We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”
Review of Areca Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Areca Lodge
Ranked #28 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here as a family for a week and found it a great base for looking around Pattaya. We had a big room in Evergreen tower - I believe this may be the newer part of the resort? Breakfast included was nice and on Friday nights there is a special buffet in one of the other restaurants. There is so many really good food outlets in Pattaya that one doesn't have to eat lunch & dinner there every day. The staff are welcoming and pleasant (most speak minimal English) and the housekeeping was spot-on. Toileteries provided are average - the supermarket is a hop step & jump away so stock up there...this wasn't a worry for us. Don't know how it compares to other establishments - we really liked it and would return. *** Especially good for families with young kids - the pools are big and a welcome relief from the hot sun everyday ***

Room Tip: choose Evergreen Tower on a level above ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udomsin S, Front Office Manager at Areca Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Carolyn1310,

Warm Greeting from Areca Lodge, Thank you very much for your suggestion I will pass this comment to our team. They should be to know how's wonderful they do their job and we will keep and improve our service to make you feel happy and have a wonderful stay when you check in at Areca Lodge. For our Buffet Dinner at Cafe de Blanc every Friday I would like to inform you that we change menu for every week (altogether 4 menu for a month) that our client can try various menu.

Looking forward to welcome you and your family soon at Areca Lodge.

Best regards,
Udomsin, S
F/O Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    466
    115
    25
    26
See reviews for
88
202
296
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

i have stayed at the areca lodge several times. is a nice place, the pools are geat, staff are friendly, buffet is good but not great, rooms are clean and quiet and the new tvs are great. i think my biggest complaint is in the older section of the hotel the shower is in the bathtub and it is kind of cramped because the shower is kind of low. it is a nice place and i will probably stay ther again but it is not great in my opinion.

Room Tip: there is ome construction noise at the pools but you cannot hear it in the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigorange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udomsin S, Front Office Manager at Areca Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear bigorange1,

At first please except my apologize for the inconvenient when you stayed with us here, and I would like to thank you for your comment regarding to shower in bathtub. I will present to our committee meeting next time.

Looking forward to hear from you and hope to welcome you again at Areca Lodge.

Best regards,
Udomsin, S.
F/O Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I've stayed in the Areca Lodge a few times and Think its GREAT value and nice hotel that I'd recommend to anyone!
BUT.. SOME of the staff at the front desk need to learn a little bit more manners as some are a little rude by Thai standards. Not too bad.. Just used to dealing with foreigners a bit too much.
THE BIGGEST compliant is if you decide to use a CREDIT CARD for your deposit...
THis day in age Credit card fraud is rampant, I was shocked went when I do what I do in tens of hotels every year and hand over my credit card at check in to cover the deposit.
The Girl (Maybe new?) at checkin, hand wrote my credit card number on my check-in form.. The exp date of credit card, and then MY CVC NUMBER!!
THis, along with my name, address (already on checkin form) could be used to buy ANYTHING on internet etc with my card! This is a totally bogus and dangerous practice as ANYONE could have seen that and used it.
I asked for the paper back as I didn't want this information in their and they seemed shocked! Made me feel like a obnoxious customer. Even my wife (Thai) explained to them the seriousness of that information and they had NO idea. I eventually, after a few minutes cut off the part of the check-in form that had my credit card details.

Once again.. A Hotel that has lovely clean rooms, decent breakfast and nice pool in brilliant location.

Room Tip: Stay away from construction side..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udomsin S, Front Office Manager at Areca Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mick M,

Please accept my apologize for my colleague's mistake that made you feel not comfortable and not safe upon your checking in at Areca. But let me explain to you a little bit for guarantee expenses of our client we will ask for deposit in cash 1,000 THB or if guest don't need to pay cash we will asked for credit card number (Just wright down the number we didn't do anything with credit card) and please trust me since we opened hotel until now 12 years we never ever have the case like you're afraid. I can guarantee for all department of my colleague, if you see our information board you will see every time we have staff keep the guest's thing (wallet, mobile phone, camera, I-pad etc) and find out for owner. So please don't worry regarding to your credit card.

I would like to say sorry again and hope you will understanding us and come back to stay with us again when you come to Pattaya.

Best regards,
Udomsin, S.
F/O Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I visited Pattaya for the first time last November (2012) and stayed at the Areca Lodge as it had mainly good reviews and was reasonably priced.
I wasn't at all disappointed. I received a very friendly welcome at the hotel reception on my arrival and was quickly taken to my room. My room, which was in the Evergreen building, was clean and very comfortable and there was a small balcony that overlooked one of the swimming pools.
The hotel is well situated and everything that you might need (bars, restaurants, massage parlours, etc, etc) is available in the vicinity.
The hotel staff were very friendly throughout my stay. In particular, I have to mention Nas who was the bar manager. What a character!
Can't comment on the breakfast as I am not a breakfast person as anyone who has read my other hotel reviews will know.
If I return to Pattaya, it is very likely that I will try to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1952skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udomsin S, Front Office Manager at Areca Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear 1952skipper,

Warm Greeting from Areca Lodge, thank you very much for your recommend I will pass to Nas that I'm sure he will glad and happy for your comment. We hope to welcome you back again soon to our Areca Lodge.

Best regards,
Udomsin, S.
F/O Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELGIUM TIENEN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

stay away there , drilling , noise , not to go there the next 2 years
Before ok , but not worth the money , they have nice pools
Breakfast is zero , as low as it gets
For the rest good location to go out , or get some open legs girls to your room
Free joyner as the call it

Room Tip: only the back building is good , called the evergreen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sisse8915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udomsin S, Front Office Manager at Areca Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear sisse8915,

Thank you very much for your suggestion and please accept my sincere apologize from me. As the construction beside us it's out of our control but we do agreement with them for working hours. from 8.30 am - 6.00 pm. And please believe me we are try to do the best for all of our guests to have a pleasant stay with us here at Areca Lodge.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Udomsin, S.
F/O Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good hotel to base yourself.second times I've stayed there and once again not disappointed .very clean well appointed rooms,Good breakfast .some very interesting bars and good night life close by,without having to go to the more popular Walking Street area.Found staff to be very helpful with a good understanding of English . Some inconvenience at present from building site next to Areca, but not enough to spoil my stay there .I travelled in group of 12 golfers.

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook pool area.Due to construction next door,stay away from rooms overlooking buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is the second time this year I have stayed at Areca Lodge. It's a bit 'tired' but still great value. Very central to shops, the beach, bars etc and has a couple of great pools. Without spending huge amounts at five star hotels I cannot think of anywhere better to stay than Areka. Fantastic Value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Pattaya
Premier Inn Pattaya
#24 of 447 in Pattaya
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adelphi Pattaya
Adelphi Pattaya
#13 of 447 in Pattaya
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
LK Residence
LK Residence
#125 of 447 in Pattaya
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LK Metropole
LK Metropole
#86 of 447 in Pattaya
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intimate Hotel
Intimate Hotel
#82 of 447 in Pattaya
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
LK The Empress
LK The Empress
#49 of 447 in Pattaya
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Lodge

Property: Areca Lodge
Address: 198/21, 198/23 Moo 9, Soi Diana Inn, Pattaya Sai Song Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Areca Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Areca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areca Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing