We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time at this hotel - just as good!”
Review of Amora Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Beach Resort
Ranked #368 of 763 Hotels in Phuket
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Third time at this hotel - just as good!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I never stay anywhere else when I visit Phuket. This hotel is located at Bang Tao Bay which would be half way between the airport and the seedy Patong. It is a fairly quiet location which suits me. On this stay in April 2014, the hotel was more crowded than usual. Russian school holidays it seems. Yes, we were the only Aussies staying there - which also suits me. Regardless of their age or body shape, the Russians bare as much as they can get away with. Not a pretty sight most of the time! I stay in the same room every time! My huge room is a just few steps to the pool and just a few more to the beautiful uncrowded beach. Unlike Patong, Karon and Kata, there are no roads to cross to reach the sand and paying to sit on a beach chair. Suits me. Not in April again though - not because of the humidity but because every room was occupied. First time that's happened on my visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe pool room - the dearest at only AUD $125 p.n.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen_of_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    89
    47
    25
    27
See reviews for
88
84
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Place is lovely and quiet...only some guest (russians) that makes alot of noise and litters everywhere. We just got back from our two weeks holiday in phuket..Amora staff especially receptions and mr chung and alex are all very helpfull...buffet staff could use abit of smile...
Pool is lovely and clean..pool man cleans every morning..room is nice and clean..we had the pool to ourselves most of the time we stayed there..and its the peak season aswell..only downfall of this hotel is the food..:( same o same o..breakfast everyday..in the end i just had my toast.

Room Tip: ground floor pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiandhagistravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The pool and the fact, that there were not many other guest at the same time, were the best thing in this all ready a little worn out hotel. Staff was mainly nice and helpfully. AC in the room was noisy.
We will not stay there again: there are so many better places in Bang Tao for same amount of money, and less.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were there in January this year returning from Phi-Phi. First what surprised us was ferry boat. Please consider this as completely inconvenient process unless you have rucksack or narrow carryall with big wheels. All passenger luggages are stored random on the stern of the boat creating two meters hill. Plesae do not bother yourself with digging up yours one. Take it ease and wait till other passengers pick up their cases or luggages which are on the top. This is a big mess and all seem to be out of control. Please bear in mind that the gangway is very narrow and made of wood with sort of steps across. Do not be surprised if there will be another boat to pass it through. Do not rely on the crew. It is very seldom when boat staff will help you. The rucksack are the best for ferryboat trips.
Amora Beach welcome us with very pleasant welcome drink. In the first stage we were given a room on the first floor. This means there: ground floor in deed. Knowing that we asked for upper room. It was no problem with getting second floor room. Rooms were quite large with big bathroom. What was surprised - bath without shower. Although mixing tap was equipped with pull-knob-valve to use a shower ( this is a tipical solution accross the world) there was no shower!!! No shower hose, no shower handle. Nothing on the wall. Nothing on the roof. I was astonished and asked receptionist to show me another room and .... There were no shower hose in the bath in any room. Only taps... It looks like smoething was missing on the design stage. There is a stand-alone quite big shower in the bath-room. Don't worry!!!. We have never used bath itself... This was really funny.
Rooms are large and clean. Housekeeping staff were doing their job very well.
The most quiet rooms are situated in the seaside buildings with balcony facing to the threes.
Rooms situated at the pool are good as well. Water falls are started arround 10.00 and stop around 20.00. The pool was the biggest I have ever seen. Every day pool-claenar was doing his job very good as well. However there is very clear information not to use pool after 20.00 and this is also in Russian language ( ca 90 % of guests ), some holidaymakers seem to be not understand their own mother language......
Breakfast - this was the same everyday. We are not sure if youghurt was natural nicely speaking. A lot of fly in the fruits as there was no covers. I think the food was a biggest problem during whole stay there. Even al'carte meals were far from expectations.
There is no cash machine. You need to go to next hotel app 5 minutes walking.
There is no Wi-Fi available in the rooms. To use internet - you need to go to lobby. This is another drawback.
Something positive is that Bang Thao is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. There are a lot of small restaurant with very tasty food. There is a Tesco supermarket around 5 minutes driving.
To use taxi to the airport - you can take a one from parking opposite hotel. Although prices are fixed, there is a narrow margine for negotiation. Please book a taxi a little earlier to get a reasonable price.
It looks like there is something to do for Amora Beach Resort managers...

Hope this will be of help.
Good Luck!!!

Room Tip: The most quiet rooms are situated in the bildings closest to the beach with balcony faicing to the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We visited the hotel as a loving couple just for one night - luckily - on our way to ko phi phi . As far as we can judge the personal is not to friendly, the roums were lousy dirty and full of mold in the bathroom ! The aicondition smells horryfiing ! The breakfast is less than average, the beach looked crowded but we cannot judge that truly . All in all we would not come back , btw lots of russian people . We wanted to skip xmas but were awaited by loud xmas songs all day a santa claus puppet better than disneyland etc etc

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeMagnifique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phuket hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I hate giving bad reviews but I want to be as honest and fair as possible.
Strangely it's the bigger resorts that disappoint more often than the smaller places. Amora is a let down. The staff are awful - 3 reception ladies and they still couldn't get it right. They seemed more interested in having a little chat with each other than sorting out my room. I stood around for ages while they all looked lost. Then when they finally figured it out they had no idea how to use the credit card machine....
It is a HUGE resort but there is no mini mart or ATM. They have a gift shop with empty shelves and they seem to use it mainly to store dusty, unused furniture.
The rooms are clean-ish but really could be much better.
The pool needs to be cleaned properly and they need to learn how to use the chemicals properly.
And WAY over priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed here three times. The hotel rooms are well fitted out, we stayed in a pool view room on the ground floor and paid around $50 Australian through Expedia. It's great value for money. Beautiful pool and often we were the only ones in it. We were there at a quiet time, not sure what it would be like in the busy times. We have no complaints about the room or bathroom, both were very clean and had everything we needed. Every Monday and Thursday from about 5pm there is a local market down the road near tesco, about a 15 minute walk. We can recommend the food there, have bought food there each trip and have had no problems. Tesco is handy to get everything you need. We caught the local bus near tesco and went to Phuket town, then changed buses to paying, cost us 110 baht for the two of us, then got taxi back for 500 baht. The only negative about amora beach is the lack of close eating places at this time of the year, but we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank arab520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
#11 of 34 in Choeng Thale
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bangtao Village Resort
Bangtao Village Resort
#28 of 34 in Choeng Thale
67 reviews
1.2 mi away
Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Allamanda Laguna Phuket
#23 of 34 in Choeng Thale
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort
Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort
#6 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Beach Resort

Property: Amora Beach Resort
Address: 322 Moo 2, Srisoontorn Road | Bangtao Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 763 Hotels in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing