We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant simple restaurant with good food and cheap beer”
Review of Stone Oven

Stone Oven
Ranked #229 of 975 Restaurants in Pattaya
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Brilliant simple restaurant with good food and cheap beer”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

One year on from our last visit we returned to Stone Oven and were pleased to find it still offered great value, good food and cold beer. In fact we went there every lunch and had a drink there in many evenings as well. Ignore the plastic chairs and tables and concentrate on the food and drink which is very good value. It is situated on the beach road and corner of the lively Soi 6 road, however there are no girls in attendance so it offers a tranquil situation, although watching the world go by is fun. The food is good, one recommendation is the Tuna salad, at 95Baht (about £1.90) it was excellent and contained about 3 tins of tuna. I also enjoyed Shrimp Shumai or Dim Sum again about 95Baht. Chicken Curry was very pleasant at 95Bhat and combined with chicken fried rice 45Baht (about 90 pence) was another good option. What also stood out was the beer. A big bottle of ice cold Chang 630Mil and 6% proof was only 75Baht (just under £1.50). We enjoyed sitting there watching the world go by with a cold beer and good food and actually we would do the same again if we go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMoose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“30 cents extra to scramble the eggs?”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The menu had a picture of a two fried egg breakfast for 80 baht.
I asked to scramble the eggs please.

The bill? 90 baht! What? Why not 80 baht as stated on the menu?
"10 baht extra to scramble the eggs sir."

Anyway, I did save 10 baht because I would have left the waitress a 20 baht tip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epernay, France
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Thai on the beach”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Stone Oven located on Beach Road, overlooking the beach. A family run inexpensive restaurant, with a good range of Thai food and sandwiches. All good! Beer is a hot item in the evening, Beverage and beach view are excellent choices. A good value venue, worth a return visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lem0ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing yet affordable Thai food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great place heard so much about it from a couple of friends that we decided to try it for dinner one night after a bit of partying.
We took taxis and got a little lost and eventually made our way to the restaurant but unfortunately it was closed.So we ended up walking up beach road towards our hotel Nd ate some amazing street food.
We tried again and made it the following afternoon and the pork and pad Thai were really good
and surprisingly the price was cheaper than some of the street vendors

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruel_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good cheap lunch spot”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Really nice food, and cheap beer. The downside is the dodgy toilet. Great spot for lunch though, and very friendly staff. Shame it closed relatively early as we would have had a last beer before heading back to the hotel here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WildwomanLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Oven also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Stone Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing