We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but staff leave some room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Cliff Beach Terrace
Ranked #39 of 458 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My second time at this establishment. The first time I stayed at the Royal Cliff Beach Hotel, this time at the Beach Terrace. Booked 3 honeymoon suites (only ones available) for 4 of us. Hotel was very good. They ask for your credit when you do an online reservation, but do not charge your card. When you check in, they charge your card for all the nights you have reserved. Hence, I don't expect a refund if you happen to check out earlier than planned.

My first bad experience at check in - somehow the hotel had confirmed 6 suites for 4 of us for 4 nights. We tried to reason with them the logic of booking 6 suites for 4 of us, but the front desk did not want to listen to us. The reception manager was quite rude and insisted that we pay a cancellation charge of one night for each of the suites. Only with extended reasoning and many phone calls to her supposed supervisors, did she relent. Not a pleasant experience after an overnight flight and a drive from Bangkok. This is classified a 5 star hotel, but the guest relations are at par with a 3 star hotel. They do not speak much English, are very rude and almost make it seem like a chore to answer a question.

The suite was brilliant, awesome views of the ocean, very clean and the linen and bathrooms were spic and span. The lapping of the waves at night did make for a nice lullaby. Room service was prompt and very courteous and the people are generally quite nice. They do not linger around for a tip if you do not want to give them one.

The restaurants were very good - Panaroma was the coffee shop and the food was excellent. Me being a vegetarian had limited options here, but the options were delectable. Maharani is the Indian restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed their fare for 2 days. The food was superb and the views from the dining room are to die for - you get a full wall of glass overlooking the ocean, the beach and the islands. Brilliant ambience - one of the best I've seen. Makes for a relaxing brunch.

Hotel facilities are numerous. We took the risk of commissioning the jet skis from the operator attached to the resort by the beach, fully aware of the jet ski scams in Thailand. But this guy was really good and very honest. Ask for Bank next time you're there. He's a thin, bald guy with a tattooed body. They are very friendly and located next to Sam's bar on the beach. We sat in the bar/restaurant after the jet skiing and spent a couple of hours talking to the locals and generally had a laugh. They offer a discount on the jet skis after 5 PM. We took 4 out the first time for 1500 baht each for 30 mins. The second time, we took 3 out immediately after the 1st round for 1500 baht for about 40 mins. So we were given an extra 10 mins, but it depends on how you haggle with them. But make sure you get the latest models and the ones with the 1300cc engines. We didn't experience anything close to the horror stories told by other travellers on the jet ski scams.

There is a shuttle from all around the hotel to the main gate, which is a bit of a walk. This is very convenient, but I'd suggest renting a scooter for the duration you are there. Makes things very convenient. The infinity pool seemed a great place to unwind, but unfortunately was under renovation. The spa looked very good, but quite pricey when compared to the massages available outside - the clean ones. It's about 2200 baht for a full body oil massage, whereas we got the same done for 300 baht outside in the city, which was very good. But I'd expect the ambience would've been better for the spa treatment at the hotel. They also do massage treatments in your room if you'd like, subject to a 20% surcharge on the listed prices.

The check out process was very efficient, except that the bellboy made a face when I told him that my friend in one of the rooms was delayed and he would be ready to check out in 30 mins.

All in all, hotel and the rooms are excellent, food is very good, but the staff leave a lot to be desired of.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was very good. Although I stayed alone, it did make for one heck of a stay!! Ask...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jammi_jv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time and effort taken to write such a detailed review about your recent experience at Royal Cliff Beach Terrace and for returning to us for the second time .

We are very pleased to read that your overall experience and impression was positive and that you liked the room, view and cleanliness.

Thank you too for the great comments about the food in Panorama and Maharani which we have passed on to our culinary team.

However, I was very concerned to learn about the issue you encountered during check-in.

We have checked our records and I can confirm that 6 rooms were booked through our webpage and in line with the cancellation policy of 1 night then a 'no show' charge need to be applied if booked rooms were not used (or cancelled).

Nevertheless, guest feedback and continuous improvement is of utmost importance for our organization and we therefore very much appreciate your input.

Concerning your remark about our Spa I like to share with you that our prices are very reasonable and comparable with other hotels. Actually, we pride ourselves to provide a great Spa experience and good value for money. We hope you will have time to enjoy our Spa during your next visit.

On your remark about the level of English I am proud to let you know that we just recently had heavily invested in staff training (and English classes) and can assure you that on your next visit you will be able to see improvements and progress.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay at Royal Cliff Hotels Group.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.


With kind regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Royal Cliff Beach Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 256 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The resort is quite a distance from the centre of the city. But it is nice for those who wish to stay peacefully with private beach.
Hotel setting: The outlook and the rooms are a bit dated. The area around is pretty nice. Very beautiful and quiet private beach and large swimming pools, including a lovely infinity pool and jacuzzi. The bar is also nice decorated. I stayed in the honey moon suite but it's a bit disappointed. I was at first amazed with the room's decoration which was said to have recently been renovated. Very soon I found that the design and workmanship was not up to the standard of a 5-star. The bathroom was too small and there was no where to put your toiletries. Glass-partitioned bathroom with just a kind of cheap curtain to cover behind.
Service: The staff at the check-in counter was nice and seemed to be helpful. However, when I was told that my room would be at 4th floor, I was then given a room at 3rd floor. Anyway, I didn't insist that and accepted. They provided fresh fruits in the room, but only on arrival. The other day, I left a message requesting replacement of some fresh fruits but was never entertained. Anyway, the hotel sent us an "Anniversary" cake and it tasted good. The hotel provided free parking but it was always fully parked.
Catering: The breakfast buffet is just so so without much choice of food.
Location: It's in the South Pattaya and some distance from the centre city. Nice if you drive a car and prefer somewhere quiet and away from the crowd.
I like the pools and beach and the sea view from the room is really wonderful. I would have ranked it a 5-star if not for the workmanship and design of the bathroom.

Room Tip: All honey moon suites have nice sea view facing the beach. Request higher floor rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Royal Cliff Hotels Group on your recent stay in Pattaya.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed the location, the pools and the private beach areas.
However, I was saddened to read your comments on the bathrooms and the service level of our housekeeper to replace the fruits. We are already taking steps to improve on this.

The other issues pointed out in your review were discussed amongst the management and the respective managers are taking steps of improvement to avoid similar in the future.

On your next visit we can ensure you that we give you a better experience. Thank you so much for your feedback.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Warm regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our 7th visit to Royal Cliff and we loved it as much as we did 10 years ago. We are fortunate enough to have stayed at some pretty nice hotels, but this one takes the cake. The resort is set in the most beautiful spot and it was a pleasure to come back and see the most magnificent surroundings. As always, We were truly impressed by the level of service and especially the friendliness of the entire staff, from housekeeping to guest services to the restaurant staff and groundskeepers. Not only is this a beautiful resort that offers exceptional Thai experience, but the attention to detail from the staff makes it a truly memorable vacation. Our stay was coincided with a couple of large conventions held in the resort’s convention halls and we were amazed by the hotel staff efficiency and were surprised that such large gathering had little effect on quality of on our stay in the Royal Cliff. We would definitely come back to Royal Cliff and I recommend it to anyone with high expectations wanting a perfect getaway.

Room Tip: The pool area in the FITZ (Fitness club area ) which is accessed by a nice 3 minute ride on large g...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hossein_hosseini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are overjoyed to have you stayed with us for 7 times. Thank you so much for your loyalty and for writing an excellent review about Royal Cliff.

Our staff are trained extensively and they are very passionate about serving each customer with a personalised service. Thank you for your compliments on our exceptional Thai service.

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We look forward to your 8th visit to the state of exclusivity & fascination

Warm regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped in the terraces, and it was a wonderful stay. The service staff offer is exceptional, and rooms comfortable and spacious. Would love to go back one day! The pools around the hotel are lovely, and with lots to choose from weren't ever packed out! The whole resort offers something for everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules1973_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your 'wonderful' review of Royal Cliff Beach Terrace. We truly appreciate your kind words.

We are pleased to hear that you found the services exceptional, liked our comfortable rooms and enjoyed using the beautiful pools.

Thank you for recommending this exotic luxury hotel.

Please do visit us again in the future. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We will wait for your return to the state of exclusivity & fascination!

Warm regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

i take room for 1 day.to compare with royal cliff beach.coz i wanted to try them all.. was wonderful view there and u can hear the sound of waves..the room service was very fast and food was realy tasty. nice decorated room and transparent bathroom.in this hotel i felt feel very private.+5 i adore this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor!
We are delighted to hear that you also enjoyed your experience at Royal Cliff Beach Terrace.

I was very pleased to learn then you like the bathroom, the interior design and the food you had ordered from room service.

Your comments are most valuable and of great encouragement to continually maintain our high service level.

Thank you again for sharing your pleasant experience at our hotel and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back at Royal Cliff Hotel Group.

Warm regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here on a whim after a bit of a disaster in Vietnam. Wow what a difference, this hotel has superb staff and rooms. The wet edge pool was so relaxing, and the staff there really looked after us, making sure that we had plenty of protection from the sun etc. there is a scheduled vehicle to take you into Pattaya for 100b, I thought this was a bit expensive, however you got into town safely. We generally caught a tuk-tuk back for 150b for the two of us. All in all the staff and facilities were very good, we had a lovely relaxed few days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaLou444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your lovely comments and for posting your recent experience about Royal Cliff Hotels Group.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed the room, the pool and the service provided.

Particularly, it was great to read that you liked how the staff took care of you and it will be my pleasure to pass on your generous remarks to the team.

Feedback like yours is making a difference to motivate our team and keep up with the unparalleled service we strive to provide.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back for another relaxing stay with Royal Cliff Hotels Group – The State of Exclusivity and Fascination!

With kind regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having stayed the hotel on many occasions growing up as a child, to the point of starting my own family, I have never been disappointed. Great, ambience, fabulous food and superb view. The hotel has had several facelifts and management have made continual efforts to modernise the site, and still retain standards as expected.

The buffet is also one of the better hotels in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roamingbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Beach Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time you to share your recent experience about Royal Cliff Beach Terrace - Exotic Luxury.

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty and continued patronage over past years and for taking time to post such lovely comments for other travelers.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the ambiance, the food and views.

Further, it certainly feels good when the superior products (and our tireless efforts in upgrading and renovating the property) and services of Royal Cliff Hotels Group gets authenticated by our valued guests.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back for another - “happy time at your family favorite” - at Royal Cliff Hotels Group.

Best regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
#9 of 458 in Pattaya
628 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#22 of 458 in Pattaya
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
#1 of 458 in Pattaya
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Monttra Pattaya
The Monttra Pattaya
#40 of 458 in Pattaya
105 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
#18 of 458 in Pattaya
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cliff Beach Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cliff Beach Terrace

Address: 353 Phra Tamnuk Road, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#24 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#30 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range: $118 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Cliff Beach Terrace 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently upgraded in chic, exotic Thai style. The Royal Cliff Beach Terrace (Exotic luxury) provides a private sanctuary ideal for couples, honeymooners and families. Built directly into the cliff face and surrounded by tropical shrubbery. The hotel is just a few paces away from the beach and offers remarkable tranquility with its beachfront seclusion and serene atmosphere. The new Sunset lobby lounge offers guests the stunning view of the Gulf of Thailand. All accommodation has IPTV solution, LCD TV, bathtub and sea-view balconies with sun loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Cliff Beach Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cliff Beach Terrace Hotel Pattaya
Royal Cliff Terrace Pattaya
Royal Cliff Terrace Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing