We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“omg”

Elephant Village Pattaya
Ranked #15 of 132 things to do in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“omg”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

how beautiful are these animals to ride feed and study so much see and do the people are so funny and friendly your day is always a treat!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    318
    154
    51
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“just ride the elephants”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we did the whole trip jungle walk, raft ride , cart and buffalo ride and of course the elephant ride.
the best by far was the elephants riding an elephant whilst its up to its neck breathing thro a raised trunk was a thrill.All else was crap so dont pay the extra 10,000 bartt

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lanajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munnar, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Elephannt village was nice place to visit.many elephants.many tourists were riding elephants.poor elephants.i like to come back again in this village.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank john303881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota kinabalu
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An experience - Don't miss”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Well organized ride of Elephants in beautiful forest just outside Pattaya. They even pick us up with a van from our hotel. Great fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ProfetaAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“NOT FOR ANIMAL LOVERS!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Recently been to elephant village, on 22nd October 2012. Personally, I only tagged along as my husband wanted to go elephant trekking... I don't agree with elephants being used and abused , they should be in own habitat. Anyway, he convinced me and I read reviews on here and went open minded. So it costs 20 uk pounds to go. This provides you transport to and from, elephant trek and fresh fruit for after your trek. There is another thing called combo tour which is more money in which you ride an ox cart.... We just went for elephant trek. We arrived after a very speedy journey .... Driving was horrendous! Very fast, u safe and no seat belts in the minivan. We arrive there, you are given a talk about the time you will be spending there. You are walked round to meet two elephants.... A baby and adult . Here you are given chance to feed the elephants , you have to buy a bunch bananas for 100baht. So these elephants are not in the shade!!! No water provided!!! And they are chained to the floor limiting walking space, I think they had about 6 foot in which they could move.... I fed the baby and adult , so sad. I asked the people who worked there about water and shade and just shrugged me off like they couldn't understand!!! These elephants looked in good shape, considering the living conditions....
Now for the trek, again another unsafe set up. I lasted 30 seconds on back, and got off as the cart was wobbling what you sit on. My husband went on trek and I waited. He took pictures whilst on way round which I will try and post after this review, shows how bad these elephants are kept. They are malnourished!!!!! Please don't go, if you go to Thailand, don't waste your time. Or your money. No money goes to these animals, just feeding more power and cruelty to the workers. I'm gutted I even went!!! Please ask any questions.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank rainbow*princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Village Pattaya also viewed

 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Elephant Village Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing