We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 853 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Still stunning”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's not often I write a single review, let alone 2 for the same place! In the case of The Village though, it is worth it. It's been 3 years since I was last here and I knew that there had been quite a lot of changes to the resort in the meantime, so I was a bit concerned that some of the ambience might have been lost. How wrong I was. The resort is actually better than before with the addition of more restaurants, a great new spa area and the water slides were also a lot of fun! The staff and management were all very approachable and friendly, and the villas as lovely as ever. It was another fabulous holiday and I wholeheartedly recommend this location for a peaceful and relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpethUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Speth UK,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Village again.

It is great to see our guests returning to visit and even better when they enjoy it more than the first visit.
I am thrilled that you appreciated the additions to the resort and especially thrilled that you found the staff and management to be approachable and friendly.

It was great to see you back here again, we all look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Tropical Regards

Mark Ashman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    366
    194
    77
    63
See reviews for
469
637
40
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Sudden cut of power and water supply every few hours seems to be acceptable to the staffs. I will never recommend anyone to stay here. I also found quality of their house keeping service unacceptable as it took them 1 whole day to response to by request of a refill of box tissue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrandMrsCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear MrandMrsCheung,
Thank You for your review.
I am sorry to read that you found the electric cut outs were not acceptable. As has been documented here on Trip Advisor in great detail, we aim to provide a faultless supply of electricity 24 hours a day through our generators. Occasionally there is a problem and supply can be affected. This is never intentional and I can assure you that we do our best to ensure that this is kept to a minimum.
As mentioned before, it has been well documented here on Trip Advisor, so I am slightly surprised that you were so surprised????

Thanks once again.

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at The Village for 11 nights in April celebrating our honeymoon. It was exactly what we wanted- a blissfull beach retreat on a deserted island, but close enough to all amenities such as restaurants, nightlife and shops that we had a full range of options each day.
This is my third time to Thailand, and The Village is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. We initially booked a one room jacuzzi suite, which was lovely, but having seen the photos nline we upgraded the next day for a two bed pool villa. This was a beautiful apartment with separate kitchen, living room with flatscreen TV, sky and DVD and two bedrooms and two bathrooms. There was a wonderful bath, with a great shower in a wet room style with his and hers sinks, big enough for a large family and totally luxurious for two! It wasnt cheap to upgrade, and one complaint would be that we certainly didnt get any 'special treatment' for it being our honeymoon. Fortunately we had the most faulous wedding weekend at home, but this would have been a lovely addition.
We were lucky enough to meet one of the manager, Bernie, during our last week. He is lovely, and has lived in Thailand for long enough to give some fabulous tips on restaurants and activities outside of the hotel, including a map with full details for the taxi driver.
A taxi to Patong is around 600baht (make sure you negotiate this down!!) each way, and well worth it even if you dont want the nightlife, it is definitely eye opening! We also did the Phi Phi Isand and James Bond Island tours, which were both touristy but gret fun and amazing scenery.
There is an island opposite Coconut Island only a 15 minute boat trip away, which is totally private with two beach hut bars, white sand and amazing cocktails and food. You must give this a try! It is another haven and completely unspoilt.
The food and drinks at the hotel were amazing, fabulous breakfast with everything you could want and the starters at dinner are so delicious it is hard not to over eat before the main! I would comment that the room service food isnt as lovely, but it is easy enough and incentive enough to get to the restaurant and eat the fabulous food there!
Alcohol at the shop is expensive, but this is the case everywhere in thailand so do not be put off!! Make the most of duty free en route. Wine is expensive everywhere, but cocktails are amazing and around £6 each or £3 each at the beach bar happy hour.
There are problems as reported with the generators being switched off for an hour but this is at either 12pm or 4pm, when most guests are out of the room in the sun or doing activites, certainly not something to downgrade this hotel on. It is part of the fun of being on a remote island!

Room Tip: Go for a two bed villa and two bed sea view villa if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sophie D,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review here on Trip Advisor.
We were all thrilled that you enjoyed your honeymoon so much. I am a little sorry that we did not realise it was your honeymoon, had we known, we would have offered our special honeymoon package.
Bernie will be pleased that he was able to help you out with his local knowledge, it's delightful to share and help others.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade to a 2 bedroom pool villa, I would agree, I think they are great.
Thanks for you run down on things to do locally, that always helps future travelers.

We would all like to congratulate you on your special wedding and hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you to The Village again in the future.

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I am typing this in the dark,using my own 3G network, boiling in the heat as the air con is out, venting out my fustration.

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights, it was meant for a friend's wedding.

Throughout this stay, we had continuous bouts of power cuts that has reached an unacceptable and unendurable 3 times a day ,for a duration of an hour at least. Water supply, internet connection, telephonic connection are gone during this period. The wedding had it's power cut just briefly. Fortunately we were all drunk and found it amusing.

It falls short of a 5 star resort.

Wendy and Dan

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wen2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear wen2be,

Thank You for your review here on Trip Advisor.
It would seem that you wrote your review in the heat of the moment (excuse the pun).
I would like to apologise for the fact that we were unable to supply you with faultless electricity. We try to ensure that our guests stay are as problem free as possible.
As I have documented in the past, we do occasionally have electric problems, we are on an island that has no connection to the main land. We must be 100% self sufficient. We endeavor to ensure that there is a constant and regular supply of electricity. We do manage that most of the time. I am sorry that you found it intolerable. Most guests understand and accept that if we are experiencing problems, it is part of the escapism of being on a deserted tropical island rather than a busy beach town (that still have frequent electric problems as well).

I have noted your points and would like to assure you that it does not happen all the time.
We all sincerely hope that you did enjoy the special wedding.

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We are regulars to Thailand and heard about the Village Coconut Island resort from other guests at our previous hotel (Novotel) who said they had spent a week there before moving to Patong. This trip we decided to give it a try and had a really great time. The weather was perfect, the sea was really calm and blue, and our experience certainly lived up to the Island Dream.

We booked a Deluxe Room, but on arrival, the managers offered us an upgrade to the Jacuzzi Suite after we told them that we had been convinced to go here by another couple we met in Patong, who had given the Island such a great review. They were very appreciative of the feedback, and told us that although they are still quite new, they always seek feedback from guests, and do everything they can to ensure guests have an incredible experience at the Coconut Island.

If you run in to any issues there, speak to either Oliver or Tom - the resident managers, who are both from the UK and extremely helpful. It is nice to have a holiday in Thailand where the senior staff speak English perfectly, so there need not be any communication issues.

The following are my comments and suggestions:

Positives:

Stunning island location that is really conveniently located close to the mainland - around six to eight days is about the amount of time that is good for this resort.

Regular water taxi services which the resort provides free of charge.

The atmosphere is wonderful and relaxed - nice change from the hectic Patong atmosphere.

The rooms were excellent, well designed and fresh. If you are looking for lavish 5 star (eg a Mandarin Oriental or Versace hotel) it may not be for you, but somewhere between 4 and 5 stars for sure. No complaints.

The restaurant Tamarind (Thai Restaurant) was delicious and it was very affordable. Recommend the Phad Thai.

The other Western Restaurant (can't recall the name) was great as well. Recommend the "Capricciosa Pizza".

Swimming pool and beach facilities were all great.

Definitely indulge and have a few Spa treatments. They are quite pricey (island prices) but relaxing and worth the cost.



Negatives:

The gym was really nice and clean, but my partner would have preferred more weight lifting stations. For me though, it made no difference.

Was too hot to play tennis, but courts were available if you wanted to play.

One of the meals came out a bit cold. However, once we notified the waiter, they were extremely apologetic, replaced it, and even offered us a round of desserts on the house.

Some guests complained of noise by the generators. We didn't hear anything from the Jacuzzi Suite, but the resort is apparently moving all of this equipment to a new location on the other side of the island sometime in May so this will no longer be a problem for those guests who were close to it.

Conclusion:

A real paradise, and a nice break from mainstream Phuket. I wouldn't call it 'absolute luxury' - but at times, it is not far off it. The atmosphere and staff make it a truly great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bubajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear bubajane,

Thank you for reviewing The Village Coconut Island.
We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. It seems that you really appreciated and understood the island escapism feel about the place.
Tom and Oliver will be thrilled that they helped to ensure that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Thanks for all your feedback, all duly noted.

We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you to The Village once again in the future.

Tropical regards
Mark Ashman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visited the Village last weekend and had a thoroughly wonderful stay. The resort is a slice of paradise, with everything you need to relax and unwind in breathtaking surroundings. The regular and efficient water taxi service also provides easy access to the hustle and bustle of Phuket (although there's really no reason to leave the island!).

We stayed in a luxury villa with friends, which was fantastic. The rooms were stunning and we were overlooking the sea with a spacious balcony. The kitchen facilities provided in the villa are excellent but we preferred making use of the resort’s two top quality restaurants. Whilst we usually try to stick to local food whilst on holiday (which Tamarind restaurant offers plenty of), we’re heard good things about the pizza at Deli so were keen to sample it. We were not let down - absolutely delicious!

Breakfast was also certainly worth getting out of the four-poster bed for – an impressive selection of hot dishes, fresh fruits, yoghurts, bread and pastries. Our favourites were the eggs custom made freshly in front of you (I’m missing my morning omelette), as well as the pancakes with maple syrup.

The resort's mini mart is really handy for picking up essential items and we found the prices to be very reasonable. Across the resort the staff are helpful and attentive, going out of their way to ensure you are enjoying your stay.

Overall, an unforgettable weekend and we’ll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani_Wright13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Dani_Wright13,

Thank You for your wonderful review of The Village Coconut Island.

We are all thrilled that you enjoyed our resort so much.

It sounds like you tested the delicious food in our restaurants thoroughly, I am pleased that the pizza lived up to it's reputation!. The breakfast team will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed the omelets so much, they are a real treat!.

We really are pleased that you and your friends enjoyed the villa so much, it really is very special. Since you live so close, it would be great to see you all here again.
Until then,

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The idea of staying in your own chalet bungalow with outside pool, located on a picture paradise island must bring visions of splendour. Initially it does, arriving at the pier, to the longboat trip over to the island is a great start to your vacation. You disembark at the pier and then aimlessly make your way to reception (No one escorts you there). If your lucky you are welcomed by one of the english speaking receptionist, we waited patiently for about 45mins before finally being transported to our Bungalow. 1st impression was how many of these bungalows that have managed to cram into the area, once in and able to look around, you soon see that the quality of finish is poor, the breakfast bar stools were chipped, no inventory list of the kitchen was available, so no need to worry about the missing glasses, plates etc. The bungalow we had supposedly was big enough for 4 adults, the settee however could not have accommodated them. The doors fitted there frames like a stick in a bucket. The showers were not tiled but finished in a grey polished (Poorly) plastered finish. The patio doors to the outside pool had no handles on the outside, you had to push your hand against the glass and attempt to slide the patio door back. The air-con struggled to cope with the outside temp, thats if you hadn't already endured one of the many power cuts - This resort is fed by diesel generators (Which be heard and seen by the plume of black smoke) which need regular servicing (Every day). Why they can't start the standby generator up 1st so that a power-cut wouldn't be necessary is anyones guess. If that wasn't enough to annoy you, the water supply could fail at any given moment - unfortunately this happened often. On the positive side, the housemaid service was excellent as is the food in the two restaurants - very pricy compared to the restaurant located closely to the pier on the mainland (Take the trip over - you'll save a fortune). On the whole the staff are very courteous polite people. Please be assured this falls well short of 5 star, stating that it's 5 star status is for the area it is located within is a very poor excuse, stay at the Marriott's Phuket Beach Club if you truly want 5 star. If you need transport to the village from the airport or need a trip arranging we met a very helpful driver called Terry who is available to should you need him.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Firemansimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Firemansimon,

Thank You for taking the time to review The Village Coconut Island here on Trip Advisor.
From reading your review, I feel that you may actually have enjoyed your stay here on the island, particularly the location, the service and the food. Although you mention it being expensive.
So, on the whole, I am pleased that you did enjoy those elements.
You make some other points that I will attempt to respond for you.
First of all, it is our intention that we meet all of out guests, firstly at Laem Hin (Phuket pier), then at the pier at The Village, then we aim to escort all our guests to the reception/ lobby area. It seems we did not in your case, for which I apologise.
You mentioned that the food was expensive compared to the local restaurant on Phuket. In comparison, it probably is cheaper at the local sea food restaurant, but then if I provided broken plastic chairs and cutlery that folded as soon as you tried to use it, you would claim that it wasn't 5 Star.
I am saddened to read that you believed that the "Bungalows" were "crammed" in together. They are actually 2 bedroom pool villas. Each with it's own private pool decking (20m2) and of course it's own 20m2 pool. We always believed that they were quiet generously spread out, particularly if you compare them to a standard high rise hotel with 20 floors of rooms? Of course, we do also have what we call Grand Pool Villas in our inventory. These are bigger villas, bigger pools and bigger gardens, so maybe you could look at that category if you are looking for extra space around your villa, deck and pool.
The finish in the shower areas is actually what is known as 'Colour rendering". It is designed to be finished in a "distressed" style. That was the objective of the designer, it would seem that it worked. Unfortunately, if you prefer the clean finish of a one color, one texture paint, then it may look odd. Of course, very subjective.

The rest of your comments regarding electric have been well documented in the past.

Thanks once agin for your review.

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket hotels
17.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
10.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,326 reviews
12.5 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort

Property: The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Address: 51/7 Moo 6, T.Kohkaew | A. Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 853 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort.44 beautiful pool villas with sea views116 luxury Jacuzzi suites500 metres of untouched island beachfronta complete collection of watercraftfun and exciting adventure activitiesrelaxed waterfront settingrestaurants, bars and shops onsite.On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay.All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing