We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience,but beware?”
Review of Areca Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Areca Lodge
Ranked #28 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Slough
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good experience,but beware?”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Reception, very good,quick check in,staff very friendly.
Bedroom, Yes o.k. enough room,Big T.V.plenty of channels,all nationalities.Bath a bit small,bed like a rock,pillows the same,but very big bed.Water nice and hot though.
Restaurant, you can eat breakfast in both Restaurants,buffet style,in the front 06.30-09.30,at the back from 06.30-10.30.Staff very friendly and professional,good standard of food.
The Hotel has two swimming pools,two gyms,massage services,and an outside Bar.
Its close to everything you may need,Restaurants,Bars,Agogo's,exchanges,seven Eleven,laundry.
A short walk to the beach,and the main areas of Pattaya.
But beware?
Building work around the back swimming pool,from 08.00am-18.00,very disrupting,to relaxing around the pool. Not the Hotels fault,their building another Hotel,very close to the pool.
Not Areca Lodge. You can relax around the front pool in peace.
The noise should halt by 2015.

Room Tip: Good value for all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udomsin S, Front Office Manager at Areca Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear mrpattaya,

Thank you very much for your comment, I would like to sorry to you regarding to the construction beside our hotel approximately for noisy it will be alright around midyear of 2014. But it still dusty from decoration and a little noisy. We contact to them for everything it may cause disturb our guests and we hope it will be back to normal soon.

Best regards,
Udomsin, S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    467
    117
    26
    26
See reviews for
89
203
297
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed there last year with friends,good location near soi LK Metro good staff
im going to stay here when I visit Pattaya next.
Bathrooms could do with a proper shower rather than bath.
I felt safe in the hotel which in Pattaya is a very good thing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udomsin S, Front Office Manager at Areca Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Micheal J.,

Thank you very much for your comment, we will keep going to improve our room and our service to make our guests have a nice trip and happy with us here at Areca Lodge.

Best regards,
Udomsin, S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Areca for 10 days and overall it was a nice enough hotel for the money we paid,approx 2000 Bhat per night.The room was very clean and staff also were very friendly.The one thing I think let's the hotel down is the breakfast,to be honest it's not great but for 2000 Bhat a night I was not expecting too much.
The location of the hotel is good and yes I would stay there again but only at the price we paid,I would not pay any more for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carloMarandola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udomsin S, Front Office Manager at Areca Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear carloMarandola,

Thank you very much for your suggestion, for our breakfast I will pass your comment to our F & B team and Chef to improve our breakfast and our service to match your satisfaction. Hope for your next trip you will be happy and enjoy our breakfast.

Best regards,
Udomsin, S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stay at Areca Lodge every time i am in Pattaya, and have been here twice since my last review. Clearly they take people's reviews seriously as all my previous issues seem to have been addressed. The staff at reception have been extremely helpful and accommodating, this time especially so as i arrived without a booking, and they helped me find 2 rooms in the hotel during this busy time. They happily provided a second room key for my partner, which previously was difficult to obtain. Connecting to the WIFI has also been simplified, with it previously being a very painful affair, and as always the rooms are very clean.

Room Tip: Try a book a room in the Evergreen building, as it is the more modern of the 3 buildings. Also they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udomsin S, Front Office Manager at Areca Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Dennis S.,

Thank you very much for your comment we will keep going on the way and improve our service more and more for your value stay. Hope to see you soon krub.

Best regards,
Udomsin, S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah,WA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A group of 18 male club members used Areca as a base for a golf trip to Pattaya. The hotel is comfortable, if fairly basic. The new building at the back has more modern rooms (stayed in the last night due to our mixup) but they are a long hike from the street. The position is good for accessing most of the entertainment aspects of Pattaya, though a bit of a trip down to Walking Street if that is your thing. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the gym was adequate (though could do with aircon) and breakfasts were fine. We were there at the end of the wet season and a couple of evening storms saw the main street in front of the hotel flooded up to your knees (for those game enough to walk amongst the debris - you know what I mean). The good golf courses are between 30 and 50 minutes away and it is close to two hours to the new Bangkok airport, with traffic fairly heavy most of the time.

Room Tip: In the original lodge, ask for a room close to lifts and overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udomsin S, Front Office Manager at Areca Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Metceni,

Thank you very much for your comment, look you're surprised to see flooded road. I would like to explain a little bit for that because the road in front of hotel very small and narrow so the underground pipes for water flow is small too. In case that we have hard rain they will flooded in this area but after few hours after water drain to underground pipe it will be back to normal.
Anyhow, please accept my apologize for this inconvenience that make you trouble and looking forward to welcome you back again at Areca Lodge.

Best regards,
Udomsin, S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was my 3rd stay at the Areca Lodge Hotel. Comfortable room overlooking the larger of the 2 pools. It has a reasonable gym although lacks a rowing machine. I was very impressed with the helpfulness of the staff and they were always smiling! The hotel is in a great central location with plenty of restuarants and bars on your door step. I had to cut my stay short due to a famliy illness and they kindly waived the fee for the last day - thank you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Located just off the second road in the city, the areca lodge provides a welcome alternative to the cheap jack hotels that litter this city.
The reception is welcoming, rooms are clean and spacious and the food provided is on the better end of the scale.
The location is fine if you need to stay in an area contaminated with low quality beer bars jammed packed with bar girls all seemingly intent in attending to your needs.
That said, once past the reception, you are in a well managed hotel that boasts two nice pools with plenty of chairs and attentive staff.
Ok, its a bit more expensive than some other places but heyho - you get what you pay for in pattaya and money can buy pretty much anything here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Pattaya
Travelodge Pattaya
#24 of 447 in Pattaya
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adelphi Pattaya
Adelphi Pattaya
#13 of 447 in Pattaya
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
LK Residence
LK Residence
#127 of 447 in Pattaya
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LK Metropole
LK Metropole
#92 of 447 in Pattaya
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
LK The Empress
LK The Empress
#48 of 447 in Pattaya
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Pattaya Hotel
Mercure Pattaya Hotel
#31 of 447 in Pattaya
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Lodge

Property: Areca Lodge
Address: 198/21, 198/23 Moo 9, Soi Diana Inn, Pattaya Sai Song Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Areca Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Areca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areca Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing