We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 852 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    378
    198
    81
    65
See reviews for
478
652
41
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

My husband and I were staying at Kata Beach before meeting up my parents for the Village Coconut. We came across this place on booking.com when searching for villa. It was the best stay during the three weeks holiday we had in Asia. The resort is beautiful without fences and very green with lots of beautiful flora and fauna.

We booked for two bedrooms seaview villa but were upgraded to a three bedrooms villa on arrival. Upon checked in, my husband displayed the biggest grin on his face, so is my aging parents. The villa is fantastic with nice seaview, private pool, verandah, well equipped kitchen. Everything you need is there. The master bedroom is vast! The second bedroom too has its own verandah. Every room is ensuite and has a king size bed and TV.

The pool is clean and well position to have the seaview. There are deck chairs by the pool for sun tanning. There are also table and chairs for outdoor dining. Apart from breakfast, we cooked almost every meal. We went to shop in Tesco before arrival. We also went to the village next to the resort for some fish and vegetables. It was a good move as the resort restaurant has little to offer and we didn't really want to leave the peace to dine in town.

The beach at the resort is all right on calm days. But we mostly swim in the pool. We took the courtesy boat to nearby Rang Yao Island which is great with white sandy beach and corals. There are virtually no one there, miles away from crowded Kata beach which we didn't like that much. The watersport is limited but adequate. We ended up spending a lot of time talking and relaxing in the villa which was what we need.

The villas are for sale. They are currently constructing more villas at the back of the seaview villas. So privacy is not that great at times though there is no noise. Also, between villas especially the newer ones where the plants are not mature enough to provide screen between villas, you can see neighbours activity in the house. We have our curtains down at the side. The biggest problem is the mosquitoes. We sprayed the whole house before bed but next day they came back through some holes in the house? There is also WIFI in the villas but it is slow and not reliable. Also, the villas has no intercom or phone, so upon arrival, the reception has asked us if we like to have a Thai mobile phone which we paid 200 bahts for the calling time so we can call the reception. It was really unnecessary as it wasn't much walking from villa to the reception anyway.

If you need somewhere quiet with seaview to spend with family in a nice villa which is easy to get to without a long airport and boat transfer. This is the place. The island is called MangPhroa island. It is half an hour from the airport and 10 minutes water taxi to this island. It does feel like a castaway at times, but with luxury.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British in Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Excellent service, the villas were beautiful and will certainly go back. We also found the short boat trip to Phuket was properly managed and worked very well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billysingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed there with our 3 children for 9 nights in a 4 bedrooms beachfront villa : the view is very nice and the villa is just awsome. You've got so many space and luxury amneties in. Each villa has its own large swiming-pool.
Just be aware : the beach is not nice at all, and the sea is very muddy, but you can take there private boat for free to reach a very wild and nice island in 10 minutes; where you'll find a nice white sand and clear water for swiming. Other negative point : there is no spa but you can enjoy really great massages for a very reasonable price. And the villas are too closed to each other, you can be seen and see other guests or workers weither you're in the villa or in your swiming-pool. But it is not a huge problem as people (workers and clients) are very respectful and discret.
Overall, The Village is a very nice place to stay and is very closed to Phuket Island (only 5 minutes). For a large family as ours or for groups, you stay in a five stars hotel without the overprice. But it is still an expensive place (+1000 euros per night for a 4 bedroom villa).
The restaurant is just ok, we did regret there were no other grill or place to eat: so we never ate there after our first day. Food quality is fair and portions are small. The prices are ok. Breakfast is good (it is a buffet) but you get very few variety of fruits which is a shame for a country like Thailand where tropical fruits are so numerous and tasty (and they cost nothing). However you can eat anywhere+anything in Phuket, and the food always delicious.
Finally, it is a great place to stay for relaxing, sleeping very well (beds are excellent) and take journeys for the day. The very dark point to Phuket is it's really overcrowded. But at the Village you feel so quiet, sechluded and the environment is truly beautiful.
Most of the clients during our stay were families with children and a few couples. The ambience was very cool, simple and quiet.
At the end, we can say that we had very good vacations there and were happy to stay in this place, eventhough its negative points without those this resort would be perfection.
Just be aware of these points above : if you are looking for a "Four Season" resort, do not go there, you will be disappointed because of the beach, the sea and the lack of SPA. Go to the Chedi or to the Amanpuri or the Banyan Tree!
Acording to me, Phuket is maybe not the best place to stay at all if you want the top notch. It is very casual overall so the Village is quite above all ranking there: because of the villas which are among the best in Thailand. Finally, your opinion always depends on what you are looking for... But my advice is: go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmindesiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

This was mostly a family place - not cheap but suited to larger groups of travelers. We were drawn mostly for the sailing and beach. The bottom at low tide is mud, not sand. There is only one person manning the water sports so the offer is very limited. We were excited to see the vast list of activities right at the hotel. The trouble is it was more of a suggestion - tours never go unless the count is right and it never is. You are invited to sell the tours to the fellow guests.
The New Years party was very well done. The restaurant is good - order a BBQ at your own villa for a special treat.
This is a own/time share village, the rental pool is just starting up and activities are to support this. The activities are not up to scratch yet. The rest of the place is beautiful though.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Photohound55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth UK
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I never dreamed a place like this could exist. Our own tropical paradise! This place is an amalgam of all the brochure pictures I've seen and then some. No nasty surprises out of shot; everywhere you look is sheer beauty. The natural attributes of the location have been interwoven with cleverly and sympathetically designed villas and central restaurant. I couldn't wipe the smile off my face, my wife felt the same, and importantly so did our 3-year-old. She simply delighted in everything she saw, and this is one fussy infant! We just HAD to stay an extra night, and were delighted when they told us we could.
The Village is desert-island romance with top hotel comforts, and realistically just about 30 minutes from Phuket town by private launch and taxi. The staff were faultless. Even the other guests were open and friendly - an indication perhaps of the effect the place has on people.
Finally, the sense of seclusion you have in your private villa is incredible. No nasty fences or screens, just really well planted shrubbery which afforded the privacy which we Brits sadly tend to crave.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guitarrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket hotels
17.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
879 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
13.1 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
10.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort

Property: The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Address: 51/7 Moo 6, T.Kohkaew | A. Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 852 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort.44 beautiful pool villas with sea views116 luxury Jacuzzi suites500 metres of untouched island beachfronta complete collection of watercraftfun and exciting adventure activitiesrelaxed waterfront settingrestaurants, bars and shops onsite.On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay.All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing