We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 886 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here through a Living social voucher and was pleasantly surprised that we were treated very well ( as this isn't always the case when using discount vouchers ! ) The food in the main restaurant was the best I've had anywhere in Thailand and is a credit to the staff who are also excellent and super friendly. The resort itself is top notch and is definitely perfect for a relaxing holiday .Patong is only a 30min drive away if you want to have a few more lively nights and the hotel shuttle boat runs all night which means you can return whatever time you want. The restaurant on the pier is also worth a visit , the food there was also excellent and really cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,667)
There are newer reviews for The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 1,667 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed in the two bedroom villa for almost 2 weeks. The villa was really good. Some problems with electricity and wi-fi but not for the long time period.

Pretty hard to get to the Phuket Island, first 1 km with elecric car, then few minutes for a small boat. The car and boat travel only two times in a hour. You need a car or taxi to go any where in the Phuket Island. Nothing to do in Coconut Island (Koh Maphrau).

The resort is nice. Pretty and nice pools. The beach is not that good. The water is not that clear than in the other islands in Thailand. Still, there is yoga classes etc. and a day care for the children. Restaurants are ok. Spa is expencive e.g. 30 min Thai massage 1000 THB (25 EUR). Breakfast is good.

The staff doens't speak good English. Still there are also Canadian, Englihs, Australian staff as well.

Room Tip: Book a villa!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnimariaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked a 16 night stay through living social for our family of two adults and 5 kids. When we arrived we were surprised to be upgraded to a beach front four bedroom "mansion". The kids (aged 12 to 17) were so excited. we had a private pool and uninterupted beach front view. During our 16 day stay we found the staff to be friendly, helpful and attentive. Many staff got to know our kids names and always said good morning to them and made them feel special. The kids wanted a few photos with their "favourites" at the end of the holiday and emails were swapped.

The water slides at the resort were a real hit with the kids (and us adults!) the food was fantastic, the kids loved the home made pizza (after several days of Thai they were craving a bit of Western Food). The Smoras board dinner nights were great, as was the happy hour drinks! the kids loved the mocktails! And breakfast had everything you could possible want.

The Village is a great place to relax. After crazy days at Patong (20 minutes taxi ride) all of us felt a wave of relaxation hit us when we stepped back on the pier on our way back to the resort! If you like to be close to the action this motel is not for you. If you like to explore the action and then come back to "relaxtion" this place is for you! There is a taxi rank at the pier and you can hire a taxi for 1600 baht, and he will take you around Phuket all day. Be careful not to get side wayed though as the taxi drivers get "commision" for taking you into certain shops and venues. We learnt this with two taxi drivers who kept wanting to take us to places we had not asked for. The third taxi driver we used was honest and explained the commision system and so we stuck with him for the rest of the holiday. (and let him take us to a few commision places so that he could earn a little extra cash). The taxi drivers give you their card and you can ring and tell them a time to pick you up and how long you want them and they are always there waiting for you. Great service and great people.

The only disappointing thing about The Village Coconut Island was the beach. You could not swim at the beach. The beach looked fantastic in photos, but it wasn't clear water and the the deeper you went the muddier it become. You could take a 5-10 minutes ride across the water to Rang Yai Island, but this cost money for the day. WE did this one one day and had a great time, however it would become quite expensive to go across all the time for a swim. The water at Rang Yai was crystal clear. We thought the beach at The Village was the same, so this was a little disappointing for us.

Another problem we had was we all got "Thailand Tummy" and were very sick. Please make sure you use bottled water for everything! Our illness was no fault of the Village Resorts, just unfortunate travel luck!

Overall I would recommend this resort to anyone who enjoys great friendly service away from the hustle and bustle of the city. we felt like it was a little oasis to come back to every night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zena02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Village Coconut island is nice but not all what it boasts to be. Be exceptionally aware of any deals going through Living social etc. Discount bookings. We originally had a booking for 4 adults but decided to an extra adult a week or so later. The arrangement was approved by the people we considered as being in charge of the reservation. We did find it strange that adding one extra person actually cost more than an individual in our original booking but decided to share the cost evenly and we were told to pay the extra person IN FULL at this point for which we gave authorisation for.

After original booking we had to move dates to earlier by one day because of flights available at the time. At this time(at least 3 months prior to our holiday) we found that the booking did not include the fifth person according to the hotel staff! Well finally we got all this fixed (AGAIN) and were eagerly waiting for our holiday.

When we arrived at the hotel (late at night)we were surprised to find that they STILL did not know about the fifth person! Luckily we had a print out with us about the fact and were finally escorted to our villa.

Unfortunately we found the Garden Villa completely unsuitable for 5 adults. The main bedroom is big –taking half of the house but having a bathroom AND A TOILET without a door. The other 3 people we supposed to fit into a tiny room that only accommodates the 3 beds. Even the living area did not fit all of us. On top of this when we went for a swim in out tiny pool some hotel workers were laughing at us as walking by!?!? On two different occations !! The water pressure was not existent and hot water was a dream.

After raising a complaint about all this the management finally appointed us with a better villa which we were happy with and that had proper water pressure and even hot water 
However to our surprise at the end of out stay we were asked to pay extra for the fifth person ! Well this issue seems to be the responsibility of the reservation agent but we were shown an email communication between the reservation agent and the hotel staff saying that we have not paid in full for the fifth person. I find it were surprising that were were not informed of this earlier! We could have sorted it out before the enf of our stay and not have to pay extra again!!!

In general without all these reservation problems the place is nice enough but not 5 star seriously. The food is ok but not sensational.The standard of the food seems to depend of the staff in charge. Lots of the shortage seems to fall in poor communication skills of the staff.
You find constantly that you are told one this and then the other. Some staff doesn’t even attempt a smile! When trying to use our meal vouchers we were told by reception we can use them for lunch because the dinner was some special arrangement foe Valentines day. Well at the restaurant we were told we can only use them for dinner. But not that night.
After ordering lunch one day we had to move tables due to some heavy smoking of some other patrons. We did inform one of the waiting staff. The order was club sandwich and tuna salad. To our surprise 45 minutes later we were still waiting! And finally at this point someone approached us TO ASK IF WE WANT OUR BILL?? My friend appropriately requested to actually have our meal first which was then brought to us in a luke warm condition. The chef did acknowledge the delay and I believe we got out softdrinks taken of the bill which was nice.

With canoes we were told not to go to other islands but that we could go around the island in about 1 hour. Do not attempt this! It took us 2 hours at least at the verge of serious dehydration! And we are fairly fit people. When finally returning to the beach we were told by some other staff member that we are not allowed to go around the island! Haa!

The village is in a process of building more and more villas/suites and it worries me how the place will be able to accommodate the needs of even more customers that what they are currently catering for. At the current the water was of at least every other day for 1 hour. As said in the smaller villas the water pressure ridiculously bad. The local staff apart from few exceptions not up to the role they are in.

Sorry guys but if one claims to be 5 they are the subject to harsh critic.

On a positive note the faster water slide was surprisingly great, breakfast has a lot of good variety and pancakes are excellent, tuk tuks and boat tranfer noramlly quite good and quick, air-con really efficient and the dog was sweet too 

About other quest (NOT RESORT)
-Some people always reserve places at the pool for themselves OR their friends even if they are not gonna be the for good 3 hours!!!
-Some people that the boat waited for for ages took the first seats at the tuk tuks to the hotel. In result us who were first at the boat –waited the boat to fill up for 20 mins then had to wait 25 extra minutes at the opposite pier at midnight for the extra tuk tuk cos we didn’t fit in the ones waiting for us.

But hey these kind of inconsiderate fellow tourists are everywhere I suppose.

I suppose we paid for a discount holiday so it's only fair that we received discount quality. But it all comes down to what you boat to be you see...

Jenni

Room Tip: I> than 4 adults you adults =>you need more than a garden villa. Ps. the bath tub is purely de...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The perfect place to relax and enjoy the peace of a beautiful resort. Out of the way from the crowds at other areas but found some great deals when we went to town. We hired taxi for the day. Our driver took us where ever we wanted and was an interesting man . 1800 baht for the day He waited for as long as we wanted to stop at places. The short boat ride a couple of minutes to the mainland was good and there is a great seafood restaurant where you get off and taxis waiting. The workers at the resort where all lovely people. We where known as Mamaa and Papaa as we where a little older than most. We where lucky our deluxe spa villa was very close to reception ,it was kept clean and the housemaid was a lovely very polite thai lady. Our meals where excellent. A good selection for the buffet breakfast and we had a delicious buffet italian dinner which was an added bonus from the super deal we got from living social voucher. The only complaints I have is the free use of the computers where very very slow , and they have an issue with the water going off but they will give out bottled water any time. I did have one night sick they say virus bug was going around but I bought some glucose satchets from the shop which I was told about at reception and I'm sure they helped me not get a headache and get over it quickly. I had also bought with me some pills I got from the doctor in Australia just incase I got sick while on holiday which must have helped. If I ever have another chance to get back to Phuket I would certainly go to The Village Coconut Island again and I have travelled to many Countries and stayed at a lot of resorts and would rate this one as one of the best.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyh0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I purchased a 8 night package deal on living social for aus $600.00 for two people about 8 month ago, we just Left having a fantastic time at this beautiful resort.
On arrival at the pier the transport to the island was waiting and was a quick (2-5 minute) ride, then a 5 minute tuk-tuk ride to the lobby. Within 15 minutes we were checked in and at our delux spa room, the service was outstanding, great way to start a holiday.
The room was large and very well oppointed, the restaurant are first class and the prices are what you would expect in a resort. Service was extremely good with a slight language difficulty ( what you expect traveling overseas). Pool area was very nice, get in early for a bed and shade, free Internet was slow. Water and electricity cut out a few times but only for a short time, it never bothered us.
To sum up the resort is a solid 4-4.5 star, we really enjoyed the 30-40 minute trips into town or just sitting around the pool. Tips, try the seafood restaurant at the pier and the Black Crab floating restaurant, both are outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_rodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear R-rodan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. My team and I were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much, and thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that your stay went well and very much look forward to seeing you back at The Village soon!

Best wishes,
The Management, The Village Coconut Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We did not know what we were getting when we booked this trip but we have found it very nice clean the staff are very helpful when they understand you the only thing we found is the village does not have ATM and its a long way from Phuket eg 20 min taxi ride

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frightliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear frightliner,

Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us; my team and I are really glad that you enjoyed your time here and thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

Unfortunately we are only a small tropical island and as such are unable to offer an ATM service but there are plenty in Phuket Town which, as you mentioned, is only a 15-20 minute drive away.

We very much hope to see you back at The Village soon!

Best wishes,
The Management, The Village Coconut Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket hotels
17.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.6 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#57 of 384 in Kathu
766 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
10.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,904 reviews
9.9 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort

Address: 51/7 Moo 6, T.Kohkaew | A. Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 886 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Price Range: $92 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort.44 beautiful pool villas with sea views116 luxury Jacuzzi suites500 metres of untouched island beachfronta complete collection of watercraftfun and exciting adventure activitiesrelaxed waterfront settingrestaurants, bars and shops onsite.On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay.All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing