We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vegetarian Food I've tried”

Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 1,624 Restaurants in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: International vegetarian kitchen, j or vegan. Many specialities like for example, original Italian vegetarian seafood pizza or risotto con fungi or saffron. New are Swiss Rosti and pancakes different styles. Indonesian Tempe can be ordered as sate, in some curries as well as in pasta and spaghetti. We banned white sugar and use brown sugar very careful. Beside soy bean oil for cooking we use pure coconut oil for frying and original Italian olive oil for the salads. Monosodium glutamate (MSG), sodium benzoate, artificial colouring, high fructose corn syrup, aspartame, trans fats or other chemicals are ***not*** to be found in our kitchen. As all vegetables are from the same day’s market we don't have to cover with extreme spice. We serve moderate spicy and put fresh chilli on the table. If you like more, let us know, we categorized in chillies from zero to five. You will not find: garlic and onions. Pre order and door to door service from 11 am to 11:00 pm, daily. The restaurant exists since over twenty years; the ambience has switched to European style, white and clean.
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

I specifically like the curry (I forgot the name) but it was so delicious. The pineapple rice (white rice) is good too. I cannot remember exactly everything we ordered but everything is delicious. Will definitely come back. ☺️

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Chel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thonglor S, Inhaber at Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

We thank you for this nice comment and await your next visit to serve you well again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 427 of 828 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2016

My husband and I had dinner at the Five Star J. Their menu features 175+ veg/vegan dishes which I think was awesome and offered a variety of choices. The owner is a very friendly man and gave recommendations when it came to ordering certain dishes. The food is very healthy and fresh, however not very delicious. We ordered a thai curry which was paired with red rice. The curry was slightly watery, not well spiced and did not gel well with the rice. Overall, an average place in terms of the taste of the food.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank Disha_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thonglor S, Inhaber at Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Every dish in our house is made fresh and we offer the spice in five categories. From 0, (no spice) to 5 (very hot, mostly ordered by Indonesians). We explain this in the menu and mostly personally.
More I think, we can't do to avoid complains like yours.
We also offer to choose every rice dish with black, red and white rice. There is no dish that comes with a red rice if you didn't order by yourself.
We like critical comments because they give us the chance to become better. In your comment I don't find something to modify. We will go on to offer these options and we will accept when guests made the wrong decision according to their own taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Excellent, top marks for everything. I am a very happy customer. Visited 5 star J regularly for a 2 week holiday, staff are superb, huge selection of delicious vegan food on the menu. The place is consistently very clean. The staff really have very good knowledge about healthy food and very helpful. When visiting 5 star J ask for a business card as it has a small map of location for 5 star J if returning again to show motorbike taxi for directions.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Geordieladcbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thonglor S, Inhaber at Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2016

Thank you Steve, for this nice comment. It's a pity that you'll leave us on Tuesday, we will miss you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

Its a paradise for vegan food. Food is very fresh. Menu is very elaborate. Service is excellent. Loved it!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank MadhuK614
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thonglor S, Inhaber at Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Than you very much for your nice comment, we hope we can welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

I had two different appetiser and both were fabulous.
The service excellent. A friendly atmosphere.
The room is kept white and stylish modern.
The choice of food is big and delicious!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank AlbinR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thonglor S, Inhaber at Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Thank you very much for this nice comment and the excellent ranking. We hope, we can serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Na Chom Thian, Sattahip
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Five Star J Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.