We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Phuket
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:30 AM - 1:00 PM, 1:30 PM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Phuket Elephant Sanctuary
from $97.71
More Info
from $97.71
More Info
from $97.71
More Info
Reviews (1,388)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveler rating
1,276
70
17
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,276
70
17
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rescued elephants natural environment vegetarian lunch educational video beautiful animals their lives rubber boots morning tour short video amazing experience tourism industry fruit trekking camps life changing experience these gentle giants eye opening spread the word
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2020

If you are looking for an ethical experience where you get to witness the majesty of the elephants, this is it!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketPES, Manager at Phuket Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Monica C,

Thank you for this short but encouraging review. We appreciate it.

Best wishes from all of us here at Phuket Elephant Sanctuary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Not only is this place the only real ethical elephant home in Phuket, it’s also an experience of a lifetime.
It starts by picking you up and getting a snack. The selection is broad and delicious. Then you see a introduction film about elephants in Thailand. It brought tears to my eyes. Afterwards the tour begins where you meet each of the elephants wherever in the sanctuary they are. You finish by giving them a snack which was the absolute highlight. I fed an elephant!!!
Before they drive you back they provide you a meal from an abundant buffet.
I can not recommend this place enough. Go!!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Voyager248865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketPES, Manager at Phuket Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Voyager248865,

Many thanks for your recent visit and glowing feedback! We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed the experience, and that everything from start to finish was well organized. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes from all of us here at PES.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

This place allows elephants a life without their being pressed into touristy entertainment, just observe their natural behaviour close up. A wonderfull day out complete with a suprisingly good offering of a hot and cold buffet and slick pick up - delivery to your door if you take the pick up option. Well worth the money and fully satisfied.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank OldWhatsisname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketPES, Manager at Phuket Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear OldWhatsisname,

Thank you so much for your recent visit, and for sharing the experience with others. We are happy you appreciated our ethical approach towards elephant tourism, and that everything from start to finish met your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back one day so you can meet the many more elephants we hope to rescue.

Best wishes from the team here at Phuket Elephant Sanctuary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

An amazing experience that I would recommend to everyone!!
I’ll start with adding that all enquiries we made before our trip were answered promptly and they were extremely helpful.
We opted for the transfer, and pick-up was smooth and on time. I felt safe in the minibus, which is a contrast to other taxi journeys! When we arrived we were sent into the office and given clear instructions on what to do next. The only think I would perhaps suggest is that guests be given the option to pay in full on booking, as I would have much preferred to do this!
We were then taken to the sanctuary itself in a safari-style truck which was a fun experience in itself. Previous guests had all stuck their coloured stickers (which indicate which group you are in) on the inside of the roof which I think was really cool.
When we arrived at the sanctuary we were given snacks and drinks which was a lovely touch. We then watched a video which explained the mission of the sanctuary, and went into detail about their aims. I thought this was very informative and it also went through safety info.
We then got to feed the elephants fruit which was fun and interactive.
After this we went with our tour guide in a group of no more than 15 people. Our guide Tour (unsure on how his name is spelt) was amazing and really had a passion for his job. He told us fun facts about the elephants and answered questions we had.
The whole experience was so much better than a zoo, as the elephants were happy and in their natural environment. We got to see all 10 elephants during our trek. There are plenty of ‘observation’ points across the sanctuary for those who needed shade or to sit down too which is good.
After the tour was over, we were given a cold towel which was much needed. This was followed by a lunch buffet with was yummy.
Overall a great experience, and well worth the money. My only hope is that they can find a way to rescue the elephants that doesn’t involve a cash payment to the previous owners/abusers.

Date of experience: January 2020
3  Thank Indiaclarke65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketPES, Manager at Phuket Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Indiaclarke65,

Thank you so much for your recent visit and detailed review of your experience. It is nice to hear how much you enjoyed every step of the journey here at Phuket Elephant Sanctuary, and that you appreciated seeing the 10 elephants at our place living happily.

Thank you for your support to our project, and best wishes from all of us at Phuket Elephant Sanctuary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Had a wonderful afternoon at the Phuket Elephant Sanctuary Learning about elephant conservation and seeing all the rescued elephants being able to roam free in a natural habitat, this is the ONLY Elephant sanctuary I would recommend in Phuket Thailand! If you know of anyone travelling to Phuket and wanting to see elephants please recommend this legit ethical sanctuary... The thing to remember when booking your elephant sanctuary visit is, if you can: touch, wash, ride, walk, or have selfie opportunities = cruelty is involved. FYI don’t always trust your tour operator either do your research. The only thing I think this sanctuary could improve on is at the end of the day we got to feed the elephants which from the photos the participants were taking could be misconstrued on on social media which plays a massive role in unethical sanctuaries and supposed conservation. 100% you should visit this sanctuary it’s the only place to go if you looking at elephants in Phuket Thailand.
#MLDAnimaste - breathe in life, give back to wildlife...

Thank markleedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuketPES, Manager at Phuket Elephant Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear markleedavies,

Thank you very much for your visit and excellent review. We appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back one day so you can meet the many more elephants we hope to rescue thanks to your support.

Best wishes from all of us here at Phuket Elephant Sanctuary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews