We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food OK but service terrible” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ritz

Cafe Ritz
Ranked #242 of 911 Restaurants in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food OK but service terrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is supposed to be a fine English restaurant. Menu was designed in a simple and clear understandable form. The food I had was lovely. Though the chef could have controlled the portion a bit more with common sense. Nearly everything was too much. There will be a big chunk of meat on the main course, served with 3 scoops of mashed potatoes. On the side, there is another big dish of steamed mixed vegetables, which also includes potatoes. Then, I had a small side dish of FRENCH FRIES, which I didn't ask for.

There were far too many waiters and waitress in this tiny restaurant which is about 4 * 10 square metre in area. Most of them speak very little English and when customers ask anything further about the items on the menu, their uniform answer was "Sorry I don't know what you say". There was an occasion that my mixed vegetables were missing. The waitress that I tried to remind did not have a clue of what "vegetables" means. My friend asked for a side plate and again, she didn't know what a plate is.

Overall, I think there is still space for improvement if the service could be a bit better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
130 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Divine surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

They have a menu with 3 courses at a very attractive price. The food was fresh, generous, tasty....they served you a lot of good vegetables! The wine is affordable. The dessert very good.
The service professional. We will come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asiatrip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
191 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Big Appetite? You will be satisfied!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

A little jewel in Jomtien is the Cafe Ritz. so we discovered on this trip. Traditional English Fayre with a very nice menu selection.

3 courses for 7.50 GBP (€9.00) you can't complain at that can you?

Having very hearty appetites we have to admit being beaten by the three courses and the huge selection of fresh vegetables that come along with the main course.

The Ritz Hotel it is not, but when you can dine under the stars for less than a tenner and then the only complaint you can make is "Oh I am so full" I say 3 cheers for the Cafe Ritz.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyDiamondS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
207 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Bad service, food ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The place is very cold, so not so comfortable when you are dining there. We asked the waiter to turn the Airco a little bit down, but that was refused. Food is ok, but the "service" of the staff should really be much better when you compare other places in that area.

Helpful?
Thank lentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good english style roast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Food and price excellent at B355 for 3 course traditional english roast, but staff could be improved!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adena3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ritz also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Jomtien Beach, Pattaya
Jomtien Beach, Pattaya
 

Been to Cafe Ritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing