We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply incredible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 853 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply incredible”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed in the 3-bed Villa - everything was perfect; the view, the tranquility, the pool, the rooms, the service and the food. It was the perfect place to unwind and relax after visiting the islands in the Andaman Sea. The staff spoke good english and they were very welcoming and helpful. There were plenty of trips and activities we could have participated in but we saw it fit to kick back and relax.
Simply Incredible

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186361Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Dear 186361Joe,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the resort. We are really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and most grateful that you chose to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you back on the island soon!

Best wishes,

The Management, The Village Coconut Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    366
    194
    77
    63
See reviews for
469
637
40
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The beach front villa we stayed in was beautifully finished and located with almost everything we needed - anything else was available from reception or the shop.
With two restaurants and varied menus we did not suffer "menu fatigue" during our 8 day stay and found the standard of cuisine consistently good and without pretension.
The resort is beautifully located and maintained and the phases that have been completed are of high quality, although there is a pleasantly informal club like atmosphere. With all villas having their own pools of one kind or another the main pool was rarely crowded and the beach virtually empty.
The staff were very helpful and anxious to please, although language could cause misunderstandings. As the resort becomes fully complete this will be an important area to clear up.
Although building work was continuing during our stay it was not at all distracting as it was higher up and over the brow of the hill and deliveries were handled by a barge landing well down the beach - if anything the occasional arrivals and departures were a matter of additional interest.
For a "flop and drop" holiday this was a great place to go. Watersports and tennis were available for some extra activity and visits to Phuket Island were easy to arrange on the free shuttle service - although it is telling we never got around to doing so. Likewise the spa treatments and other available facilities were available and no doubt very good but proved an insufficient draw this first time around from our great view out over the bay and the comfort of our own villa. Next time perhaps.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Richard B_11,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our resort. We are very grateful that you have taken the time to review The Village and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much hope to see you at The Village again soon!

Best wishes,

The Management, The Village Coconut Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We had our own villa with 5 bedrooms. All fantastic sizes! VERY clean beautiful massive villa with a pool, garden space and private beach.

The staff were so friendly and they couldn't do enough to help you.

The food was also brilliant.

Would recommend this place over and over again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjulireeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear anjulireeves,

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your stay with us. We are really pleased that you had a good time and always welcome feedback from our guests. We hope to see you at The Village again soon!

Best wishes,

The Management, The Village Coconut Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This was our second visit to The Village and the progress in all areas is impressive to say the least.

We agree with nearly all of the comments of previous tripadvisor guests and would like to add:

1) Taking a toddler along on a "second honeymoon" - no problems at The Village - the kids club is fantastic and all the service staff gladly offer to give you a moment of peace (if their time permits) when you are dining etc.

2) The villas remain the best we've stayed at for design, space, cleanliness and have been meticulously maintained since we last visited.

3) We would not get too stressed out about the low tides comments, the time we were there was during the recent large full moon and it went way, w-a-y out!!
Brownish sand but no smell or other nasties
As you will encounter at least two salt water swimming pools and a water slide before getting to the beach at low tide the options seem obvious!!!

4) The 2 restaurants offer excellent cuisine ranging from gourmet pizzas to western and Thai food.
Breakfast is innovative and the menu changes daily albeit only an Aussie might get excited about a slice of meat pie for breakfast - BUT it was delicious ;-)
The Thai menu is a bit light on but there is an excellent restaurant at the jetty on the mainland that is quite famous for it's Thai seafood offerings.

5) Construction at The Village is continuing but in no way interfered with our holiday - you don't have to walk through a constriction site to access any of the resorts facilities
The new low tide jetty (on the other side of the island) is being constructed - that is currently the only messy area.

Our only disappointment was the wife wanted to have a spa treatment late in the afternoon but it was fully booked for that day - the huge hydrotherapy pool in the centre of the "Spa Village" looks interesting
Book in advance would be wise.

If you are driving to Phuket, The Village offers free parking with 24 hour security ajacent to the mainland jetty - we left our car key with the guards - no problems

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedang_Farang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Sedang_Farang,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our resort. We were so pleased to read your comments and are really happy that we were able to welcome you back to The Village a second time! We are sorry that your wife was unable to take advantage of our Village Spa - it has proved very popular recently and we will be increasing our number of therapists to ensure that all our guests are able to take advantage of our spa offering.

Best wishes, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

The Management, The Village Coconut Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

My wife & I were planning for our honeymoon and we decided on Phuket, Thailand. I 'accidentally' found this lovely resort while browsing through AirAsiaGoHolidays. Its unique name piqued my curiosity - 'The Village Coconut Island"! The pictures in the website showed that the entire resort looked really lovely. We booked it.

Upon our arrival at Phuket airport we were met by the resort's representative who then put us into a city taxi (not a good start as we were expecting the resort's own transport vehicle) that brought us to the pier. We have to take a boat over to the island as the resort is a short distance away from the main island of Phuket. During the drive to the pier my wife and I were already wondering whether we made the correct decision as it was quite some distance from the main road to the pier. We were then met by the resort's staff (ah, finally someone in the uniform of the resort!). He took our luggages and helped us into the little boat (a little boat! Was expecting a nicer larger boat!). It was low tide and after a very short boat ride we arrived at a "not so nice looking' pier :-(

A front desk staff greeted us and put us on a buggy for a ride to the resort ...on some deserted looking village road..! Both us of were really worried now - what did we book?! And as we were getting closer we saw some construction going on! Now we were pretty worried! You mean the resort is still under construction!!??

Surprise! Surprise! We arrived at a very lovely resort and were greeted by more front desk staffs. Our hotel bookings were all in order and they made our check-in an absolute breeze. The staff briefed us on the amenities and facilities that they had in the resort and promptly took us to our room. It was a very nice room with a private jacuzzi! Unfortunately, the air-con was not working well and the lock on the door was also not properly installed. The front desk staff came promptly to attend to those problems. She found out that we were there for our honeymoon and did something absolutely sweet - she upgraded us to a 2 bedroom villa that has a private swimming pool!!!!

The 2 bedroom villa was fantastic! The bed faces the sea! Imagine waking up each morning to a view like that! Just fantastic! What a way to start our honeymoon!

We soon found out that the resort's proper pier was in front of the resort and it is actually serviced by a very nice catamaran. We had to take the 'little boat' and had to use the "not-so-nice" pier because it was low tide when we arrived. Also, although there were construction going on - the noise does not actually reach us as the villas and the rooms are away from the site.

The front desk staff helped us book our first night out to Phuket town - to see Fantasea! She made all our travel and show arrangements. We were promptly picked up from the pier and shuttled to the show and back. All wonderfully arranged by them!

The Village Coconut Island resort is a lovely "getaway" resort. It is absolutely lovely and quiet. And yet one can easily get to Phuket town and to the Patong beach area by taxi (a little bit costly). But do plan well as the moment you are off the resort you really do not want to come back and then go out again. Like I said, Taxi fare is quite expensive.

The architecture of the resort is lovely and my wife went crazy taking pictures all over the resort! The food at the two restaurants were quite delicious!

All the staff at the resort were very helpful and attentive. Despite their limited english they made our stay there very comfortable. Always smiling and quick to help.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the resort. Its secludedness and quietness created a wonderful sense of serenity about the place. This is not a outright "fun-fun-fun" type of place but more of a peaceful getaway place - exactly what my wife and I wanted for our honeymoon.

Although we did go island hopping and elephant trekking, my wife and I did spend a complete day at the resort just soaking in the ambience and the peacefulness. Absolutely great!

Our checkout was also done very promptly and with no fuss at all.

We were very glad that we chose The Village Coconut Island Resort as our honeymoon place. We are already planning to go back there again and telling our friends in Malaysia about this wonderful place!

If you are wondering about this place ... don't wonder any more - just choose it. You will like it! (For a quiet getaway that is..)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ng_reggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear ng_reggie,

Thank you for choosing The Village Coconut Island for your Honeymoon - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We do apologise regarding your arrival; as you correctly commented, the tide was very low upon your arrival and we were thus unable to take you to the beachfront jetty. Our back pier is actually currently being rebuilt so that our guests' arrival experience will be as seamless as possible.

I am pleased that your upgrade added to your experience, and we do hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Best wishes,

The Management, The Village Coconut Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We came to the village two years ago when it was more building site than resort but could see the vision of a secluded resort on an coconut tree covered island just off Phuket which could only be reached by ferry. Despite concerns about the impact of the recession the project has advanced rapidly with the larger villas being completed and work in full swing on one and two bedroom mini-villas that are like high-quality hotel suites inside. The standard of all accommodation is very high and the development is in sympathy with the local environment. In particular, the large villas and their infinity pools look out across the azure bay and water that is so warm. The resort is developing its facilities to keep pace with the increasing influx of guests; two good quality restaurants and a third in progress and a beach front bar, two communal swimming pools with water slides, bicycles to take you through the forest on trails that enable you visit local villagers, two excellent tennis courts, spa and gym (thankfully air-conditioned) facilties. A regular service exists to a neighbouring tropical island with white sand and crystal waters where you an spend the day eating under the shade of trees and having massages on the beach. You can canoe the half mile to the island if you wish or sail a dinghy in the bay. This whole experience is connected to the mainland Phuket by a frequent dedicated ferry service. The staff on the ferry and in the resort are very helpful and pleasant and this is typical Thai standard of care. A series of taxis at the pier will whisk you away to the delights of Phuket; great golf courses, restaurants and sight-seeing (including the largest statue of the Buddha in Asia). We particularly enjoyed our trip to the Palazzo whre you dine in a big top surrounded by a scaled down version of a Cirque du Soleil show. The Village on Coconut Island has come on in leaps and bounds and if you want a relaxing holiday but with access to activities off and on the island then this will fit perfectly. Problems are few and do not seem major when you are there. The water immediately in front of the resort is cloudy from the limestone silt washed into the bay from the rivers of Phuket but swiming in the warm water is gorgeous. There is some dust and disruption at the back of the resort from the building work but again this does not intrude and will only be a problem for another year. The prices of massages in the resort are quite high. The quality of English spoken by the charming reception staff is variable which can be a problem booking activiteis but in the Thai way these issues eventually get sorted out with a smile. These are small issues and do not be put off by them.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Uffdown,

Many thanks for your kind comments about our resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the finished results of the construction that was ongoing when you last visited, and we would love to welcome you back to The Village when you are next in Thailand!

Best wishes,

The Management, The Village Coconut Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kata Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

What a place stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with infinity pool right on the beach.excellent staff and food.good value will revisit again next year. I am sorry I have to share my secret...

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank franktheshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear franktheshoe,

We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Village. Thank you for your kind comments, and we look forward to seeing you back here next year!

Best wishes,

The Management, The Village Coconut Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phuket hotels
17.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
10.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,326 reviews
12.5 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort

Property: The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Address: 51/7 Moo 6, T.Kohkaew | A. Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 853 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort.44 beautiful pool villas with sea views116 luxury Jacuzzi suites500 metres of untouched island beachfronta complete collection of watercraftfun and exciting adventure activitiesrelaxed waterfront settingrestaurants, bars and shops onsite.On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay.All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing