We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach motel”
Review of Penthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penthouse Hotel
Ranked #8 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights and was this ever a mistake. First day when we walked in the 2 lady's at front desk gave us a price and we agreed to it. That is when they asked us to prepay for the entire stay. When i questioned the logic behind it they explained that the entire motel was sold out and they wanted to make sure they don't turn anyone away to find out that we are not staying.

After a few minutes they got very aggressive and they started to shout and throw my money at my face. I knew it was time to leave and grabbed my suitcases and went out to get a cab but Since my friend was very tired and didn't want to go somewhere else he convinced me to prepay the entire stay. This is where the nightmare starts.

After spending the first night we asked for our money back so we could leave but they receptionist told us that would not be possible since we had prepaid. This is the reason they make sure you prepay your stay because they know for sure you wont stay past a night.

Here are the cons and pros:

1. Pros = Non
2. Cons=

a) Breakfast is included in the price but there is only 4 tables in the "dining room" so chances are you will have to wait for someone else to finish. I read somewhere in their website were there are 15 different room category's but somehow they only manage to have 4 tables at their dining room.

b) Internet is extremely slow and only available intermittently during the day. The chance you can use it is next to non.

c) rooms are old, outdated and full of roaches. The motel actually provides you with roach spray in all the rooms. I know this because the can in our room had the room number written on it with a marker. There are also roach traps under all the beds.
Most the roaches in our room came out of the bathroom and they had holes behind the mirrors where they hid inside.

d) Motel is situated in the gay district of Pattaya. The motel is also beside a transsexual strip club that seems to be ran by the hotel because they advertise for it in the motel lobby and elevator. When you first check in they give you free drink coupons to the club. Hotel also has direct access to the club. Don't have any issues with gay people but don't necessarily want to be in the gay district neither.

e) For our entire stay they had renovations in front of our room. Started at 8 am till 6pm. They used the jack hammer the entire time.

f) Service is nonexistent. The entire staff is rude and not interested at all in anything you might need or want.

g) swimming pool is very dirty and not usable. It seems like no one cleans it at all.

h) There are air conditioners in the rooms but they are very loud and if you want to leave them on overnight then it would be impossible to sleep with.

I) Entire place is very dirty. Starting from the lobby all the way to the rooms. Elevator is very slow, smells of fumes and filthy.

J) For my entire stay , there was a major leak in the lobby roof so the entire place was covered with bed sheets and water flooded the floors.

K) This place is supposed to be non smoking but everyone smokes and they had over 4 ashtrays in my room. I am assuming they want you to smoke as they have a "special fee" they charge if you smoke in the room, otherwise it makes no sense to provide multiple ashtrays in a non smoking room/motel.

All and all this place is like a bad dream and it Goes without saying that i would not recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Toishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenthouseHotel, Director of Sales at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Nice photographs of the renovations and ongoing upgrades!

(I thought this had previously been taken down after deliberation by Trip Advisor, even so, I will again post our original reply as listed below … I see that you now have also added to the story in the further interest of your cause, which of course we cannot discuss in the context of this media.)

“It all sounds terrible, if a little unbelievable ... I'm glad you have now recovered from what must have been a truly (if imaginary) horrendous experience. (What could you have done to upset our Thai Staff so completely, if we are to believe that your tirade is genuine.) - We have all experienced at some time the plague of the bad neighbor whom cannot be pacified or reasoned with, however hard one might try.

Hope you have better luck in the future (elsewhere) and find what you're looking for. Incidentally, we have had a re-count of the dining tables and again disappointed at your calculation but then again, I expect you were too busy photographing the wrong things and missed out many of the features and facilities that prove so popular here at The Penthouse Hotel.”

“P.S. In your photographic tour (renovations and bins) you missed the trash cans at the back of the hotel, (you know), the ones just behind the school but then again, maybe you can put this right on your next visit, if the Staff were to allow you entry. After all, it is a two-way situation and some customers are beyond the pale, cannot be accommodated and, as in your case, would justifiably be barely tolerated, again! Trip Advisor have been informed.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 308 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

I spent three days at this impressive hotel in the heart of action packed Pattaya. It is an adult orientated hotel and caters for clientel that require a party atmosphere but with a certain style and panache. I stayed in a premiere room and was impressed by the facilities and decor. There was every facility needed for a good time with a large bed, mirrors in every direction, 42" TV mounted above the end of the bed and even a pole dancing facility if thats your fancy. It was air conditioned but also had a ceiling fan which I find preferable. There was a restaurant which served a good breakfast and room service is also available. The famous Walking street is a couple of minutes walk away but there are also two nightclubs in the basement so a good time is never too far away. I was expecting some noise because of the proximity to the nightlife but was pleasantly surprised and never had a bad night sleep.
I spent three great days there but should have booked more so think I will be back in the near future.

Room Tip: There are many different kinds of rooms available so I can only speak for room 403 which faced the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MickB160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenthouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

What a Nice Review ! .. Postings such as this are indeed Most appreciated by all here at the Penthouse Hotel and certainlyprove an incentive to all our staff ( And management ) to further lift our service and facilities to fully earn such kind comments, .. look forward to seeing You Again !, ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

It is the best hotel in Pattaya we stayed in this hotel on Feb 15th to 18th in Room num 214. we like n njoyed staying here.looking forward to visit again.best location best interiors friendly staffs overall its a hotel wre u wnt to visit again n again.

Room Tip: All rooms are gud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vimal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenthouseHotel, Public Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

" Thank You , Big ! .. fot this Very nice Review, .. we will continue to strive to make The Penthouse Hotel a memorial Experience and with such flattering a review such as this, it does indeed make our task just a little easier ! It also appears that our recently completed POOL-DECK Rooms and Jacussi Suites are proving to be some of our most popular, as they add another dimension to the holiday experience. Look forward to seeing you Again.. Much appreciated !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at the wonderfull Penthouse hotel for 10 days in February. Took a work collegue of mine to Pattaya as he had never been and thought it only right he have the opportunity to see and experience Pattaya !!!! Stayed in the Party Suite (room 408) which was perfect as it offered 2 large double rooms with a bathroom in the middle. The hotel could not be situated in a better palce as it is quite literally a 2-3 minute walk away from walking street and if you want perhaps a slightly lower key evening then the other soi's are very nearby and so easily to reach. If you are going to Pattaya to enjoy the experiences and nightlife of Pattaya then this hotel is perfect and by far the most guest friendly I have come across in all the times I have been to Pattaya. Value for money I also believe it wont be beaten on as again the room standard and what is available is fantastic and at a really affordable and good value for money rate. It is so good we are already planning a trip for December/January and will without doubt be going back to the penthouse hotel !!!!!!! Adam & Scott (UK)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADAM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenthouseHotel, Public Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

" Thank You " .. for that very nice posting, .. Appreciated by all at the Penthouse whom I know ;really do have our Guests' interest at heart ! This Review was even more appreciated as your 'Mini-Party 'Room choice was the latest creation by our insane master-Builder who insists on creating structures as would appeal to himself, .. ( A latter Goudi, revisiting his youth,.. with all that that encumbers ! ) and it's gratifying that his endeavours have not gone unnoticed !.. Look forward to seeing you both again at Year's end, .. ( Or Before ! )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Best decision we made was to stay at this hotel. We’ve never seen anything like this place before. It’s only four floors but, they have so many artifacts, that we spent time each day taking pictures on each floor. We just kept seeing things we hadn’t noticed before.

We stayed on the second floor, in connecting rooms, which lead to the Sun Deck and wacky pool. It never seemed to close, the wacky pool that is, and we enjoyed late night parties splashing around. Both are rooms were expertly created with a very modern feel. We found the staff friendly and efficient. We enjoyed the 24 hour room service, great food, and found the 24 hour maid service a big plus. The location is perfect. Close to the beach and all the action.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgilly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenthouseHotel, Public Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

" Thank You " ..for this Review of your holiday experience with us .. much appreciated ! We will have to try just a little harder and see if we can't reach that elusive fifth star ( The one that you did'nt mention !. ) . Seriously, " Look forward to seeing you all again ! "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed in the Hotel in the 2nd week of February. Had initially booked the Hotel for only 2 nights but ended up spending 7!! Booked a Patpong room.The rooms are exactly as shown on their website, so no surprises there.There is no better hotel in Pattaya in terms of location. Beach road and Walking Street are in very close proximity. The Hotel staff is polite and courteous and they do understand English, so communicating with them was not an issue. Needless to say, Hotel is guest friendly. The Hotel offers very good Wi-Fi connection free of cost. Absolutely NO complaints with the Hotel and whenever i'll come back to Pattaya, would only stay at this Hotel. Also, the Receptionist (Lilly) is damn cute and has a beautiful smile, for which i payed her a compliment. (Room no. 417 - Feb 9 -15)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoneRanger255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenthouseHotel, Public Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

That was a very nice Review, to which we all ( including lilly ) much appreciate ! ....Loof forward to seeing you again, Soon ! .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I spent a week at the Penthouse in January 2013. This was not my first trip to Thailand, but it was my first trip to Pattaya and a friend suggested the Penthouse as he had stayed there last year. I had a great room, with an outdoor pool about a meter away. This is an adult hotel. 100%. Don't take your children, or your parents! The room was terrific, great bed, big tv, minibar stocked with everything you could ever want, and the 24 hr room service was a great plus. In my experience the you can have a great room at the Penthouse for the same money as a basic room in Bangkok. And I had far more fun in the Penthouse than I ever had in Bangkok. It's less than 100 meters to the beach and about 300 meters to Walking Street, but there is plenty of nightlife to suit all tastes closer to the hotel if you don't want to walk that far.

Room Tip: Try to get a "Pool deck" room. It costs more, but it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenthouseHotel, Public Relations Manager at Penthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

" Thank You from The Penthouse Hotel " ..for taking the time to express your views ! .. I think you have indeed sumed-up what we have been trying to promote ( Sometimes with less Success ) most admirable ! .. and really it leaves nothing more from me than to say " much appreciated; .. and Come-Back-Soon ! "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.4 mi away
LK The Empress
LK The Empress
#50 of 456 in Pattaya
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Suites
Galaxy Suites
#108 of 456 in Pattaya
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wave Hotel
Wave Hotel
#6 of 456 in Pattaya
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Pattaya
Travelodge Pattaya
#23 of 456 in Pattaya
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aya Boutique Hotel
Aya Boutique Hotel
#63 of 456 in Pattaya
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse Hotel

Address: 325/61 Moo 10, Soi Pattayaland 2 (Soi 13/4), Pattaya Beach Road | Beach-Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Pattaya
Price Range: $48 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An adult Boutique Hotel situated in the Very heart of Pattaya's renowned Nightlife and metres ( 60 from the Beach ) .. / Shopping & Tourist Attractions ! Exciting theme Rooms and Suites at affordable prices, Outdoor Splash-Pool / Jacuzzi Sundeck and Indoor Spa Pool and close-to many of Thailand's leading nightclubs, catering to all tastes.24 HR Security, Restaurant & Room-Service, Comp Breakfast & WI-FI. Celebrating 29 years of difference,.. a refreshing change from the banal,.. And just getting BETTER! The Penthouse Hotel, a possible alternative to your normal Hotel experience, but not for everyone! , Just 90 minutes from BKK International Airport, 2 HRS BKK City, Transportation /Airport / Hotel & Tours arranged. RESERVE ON-LINE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing