We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable experience...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Coconut Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Village Coconut Island
Ranked #5 of 839 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

I am a resident of Phuket and have had the pleasure of spending a number of weekends at The Village Coconut Island, my most recent stay was in September for a friends wedding that was hosted at the resort. Even though it is only a 5 minute boat trip from the island I live on, it still feels like a far away tropical paradise.
The manner in which the resort hosted the wedding was absolutely first class.
There were 140 guests, all staying in the luxurious and clean villas, who were each treated to a weekend of excellent pampering and tranquility.
On some of my previous visits my family and I have also enjoyed the array of watersports available for use on the resort and have even enjoyed some late night drinks with the fabulous management who are very friendly and hospitable.
All in all a world class resort...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nattayafirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    345
    181
    74
    51
See reviews for
446
599
36
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

This was my second visit to Coconut Island and I loved it second time around just as much as the first time. The villas are stunning, super high quality fit out with the most amazing wooden staircase! I loved the showers, from the bamboo hose type affair next to the pool to the rain shower in the bathroom. The villa was kept very clean and the staff were very helpful. If you are looking for a peaceful getaway, this is the place to go. Despite the fact there are quite a number of villas on the island, you feel as though you are in your own little world. There is a restaurant in the resort that does great thai and western food and plenty of restaurants nearby including some great seafood places. Ask reception to visit the floating restaurant around the corner - it is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

What a superb weekend! Fantastic Villas, staff couldn't do enough and great food. An island paradise, We'll be back as soon as we can. Many thanks to everyone, truly memorable

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

It was good to stay in a house with friends, for a weekend break away from my home, which is also my office. Internet, telephone, business centre....? I don't know if they were available, and I did not want to know. The short boat ride from the mainland left all that behind.

I liked the village concept , with individual houses, each with their own kitchen and garden. It was like being at home away from home, but with a resaruant and bar just a short stroll away; quite different from a regular hotel It was great to wake at sunrise to the view of islands of Phanga Bay floating on the horizion; I am a morning person, not a night owl.

The beach was ok, clean but otherwise not great as beaches go. Depending on the tide the sea could be reasonably clear, or quite murky. Each house has its own private garden and pool. Personally, I prefer swim in water that is doing something, the sea or a river; I am not a fan of swimming pools. I was told that the resort can take guests to a beach on a nearby island where the sea is clear regardless of the tide.

For a group of people (family or friends) wanting a break from the rat-race The Village is ideal. Honeymooners and other romantics would probably find it good too. Night life, shopping, and more are available on the mainland without too much effort (boats run all hours) but to me they are not what Coconut Island is all about.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AjMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed here a year ago, I am late in posting my review since I just came across the Village's Tripadvisor page.

What was supposed to be an idyllic last getaway before our baby arrived turned into a small nightmare.

The hotel takes no responsibility for the guests safety at the pier or getting on or off the boat. I fell while trying to go from the pier to the boat, I hit my head on the side of the boat and ended up in the water. The lighting was broken and even when it is working the pier is slippery and it is not very safe.

My husband asked for a doctor to be sent to our villa to check me as I was in a lot of pain and of course concerned as I was pregnant. We were told no doctor could come and to go to the hospital. There was no help in calling a taxi, nor did anyone check on me the rest of our trip. We asked several times to speak to a manager and always got some runaround that he was away or busy. In the end we were accused of lying about the fall, that I wasn't careful enough. The hotel did offer a 10% discount on our next stay but after how I was treated I wouldn't return.

The villas are to die for, just beautiful, as are the private pools. The beach isn't great and as others mentioned there was a lot of seaweed.

If I had been treated better I would have given 5 stars however, after my experience with this hotel I would much rather stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bojomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

From the transfer across to the island to the transfer back the service and attention to our enjoyment of the long weekend was perfect.
We stayed in a two bedroom villa which was one of the best I have so far seen on Phuket. Very well designed and with a very high build quality.
Phuket is getting a little overcrowded so to find a resort within a 5 minute boat ride to all the facilities Phuket has to offer but with such a relaxing atmosphere was a joy.
The restaurant is excellent and refreshingly good value and there is a small spa with a much larger one under construction. We were there for a wedding and it was clearly well planned and thought through. The only down side was getting caught in the rain on ther boat trip back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanHewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Great escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. Private pool was amazing, relaxing and perfect for both couples and families. The only disappointing factor was there was no beach on this island.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella20001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket hotels
17.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
9.2 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
10.2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Coconut Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island

Property: The Village Coconut Island
Address: 51/7 Moo 6, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 839 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort.44 beautiful pool villas with sea views116 luxury Jacuzzi suites500 metres of untouched island beachfronta complete collection of watercraftfun and exciting adventure activitiesrelaxed waterfront settingrestaurants, bars and shops onsite.On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay.All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Jetsetter, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Village Coconut Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing