We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 884 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Oh what could have been.... The rooms themselves are lovely although we had an issue with a rancid smell coming from the drains which housekeeping resolved by simply spray air freshner when we report it. The jacuzzi pool is great although a little cold and we couldn't get the temp increased. The island and setting is gorgeous but you pay for it, everything on the island is sooo expensive compared to the phuket itself but going somewhere else will cost 800thb return taxi so you end up having to pay it. I understand that they can change a premium but up to 3 times more is a little much. The staff are either wonderful like Bernie who helped us out and had great knowledge and information to the rest of the staff who just seemed rude and disinterested.... It was an awesome idea but I won't be going back...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claireb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Claireb82,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Village.

I was terribly saddened to read that you were so disappointed with our resort. We really do try to give everyone the best experience.

I am however pleased that bernie was helpful and was able to provide you with information and service that you required. Bernie will be pleased. It is a shame that you felt the rest of the staff were rude and uninterested... all of them? If that is the case, then I can only apologise. We all try so hard to achieve the opposite.

I am intrigued that you thought you were paying up to 3 times as much for products or services at the resort. I really can't imagine what you could be referring to. Nothing to my knowledge has been marked up 300% to that of a product sold in a similar resort on Phuket.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your private jacuzzi, even if it was a little cold. It is unusual to hear that comment as sometimes people mention that they are too warm. I can only imagine that the heavy rain that we have been experiencing during the evenings/ night time may have brought the temperature down. Unfortunately, the jacuzzi's are not fitted with heaters, so when that does happen, we have to rely on the sun to warm them up.

Once again, i am saddened that you were disappointed and can only hope that you enjoy your next holiday.

Tropical regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,665)
There are newer reviews for The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Such a welcoming stay at 'The Village' the staff were super friendly, efficient and helpful. Always on hand with a welcoming Smile. The spa suite was perfect and all you could ask for and more as a single. Plenty of privacy, welcoming cooled room after a day relaxing in the tropical heat. Fantastic breakfast with a varied choice to cater for all, bacon, salmon, omelettes, eggs cooked to your request, fruits, cheeses, pancakes (my favourite) the list could go on.....With the village boat operating every 30mins from the pier by the front bar, if you wanted to escape to the main land or other islands it is very convenient. But if like me you just want to rest, unwind and relax I was more than happy to stay grounded under the palms on coconut island and listen to the waves lapping on the beach or the overspill from the infinity pools. Although I never used the spa facilities, what I heard and saw makes me now wish I had made good use, well run by Angel. Don't miss out on an early visit to Cocomart (the little shop not far from reception and near the spa) pop a bottle of wine in your fridge for an early sun downer before you indulge yourself in the evenings fine dinning. The beach front bar is a perfect spot to start your evening off. Enjoy, put your feet up and relax. I sure did and left the island reluctantly wanting more! Thank you to all the staff, particularly, Mark, Tom, Oliver, Angel, Tad, and all of the restaurant and front of house staff. A fantastic break, just not long enough!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footprints38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Miss,

(Apologies for the unusual address, Trip Advisor do not allow me to use your name despite it being your user name.)

I would like to Thank You for taking the time to review the Village here on trip Advisor.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay here so much. It really sounds like you had a fabulous time, even just relaxing!! I'm pleased that you enjoyed your Jacuzzi Suite so much, having a little dip in your private outdoor Jacuzzi is quite special.

I will pass your kind words on to our staff, they will be thrilled that they helped ensure that you enjoyed your stay.

We all hope that we can see you again at The Village some time in the future.

Tropical regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Greetings,
We had the exceptional pleasure of enjoying some wonderful days in the village coconut island embraced by the warm hospitality of the resort .Thank you very much for the welcome and the service .
we were very pleased by the charming atmosphere, the hearty starting breakfast in the morning
Memories are the true treasure in a world of hustle and bustle - for that the resort was our treasure island

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enasalmajed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear enasalmajed,

Thank You for taking the time to review The Village.
It sounds like you had a great time hear on your own treasure island. We are all so pleased that we were able to ensure that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We are always thrilled when we do a great job and make someones holiday a dream.

We hope that we get the chance to take care of you again in the future. Until then... thank you.

Tropical regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family stayed here for 5 nights. Two of my son really love the water slider. They spend most of time in one day in the pool. My husband also had enjoy sailing and kayaking since it is free of charge. All facilities are very good , esp. kitchen. I bought the fresh sea foods from nearby fisherman boats , we can steam sea prawn and swimming crab while they are alive!!! Pizza , coffee and bakery is also nice. We have splendid time here. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MantaOrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear MantaOrca,

Thank You for taking the time to review The Village.

We were all thrilled to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. The water slides really are a big hit, as well as the sailing and kayaking. We are very proud to provide these special activities free of charge.

I'm pleased that you appreciated our food and service so much.

Thanks for writing such kind words, we look forward to seeing you again.

Tropical regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a short stay but it was great. The kids enjoy it very much, especially the pool slides and the great food...We had a good hobby cat experience in the bay with a fantastic scenery on the surrounding islands.
Friendly staff and great services overall.
Thumbs up to the hotel SPA with sun treatments to enhance our tan to keep the golden look back home. Thanks Angelique.
The only regrets is that we stayed only a couple of days haha..
Hope to come back soon
DG. Martin

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear David M,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Village Coconut Island.
We are all thrilled that your enjoyed your short stay with us.

I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed the Hobbie Cat sailing and the Spa. It's great to take advantage of all those activities. Angelique will be very pleased that she was able to help you relax!!

Thanks once agin and we all hope to see you again in the future.

Tropical regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here a week with our 5 year old in a 2 bed villa with its own private plunge pool. It is a lovely place to relax and unwind. The restaurants serve excellent food but it is more expensive than what you can get when you have the variety of choice you do in somewhere such as Kata and dont have to pay the additional 17% service/goverment tax. That said it is still cheaper than eating out in most Uk pubs.

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. You are a little bit stuck with taxi prices when you leave the island as there is one firm at the jetty. They will negotiate slightly on price but they have a monopoly for the business. This is not uncommon across Phuket if your hotel is not in a main town. My suggestion is find one driver you like and negotiate with them if you need to use them for different trips.

The villa was gorgeous with lots of space, and the 2 pools and waterslides kept our 5 year old entertained. The beach is not as nice as kata but if you are not bothered about being in the sea and just want total relaxation then this destination is ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear mimrobb,
Thank you for reviewing our resort here on Trip Advisor.

We are all thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The water slides are a big hit with the children, it certainly helps to keep them entertained.
It's good to hear that you enjoyed your villa and private pool and appreciated the staff, they do try very hard to please.

The taxi situation is not ideal, but as you mention, it is normal for the whole of Phuket. Associations form in each area and they have total control over that particular area. Saying that, Phuket officials have recently enforced a new system that is meant to govern the rates that drivers are allowed to charge. We hope that they follow this system moving forward.

Thanks once agin for your review.

Tropical Regards

Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed with my two teenagers at The Village for 7 nights. The facilities were very clean and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. We stayed in a very nice, comforting 3 bedroom villa with our own pool overlooking the beach. The food was delicious and the ferry/boat service is excellent as you never have to wait very long to get across. It was a great stay and it is only 40 minute taxi ride into Patong, we were quite happy spending our time at the island for the whole day just relaxing without the sound of traffic.the beauty of this place is you can have a rsort holiday without being far away from all the tourist stuff without the open sewer smell of the mainland but you can still have loads of fun not very far away. It has one of the best seafood resuarants on Thialand right on its door step.. Value for money is excellent to the point I bought a membership to the resort which is unbeleivable. (talk to Chris Woods about that you will be amazed). I will be going back with or without kids it is one of the most amazing spots you will ever find.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear wayne F,
Thank You for taking the time to review The Village.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time here. You have highlighted many of the benefits of an Island resort, which is fantastic, thanks.
We are obviously even more pleased that you have joined our Vacation Club, meaning that you can come back every year without any stress.

We are all looking forward to seeing you again, until then, safe travels.

Tropical regards

Mark Ashman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket hotels
17.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.6 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#58 of 384 in Kathu
766 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,899 reviews
9.9 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,030 reviews
17.9 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort

Address: 51/7 Moo 6, T.Kohkaew | A. Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 884 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Price Range: $90 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort.44 beautiful pool villas with sea views116 luxury Jacuzzi suites500 metres of untouched island beachfronta complete collection of watercraftfun and exciting adventure activitiesrelaxed waterfront settingrestaurants, bars and shops onsite.On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay.All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing