious, we also took advantage of the free shuttle tuktuk on another night to the restaurant on the hill which was a great little setting, overlooking the town of Phuket, away from all the madness.
This place is a must

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
“Number 6 up the hill, just ok”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you go to Number 6 restaurant on Rat-u-Thit Road just north of Bangla Rd in Patong they will transfer you for free to their second Number 6 restaurant which is up a small hill in Patong. The restaurant is nice with lots of room and lovely views; no matter how hot it is up here it will always be cool with all the greenery around you.

The food was nice but nothing to rave about, I would say maybe cheap, worth it for somewhere different but some of our meals were a bit disappointing, they were toned down for tourists. Yet all our dishes were ordered our Thai friends, including dishes that are not on the menu. I was expecting the spiciest fish curry bit it was quite mild, still nice but to mild.

Our pancakes and ice-cream would be the worst I have ever had; first of all they forgot we had ordered them, eventually when they did turn up the pancakes tasted as though a container of salt had been poured into them.

Will I go back there, not sure, if I compare them to Tunk Ka Café for great Thai food then Number 6 is not in the same league.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent food at cheap prices”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A friend recommended this place so we decided to check it out for dinner. While the food was not fantastic, it was definitely above average and was very reasonably priced compared to the other restaurants along Patong Beach itself.

The green curry, was however, a letdown - Besides that, everything we ate was pretty good. in fact, they have one of the best Pad Thai's - Must try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 6 also viewed

 

Been to Number 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing