We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Tom we trust”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 886 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Due to illness we could not come to the island on time. Very sad we e-mailed Tom about our problem, and without hesitations he helped us so that we could come a couple of days later. When we arrived we discovered that he had upgraded us from a one bedroom villa to a huge three bedroom grand villa. It was absolutely fantastic!! We had two amazing days at the resort. The villa was stylish and sleek with all ameneties you need. (And more, like four bathrooms and two balconies.) Outside we had a quite big pool, two sunbeds and furniture to seat four persons. The seaview was lovely! No need to say we didnt leave the room. Good roomservice and very good breakfast. The location of the breakfast , at the beach, is amazing. All in all a fantastic stay!
Thank you Tom!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian and Bjo... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Lillian and Bjo... G,

Thank you for your review.
Tom will be over the moon that he managed to accommodate you so well.
We are all so pleased that our flexible approach ensured that you were still able to make the most of your trip.
I am not surprised that you enjoyed the villa so much, they are amazing, waking up with that sea view is one of the best ways to wake up...ever.

We are all thrilled that you had a fantastic stay.

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,667)
There are newer reviews for The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,667 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights at one of the Villa’s at Coconut Island and thoroughly enjoyed our stay on this mini-paradise resort. It’s a tranquil resort with 4/5-star luxury throughout. The resort it set within a breath-taking private island and with stunning panoramic surrounding views.

The staff were extremely welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasure. The resort itself has all the amenities you could wish for: from a private beach, spa, min-mart, numerous daily island trips & two good restaurants. The villa is exremely spacious and have a modern fit out - if you’re lucky enough to have a private infinity pool then there is little need to leave the villa itself! The resort operate a shuttle boat to the mainland every 30 minutes, it a regular service that connects to a taxi rank to take you onwards to any part of the island.

There are also a couple of excellent local restaurants on the pier which, we would recommend you try.

The only minor criticisms we can have of the resort is the attentiveness of the staff in the restaurants can leave a little to be desired, at times they are busy day dreaming or speaking to each other, rather than attending to the guests. The other challenge we had was at peak times when the boats are particularly busy you may have to wait for a 2nd boat before getting back to the island, at these busy times however the resort seem to lay on extra boats and waits are minimal.

The Village Coconut island is a the ideal spot for a relaxing break and its setting is perfect for exactly that. Won’t be forgotten for a long time, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Villa with a private pool well worth it
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bisgrovejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Bisgrovejj,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much.
I am particularly pleased that you found the staff to be welcoming and helpful. Your comments regarding the staff in our restaurants is noted. I am aware of this and it is one area we are currently developing.

It would seem that the resort was a perfect match for you. We really are pleased. I would like to thank you for your patience regarding sometimes having to wait for the 2 boat/ water taxi. During busy times, we actually have up to 5 boats operating, we do try to ensure that nobody needs to wait too long.

Thanks once again for your review, we hope to see you again in the future.

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Yes, this is a simply stricking beautifull location. A paradise. If you can get there..... When we arrived no boat to set over was in sight. More and more people waited and after an hour or so a riot could have started. The worst was to come when a large group of chinese tried to by-pass the waiting tourists. One must know that this "resort" has some great and expensive villas on the beach and a whole lot of shoe- boxes for cheap tourists in the Hinterland. What a terrible mistake to do ! Half of the guests are expecting a five-star paradise and half a cheap "all inclusive" holiday. This can't work out. The lobby is a railwaystation waiting area with some cheap tourists lying around. The staff only knows some english words and is not properly trained. For eyample : mains arrived before appetizers for 2 out of 5 of us. Maids do not speak english either and their cleaning is very poor. But the beach is wonderful and the setting great. Still : avoid !

Room Tip: If you want to sleep longer : avoid the villas on the Pier as you will be woken every morning by arr...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear roy r,

Thank You for you review.

It would seem that you have a love hate feeling for our resort.

Firstly, I would like to apologise if you were waiting at the pier on Phuket for longer than the 30 minutes between water taxi's. We endeavor to ensure that we always have enough boats on standby to ensure that nobody has to wait longer than 30 minutes. In this case it would seem that there was a rare and unusual moment when we experienced an overly busy 30 minutes. Generally we know the movement trends of our guests and can organise accordingly. We cannot however predict exactly when everyone wants to come back and forth and without an exact booking system for everyone to book their place every time, there may be the odd time when one has to wait beyond the 30 minutes. We do not want to introduce a system where everybody must book an exact time to travel back and forth, you are on holiday and do not want to be governed by such strict schedules. Besides, that, if you missed your slot, you could be waiting hours until the next free place is available. Most island resorts I know, only run a water taxi service once or twice a day and charge up to 2,000 baht per person per trip including transfers. We offer our service every 30 minutes and free of charge, which we feel is great service.

You have described our Jacuzzi Suites as shoe boxes and infer that they are cheap. I would like to inform you that our Jacuzzi Suites are actually 45 m2 internal floor space and another 20m2 outdoor private area.
A average standard hotel room would be 35m2. Therefore, we believe our Jacuzzi Suites are not any where close to being compared as shoe boxes. They are indeed smaller than a 2 bedroom villa, but then the 2 bedroom villa seems very small compared with a 5 bedroom villa. Where does one stop?

We have a variety of accommodation that should suit a variety of people's budgets and personal requirements.

We do not offer all inclusive holiday packages.

I have taken your comments regarding our staff on board, we continually strive to improve our service. We strive to maintain high levels of customer service at all times. We also have to consider our Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). This includes working alongside the local community and it's people. We endeavor to employ and support people from our local community, some do not have fluent English skills, but they do have passion and work hard to serve our guests. After all, we are on their island where their ancestors have lived for a very long time, we of course have to respect that.

I am pleased that you found the location to be beautiful, thank you.

Tropical regards
Mark Ashman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the resort. Her I phone was stolen. When we reported it to the manager when he finall arrived 2 hours later his lack of remorse disgusted me. He basically implied it was her own fault. Knowing that we were foreigners he made no attempt to provide directions to the nearest police station to report the incident.

Clearly this establishment doe not value their guests.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Yatisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Yatisha B,

Thank you for voicing your feelings here on Trip Advisor.
As we have discussed over other online forums, we were genuinely upset about your loss. My team would always take this very seriously. I know for a fact that when we investigated the situation, there were no signs of forced entry and through the electronic keycard system, we knew nobody had entered your room.
Maybe it was the suggestion of this evidence, that you mistook for a lack of remorse.
We always take these accusations very seriously and pride ourselves on the safe environment that we provide to our guests.

I am not entirely sure what you are referring too with regard to foreigners? Unless you are Thai, then you are a foreigner in Thailand, as I am. The Manager you are referring to is also a foreigner.

We are all very sorry that you left with these thoughts and emotions.

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you want, a taste of paradise, excellent service and something a bit different this is the place for you. We were met at the complimentary water taxi from the mainland by a member of staff who greeted us personally and at reception were pleased to learn that we had been upgraded to a villa with sea view and pool. The villa was very well laid out with a very comfortable bed, which was very pleasing considering the previous experience with rock hard beds in Thailand. The bathroom was very large and well appointed. There is a policy of not putting paper into the toilet but into a separate container and if you are not familiar with this practice it can be a little daunting at first but as the resort is on an island this is quite normal and widespread in other parts of the world.
The restaurant, bar and small mini market are more expensive than the mainland but considering that it is an exclusive resort and on an island the prices are reasonable especially if you make use of the "happy hour"!! Some guests did appear off the water taxi bearing what appeared to be several weeks worth of supplies but who wants to cook in these surroundings? Having paid for a luxurious holiday why scrimp on the extras?
The resort does generate it's own electricity and two or three times a day there can be a short disruption in supply while the generators are switched over. We had more than a minor disruption because of a generator malfunction and we were upgraded again, this time to a four bedroom, beachfront villa with a large private swimming pool by way of an apology and for the inconvenience. Obviously this could only be done because there was the availability but it was much appreciated and the staff were still apologising two days later as we left to return home.
Beach facilities were good with even the chance to sea kayak or sail and if you have no experience the staff will give you instruction and have you on the water in no time.
The Thai food at the Tamarind restaurant was first class and the service very good although it could at times be a little slow but you have to consider that the food is being freshly prepared and worth the wait.
We did try the seafood restaurant adjacent to the jetty on the mainland "Leahmin" which is famous in Thailand and although the food was very good (even if I wasn't sure at times what I was actually eating) the problem was with the scores of mosquitoes which attacked as soon as we sat down. If you go remember the repellant!
The taxi service at the jetty is useful and the prices are displayed however if you are going to a popular destination try to join up with other guests as the prices are pretty high but they do have a captive cliental! The driver we had to take us back to the airport would have given Sebastian Vettel a run for his money!!
All in all a great resort and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SubO351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear SubO351,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Village here on Trip Advisor.

I would seem that you had a great time and really enjoyed the facilities available.
I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the food in our restaurants. As you mention, it is all freshly made to order using only natural and fresh ingredients. That luxury is becoming more and more rare these days.

As you also mention, we did have a electric problem during your stay, I am pleased that you were sympathetic to our issue and it did not ruin your stay.

The food at the Laem Hin Seafood restaurant is indeed very famous in Phuket and Thailand. I'm glad that you tried and mostly enjoyed it. Good advice about the mosquito's.
Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see you again in the future.

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the village for four days.
We did chose this resort because we wanted to have a quiet time away from the city and the crowded places with tourists everywhere.
We are very glad on our choice.
The resort in general is very nice and quiet!
Eaven fully booked we still had privacy and calm.
We did enjoy a lot the small private beach and swimming pools.
Staff were very friendly and always helpful.
waiters at restaurants were indeed very slow but no big surprises. we were on vacation so no rush for us!
just one negative point the deli restaurant was really not good specially compared to the Tamarind with local and very tasty and good food. when you have a restaurant serving risotto and pasta to europeans try to make it right. no excuses since we did saw a foreign chef working in the kitchen.

In conclusion, Tom you did had a very happy French couple !
And i do hope that more will follow!
It was very nice to meet you and we would be very happy to be back for an other few days getaway at the resort!

Cheers

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yufei m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Yufei m,

Thank you so much for your Great review.
We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much.
I am pleased that you were looking for somewhere quiet and peaceful and even more pleased that you found it here at The Village.

I have noted your comments regarding the food in the deli and the speed of the service. Both of which have received my full and immediate attention.
Tom was indeed pleased that he met the happy french couple, we all hope to see you again.

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My group of 6 booked this trip 3 months in advance and were really looking forward to a restful vacation in what was promised to be a "stunning villa" on a "world class beach" within a resort with "fantastic dining options".

Aside from the fact that the villa was spacious, and had all the mod-cons you could want, the resort seriously needs to relook the amount of misrepresentations it has published on its website.

First off, electricity - several other reviewers have commented about the power generators going off and being left with no electricity for stretches. We encountered this daily on our 3-day trip, and for the most part, it was little more than 5 minute stretches and hardly affected us. On the day of our departure, however, the electricity went out for a good hour. Unfortunately for us, the electricity went out mid afternoon, during the last hour we had in the villa. We had arranged for a buggy to get us at 1.45pm, with the aim of checking out, and catching the 2.15pm shuttle boat back to the mainland. By 1.55pm, after having spent the last hour sitting in the sweltering heat because the air conditioner was off thanks to the electricty outtage, worrying about missing the 2.15pm boat, and not having any means to reach the reception to ask about our buggy because the phone was off (also thanks to the electricity outtage), we were left with no choice but to lug our luggages ourselves the long distance (we had one of the villas furthest from reception) in aforesaid sweltering heat.

When we asked the reception about the missing buggy, all they could say was that they had arranged for it to get us at 2pm. Notwithstanding the fact that this was contrary to what we had previously requested, there had been no sign of any buggy making its way to our villa during our 8 minute walk with our luggages!

I understand that the resort operates on an island, and is dependent on its generators for electricity, but SURELY, after all the mishaps with the generators that it's had, some solution should be looked at to circumvent this? I've stayed on a number of resorts which were located on islands and I've never encounted such a problem!

Second, the Thai food served by the resort was by far the WORST food I've had in Thailand in the more than 10 years that I've been travelling to Thailand. We had lunch at Tamarind (the restaurant serving local food) one day, and ordered room service dinner from Tamarind for dinner on another day. Everything we had was nothing short of disappointing - the yam woon sen was plain tasteless, the paad thai was overloaded with food colouring and ridiculously short on flavour, the paad see eew was also tasteless, the stir fried basil chicken/pork was swimming in sodium (and tasted of little else). Sure, I completely understand toning down the spice to cater to tourists who are unaccustomed to spicy Thai food, but seriously, removing all manner of taste and masking it with generous amounts of salt is really pushing it. I have no idea how ANYONE could have given a positive review for the food at Tamarind. The Thai food it professes to serve is an absolute disgrace.

To top it all off, service at Tamarind is atrocious. There was only 1 waitress during our lunch that understood sufficient English to even take our orders; the ones who didn't understand English simply walked around the restaurant looking disgruntled everytime anyone tried to speak to them. Mind you, we understood the language barrier and we tried to simplify our words, repeated ourselves, used hand gestures, and were never rude, but a majority of the wait staff there were black-faced and obviously unwilling to serve anyone. Even a request for a baby chair was met with a frown and a turned back (the baby chair never appeared). We had to make our dessert orders THREE times (twice to the same person), and mango sticky rice (all components of which are pre-prepared) took a whopping 40 minutes to get to us.

Third, the staff really needs to be trained on how NOT to intrude on the guests at the villas. Because the pool area to most of the villas are largely accessible from outside the villa (i.e. they are pretty much just a short walk past shrubbery lining the villa), the service staff seemed to think that meant they could dispense with ringing the doorbell altogether! We had ordered a BBQ for the villa, and had been in the living area inside chatting, when someone noticed that the pit had been set up and a fire started all without us knowing (the lights outside had been off the entire time). When the food was delivered, the same thing happened - we got a shock to suddenly find 3 staff members gathered around the pit and the table outside talking amongst themselves. In the afternoons, a pool cleaner simply walks right up to your pool and "sweeps" across it with barely a look at you. The day after the BBQ, when we were in the pool, again, 3 service staff suddenly appeared, completely ignored us, and whisked the BBQ pit from the night before away. What is the point of a PRIVATE villa, when the service staff obviously do not recognise or respect that?

It is irrelevant that it is more convenient to access the pool or pit area without having to ring the doorbell and enter through the main villa - we are guests, we are entitled to our privacy, and if you should need to intrude (albeit at our request), have the decency to give us some warning or at least make a show of asking for permission to do so! These intrusions and the manner in which they occurred were just downright appalling and completely unbecoming of a 5 star resort.

Please, stay elsewhere on Phuket if you can. I can name a handful off the top of my head which are in the same price range but are from experience, REAL 5-star resorts. The Village Coconut Island is a complete rip off and we wholly regret having chosen it in the first place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solstice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Solstice7,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Village Coconut Island.

Reading your review, it is very clear that we have not delivered a first class experience to you and your group.
For that I must apologise.

You have clearly mentioned that you were aware that there are occasional electricity problems here on Coconut Island. This is and has been explained many times here on Trip Advisor due to the running and maintenance of generators 24 hours a day. With the best intentions, best maintenance and care, problems can still occur. We endeavor to manage them as best we can, but these generators have 350,000 moving parts. Occasionally the unexpected can happen. the scheduled 5 minute breaks are part of our standard operating policy.

With regard to your transfer, it was unfortunate that this happened during a power outage. As our phone system requires electricity, when the power is out, the phones will not work either. This was clearly an uncomfortable situation for you, for which we apologise.

I am regretful that you have such a low opinion of the food served in our Tamarind restaurant. We are normally complimented on the quality of the food, even if the service is sometimes slow.

I can say though that we probably serve 10-15 Pad Thais a day and we are always complimented on the taste and quality. I can also say that we do not use any food colouring at all (we simply do not have any in stock, ever) and we only use fresh ingredients cooked by thai chefs. We also do not use any sodium in our food, so maybe you are mis-led??

Your reference to "Black faced" staff is not understood.

It would seem that you did not appreciate the staff coming to your villa to set up your in villa BBQ. I fully accept that they should knock on the door and notify you of their presence, but they are instructed NOT to walk through the villa with BBQ's, trays of food, tables etc in order to prepare your BBQ for you.
They are instructed to walk around the outside, set up your delicious BBQ and food for you with the minimum interruption to you. Other than knocking on the door, I can't quite understand how we can set up a BBQ buffet for you in your garden, cleaning your pool without going into (and working in) your garden??

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay and we are saddened that you felt "ripped Off", that is never our intention.

Tropical Regards
MArk Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket hotels
17.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.6 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#57 of 384 in Kathu
766 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
10.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,905 reviews
9.9 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort

Address: 51/7 Moo 6, T.Kohkaew | A. Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 886 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Price Range: $92 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort.44 beautiful pool villas with sea views116 luxury Jacuzzi suites500 metres of untouched island beachfronta complete collection of watercraftfun and exciting adventure activitiesrelaxed waterfront settingrestaurants, bars and shops onsite.On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay.All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Hotwire so you can book your The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing