We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks Nice and Clean but Internet issues, toilet and other details take away stars.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bayview Hotel
Ranked #27 of 441 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Looks Nice and Clean but Internet issues, toilet and other details take away stars.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Hotel feels good when entering, with its huge and both-end-breezy open lobby/lounge with ample chairs and tables - THAT is nice!

Room is nice and clean, there is a fridge and coffee to brew. My room came with a seaview on 7th floor and it was very nice. Little balcony where you could sit on a chair an enjoy your coffee and relax while overlooking the ocean.

But some things and details are just not in order and in some cases unacceptable.

1. You can work at the desk but the chairs (gardenchair) design is not usable for deskwork, or for sitting at the desk for that matter.
2. The bed is not good. I woke up twice with a bit of a sore lower back (and no, there is nothing wrong with my back).
3. When plugging in my Iphone/computer in the sockets in the living room, nothing happened. Keycard was in its designated slot. Sockets only give power if you turn on the lights in the room. Which means there is no charging phones while sleeping! Found out later tho that the socket in bathroom worked 24/7, lights or no lights turned on, and even when leaving room with keycard. It is totally unacceptable that you cant charge your electronic equipment while sleeping!
4. The toilet....well, this takes the first prize ever. With a 3 inch lever on the side for flushing but when pulling it down, you have to hold it for like 10 seconds before any transport of foulness begins to take place. We are in 2011 and when flushing a toilet, it should NOT be necessary to press a button for more than half a second. Back home, we dont even see that kind of lever-toilets anymore. Very very annoying detail.
5. Bathroom is designed by an idiot, with the door opening in and staying at a 90degree angle, against the bathtub where it doesnt stay. It takes the little free space there is in this very cramped bathroom and you are at risk of banging an elbow into it. Then you can say I can close it....sure I can but it shouldnt be necessary AND there is no air-com in bathroom which means the mirrors fog quickly, hence the open door. Only thing bathroom has going for it, is the speed the shower delivers hot water! It comes very very fast, its very easy to adjust and that is a rarity in Thailand. Thumbs up for that.
6. Internet (thru cable) costs a whopping 325bath/1 day use. In my book its totally unacceptable that its not free. On top of that, staff said that the internet was working very unstable. I found out myself after 2 days hookup but with no luck. There is free Wifi in the lobby but who wants to run down every time a computer is needed. Free cable AND Wifi should be free in-room ! I was working during the day this time and it so irritates me when things dont work. It happens too often.

Breakfast buffet is nice which is the only food/beverage I tried so the other possibilities in the hotel get a blank from me.

Pool area is very nice. Location of hotel is between soi 9 and soi 10 and there is access both to Beachroad and 2nd Road (remember those are one-way streets in each direction. Accessing both streets quickly is a blessed timesaver. Location is close to everything!

This time i learned that taxis and tuktuk's WAY OVERCHARGES constantly so i rented a motorbike. I like one that is a just a tad bigger than the small mopeds so I got a Honda FCX which looks like a small scooter. Cost 1000bath for 4 days which I think is a very very good price. By far outweighs the costs of taxis/tuktuk if you are planning on seeing more and going places than are too far. Rented on corner of Beachroad/soi 13/3...elderly grumpylooking lady sitting there, collecting, but she is nice enough and no hassle when giving the bike back. She has a whole array btw, from mopeds to hipowered kawasaki/Honda superbike type. I can recommend this place.

As with tailors and many bikeplaces...if there are people outside on the street trying to sell or rent you anything, you know its a crappy place. Lady aint trying to push anything to anybody which means her reputation does the talking.

The elevator in the Siam is probably the worlds slowest. Find out for yourself, come breakfast morning run on all floors. Another annoying issue even tho its a small ridiculous detail. Its just one of those things that, on top of all the other details, emphasizes the negatives.

All in all it was a good stay, staff very friendly, the lounge is very very nice with its breeze, room had its ups but most downs.

Had all been in order, I would have given it 4 stars but no internet automatically cost a star. Bathroom stays neutral only because it had readily available hot water.

Room Tip: The higher, the better view of the beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchStantonTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    364
    112
    39
    30
See reviews for
178
237
102
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Saved by the Staff.

We have a golfing group that has been staying here for the last 5 years as well as some of us local expats that stay for a few nights during the year for long golf weekends. We have guys from all over Asia as well as from Thailand that attend. This year, two of the staff stuck out as going above and beyond their duties. Khun Natnaree and Khun Duangchan both took the potentially bad situation where our reservations for 14 rooms for 3-7 nights had been lost due to front office staff changes and computer glitches. They made sure that our golfers had the correct rooms at that all terms of our stay were fulfilled. Thanks ladies, because of you and the constant smiles that you we have seen for the last number of years, the group has voted to return next year!

Kurt K

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed at the Siam Bayview hotel for two months. The entire staff there was amazing. The service was incredible. I didn't want to leave.

The hotel has a nice breakfast every morning. My room had a great view of the bay. There is also a bar on the main floor called Exotica. Here you can enjoy happy hour from 5:00 to 7:30 each evening. You can play pool or snooker. You can enjoy some on the best food available in the area.

The hotel is very clean, the staff is friendly, and the service is amazing.

Within walking distance of the hotel is Walking Street, Central shopping center, Mike shopping center, and several favorite hangouts.

I strongly recommend Siam Bayview Hotel for anyone who is travelling to Pattaya, Thailand.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Been Staying here for about 10 Years, they are currently renovation rooms and reception.

This is a great place. rooms by the pool have been renovated and rooms in the main block levels 8 and 9, the bathrooms still very tired.
They have a very good breakfast and 2 swimming pools and massage rooms, free parking also.
They have great views over the beach and ocean and a major shopping center right next door.
It is an older hotel and it does show it's age, but for the price and location it's always been perfect for me. Staff and service are perfect

Room Tip: book sea-view or pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regyuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Everything was perfect from the time we arrived untill checkout. Loved the morning weather with the lovely breakfast...
Staff are friendly and i loved their smiles (kob kun mak man).
And the location is perfect, everything is near transport, restuarants, shopping not to forget the beach, but i prefer to go to the island its peacfull.
Loved the rain too, was lucky to see rain quite enjoyed it..
Hopefully i will see you soon...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nndnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Yes we went back to the Siam Bayview and again stayed in a deluxe seaview room for 16 nights
When we arrived the staff welcomed us back with open arms. The room was great, which I miss looking out of the balcony at the many parasails over the bay and the spectacular sunsets.
Breakfast was once again superb and the staff very friendly and helpful, it was good to see many old faces still working there especially Sun-U-Kee. We made many new friends over breakfast from all over the world.
The Bayview is doing some major renovations at the moment with a new wing to be built and
a new lobby.
It is situated near major shops,beach and eateries .See you again next year (Jul-Aug)

Room Tip: A Great place to relax Mountainview rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petercotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We arrive on Saturday afternoon, and checking time was at 2.00pm we waited till 2 40.pm to get our room. We booked a queen size bed and were taken to a room with 2 larger single beds, we went back and complained and then gave us a room with a queen size bed in a smoking room. I asked for a non smoking room and was told there were not left. The bathroom was so small and toilet and bath were made for children they were that small. Now for the worst part. during the night they had a usual amount of rain and the security put sandbags at the front of the hotel to stop water getting in the car park which did not stop the water .we we woke up and checked out at 10.30 we couldn’t get out car out of the car park as the water was 2 foot deep in the street and water was up in the car park. we waited 8 hours with alot of other people who had to catch flights out of Thailand .not once did they offer drinks after 5 .00pm or food to us , my wife went to the front desk and complained and then we got water and fruit juice , no food. The manager came out and talked to us, after a much talking he just left us and ran away... he came back and I asked him do we get a free night as they would not take down the sandbags even though the water in the street was only 6 inches deep at this time, he said he would give a special rate. So after much complaining he said it would be free.
The other guests wanted them removed as they had flights to get and he still wouldn’t do it. My wife rang the police and they came so we talked to them and they said WE could remove them!! So here was about 6 men and my wife removing sandbags to get out of the hotel. We finally did this with no help from security or hotel staff. We got out after so much trouble... One man had to get home to his children and they did not care. The water was at maximum depth in the morning so opening up the sand bags didn’t do any difference to the water level in the car park as it went down, so they just did not want to help. We ask to see the general manager but he was nowhere to be found.
This hotel will not help you if you are in trouble. The Hotel should look at managerment .

Room Tip: ask for what you booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinjohnbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managsbv, Manager at The Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Mr. Barker,

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your unsatisfactory experience with our service. We are taking every step possible to ensure that this problem is rectified and to bring about the best possible outcome for your inconvenience.

In is very unfortunate that your recent stay with us coincided with the worst floods in Pattaya for the past 20 years. Although this natural disaster was naturally completely out of our control, through quick thinking and action we were able to protect our property and our guest’s cars by erecting a sandbag wall. This barricade was erected to avoid the entire hotel being inundated by water and causing irreparable damage to cars, property and further inconveniencing guests and staff.

This step was wholly understood, endorsed and appreciated by all affected guests; we are sorry to hear you are the only ones not in agreement. For all the 39 guests inconvenienced, we provided complimentary accommodation and dinner for the night. We also offered those drivers unable to get their vehicle out free public transportation to their destination.

Whilst we appreciated you were inconvenienced, we are sorry that you could not appreciate that removing the barrier too early would have brought about millions of bath’s worth of avoidable damage to the cars, motorbikes and property belonging to the hotel, guests and staff.

Once again, we are sorry that our service, facilities and your overall stay did not live up to your expectations. Again, we ask for your kind understanding as natural disasters are never easy to handle and under difficult circumstances we tried our utmost to do take along the best steps possible. We hope for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


The Management
Siam Bayview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.0 mi away
Wave Hotel
Wave Hotel
#2 of 441 in Pattaya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
LK The Empress
LK The Empress
#44 of 441 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amari Garden Pattaya
Amari Garden Pattaya
#24 of 441 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Pattaya
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Page 10 Hotel
Page 10 Hotel
#54 of 441 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview Hotel

Property: The Bayview Hotel
Address: 310 / 2 Moo 10, Beach Road, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#20 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#24 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Pattaya epitomises the best in beachfront boutique living. Steps away from all the fun on lively Beach Road, the 260-rooms hotel fuses together a relaxing tropical seaside holiday and vibrant city living. A world of stylish and artistic comfort awaits you in our sumptuous, modern and relaxing hotel. The Bayview Pattaya is an oasis of calm amid the hurly-burly of Pattaya. Located on the Eastern Seaboard, just 1.5hrs south of Bangkok, the hotel is easily accessible by road. Come enjoy a break in the city that never sleeps... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam Bayview Pattaya
Pattaya Siam Bayview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing