We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Hut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Hut Resort
Ranked #179 of 442 Hotels in Pattaya
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hi,

I ate here in November with friends and enjoyed the food.

There are several dining options, either traditional style seated on the floor or if that's a bit too uncomfortable (it would be for me!) then you have the option to sit at a table.

The setting is great amongst a luscious Thai garden eating in what looks like traditional style Thai houses.

The old piece of feedback we could offer is that the service was a bit slow and a couple of times we had to go find the staff when we wanted another round of drinks.

All in all though a great place to eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    3
    10
    4
See reviews for
8
26
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Absolutely enjoyed my stay. Lovely grounds, and quaint private Villas. Excellent service and authentic Thai food. Definitely, recommend this Hotel.
I loved lounging in the small private rooms off the main Villa, when the afternoon rain showers would hit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been staying at The Sugar Hut Resort for over 15 years and my experience has never been better. The owner of the resort, Dr, Sunya Viravaidya, continues to upgrade this beautiful and tranquil place to maintain a high standard while retaining the true Thai experience the resort was founded to deliver. You will never sleep better, guaranteed! If you like big box hotels with maids knocking on your door at 9 am then stay away from Sugar Huts. You will feel spoiled here In your own private bungalow with all the modern amenities available in a low key tranquil setting...surrounded by beautiful trees and nature at your doorstep. 3 beautifully designed pools to lounge around, kind of spoiling considering there are only a few dozen bungalow at the property.
The food is as tasty as anywhere, i would eat my last Thai meal here if I could...The staff is very friendly...if you are a returning guest you will feel like family. And I never leave here without booking my next trip, that pretty much says it all.

Room Tip: Bring your camera, the 2 peacocks on the grounds love to pose !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

If your grand idea of the perfect vacation is to stay at a "BIG BOX" hotel. watch T.V. and see your ideal vacation spot from the 25th floor balcony, then you should NOT go to the Sugar Hut and NOT be bothering me at pool 3.

IF you want to experience a totally different hotel/resort atmosphere with a littel thai culture thowin in on the side, there is only one chioce for me. SUGAR HUT.. One Choice? well, because it's the sole reason I go to Pattaya,

When I'm Pattaya, I'M ON VACATION. i dont need a bellman clicking his heels at me. I dont need a welcome drink, I dont need new friends at the concierge desk, and I dont need a tour guide selling me tickets to the crocodile farm (although whatever you need you can get, just ask the front desk, pretty basic stuff.).

If you do want to CHECK IN and then CHECK OUT of the WORLD for a few days. i'm telling you the Sugar Hut is a great call. You get your own Thal style mini home with a separate tv room? No one sticking their nose in your business every 5 minutes, NO neighbors banging on the walls, screaming in the hallways etc... a pool 20 steps a way in a beaufifully manicured jungle setting...I'm not even going to go on. There werew some renovations etc..going on in Aug. when I was there. Hopefully all done now.

Its a great spot, but it's not for everybody....There is a lot of BIG BOXES on beach road fo the shy and unititiated.

There is a reason I dont mention the price....firstly, I dont actually know it....secondly, I dont acutally care, but .I think it's pretty cheap.

Rob Siddons

Room Tip: Yes. Please stay at POOL 1 or 2. Thanks, Rob
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I spent one night at the Sugar Hut Pattaya with bunch of colleagues from the office. Thai hut style rooms were surrounded by well groomed natures. They were very secluded and private from outside. I recommend this place for a peaceful retreat with your friends, loved one, and close people. I liked Thai style shower, and bed. You can see the room well from inside an insect net covering over the bed from the ceiling, but it is difficult to see inside the net from the outside. It was convenient that wi-fi worked very well in the room considering the huts were very Thai style building. You can just walk down the stairs to a pool for swimming any time. It was a true retreat. If you are looking for all convenient modern hotel facilities, this is not a place, but if you are looking for a peaceful retreat away from stressful works in big cities, this is a place. I liked it much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 594charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I spent 2 nights at Sugar Hut with some friends, great place very friendly, centrally located, very tasty breakfast, especially the omelette. I was near the newly renovated swimming pool, which looks fantastic...will definitely recommend it....Thanks again Mark

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark49294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

I have stayed in Sugarhut for 5 days, but paid for 6.., reason for early check out is really bad service, and finally 4 photograph taking fellows occurred in the swimming pool area and chased all people away from the pool.
To order a beer or food in the pool area takes around one hour, food in the restaurant are at the best very average.
At arr. yo had to pay"deposits", or have a credit card slip with your signature on in the reception. Really annoying when you have prepaid for 6 nights.
The Hotel is itself in a beautiful area, the pools and Thai houses are perfect, but for the price paid and the service received I will for sure never go back, and I will not recommend this Hotel for anybody.

Room Tip: Stay away. You will find better locations for this price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.7 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 442 in Pattaya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Monttra Pattaya
The Monttra Pattaya
#46 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Terrace
Royal Cliff Beach Terrace
#40 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Viman Resort
Le Viman Resort
#4 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#22 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Grand Phratamnak Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hut Resort

Property: Sugar Hut Resort
Address: 391/18 Moo 10, Tapphaya Road | Jomtien Beach, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Hut Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Hut is an exotic alternative to the usual hotel accommodation. Our Thai Villas are built to exacting standards of traditional Thai style Houses, each equipped with a fabulous indoor garden bathroom. Enjoy the total privacy and comfort of individual quarters in a lush setting of fragrant flowering trees. The sugar Hut provides the full range of hotel services including a Thai Style restaurant (Pattaya's No. 1), 3 Swimming pools and natural sauna. There are wild rabbits plus many animals and birds that roam Sugar Hut, creating the "back to nature" atmosphere, the likes of which you'll never find anywhere else. 5 Minutes from South Pattaya on the way to Jomtien Beach. From Bangkok Airport 1 hour by taxi. Charter flight to U-Tapao Airport 30 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Hut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hut Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing