We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May be I'm unlucky, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“May be I'm unlucky, but...”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Somehow my another review earlier was "disappeared" for some unknown but seemingly obvious reasons. Anyway, my 2 days in this place was OK but I won't say it's a decent 4-star experience - especially if it's only when things go smoothly under their "standard procedures".

Location: It is about 10 mins drive from downtown Pattaya. The good thing of this is you can hide away from busy town for a quieter life, but that also means you need to prepare to spend a fortune on taxi - their own transport is THB100/head one-way but you can take free shuttle to the main gate and grap a taxi at THB500/head.

Room: The decoration was a bit too old. You can tell they've done some refurbishment, but it's simply not enough e.g. the shower area was made of un-stylish marble and wallpaper was a bit yellowish. Free WiFi was also inclusive, but they created "value-added" service through upgrades to different speeds at different price tiers. Unlikely to be too useful I believe, but for those really keen to get a speedy internet it's one of your options.

Facilities. The private beach was very close by (roughly 200 steps away from lobby) but big tides/waves meant swimming was possible but albeit a bit dangerous. Alternatively, you can lie on the beach for a good sunbath tho. Swimming pools were plentful in the premises, and you can take a 5-min free shuttle to the nearby sports centres for facilities e.g. couple other swimming pools, gym etc.

Breakfast/Food: I won't say it's excellent but the choices were acceptable. Food in the restaurants were OK and prices were reasonable by local standards.

However it was the way they handled crisis which upset me - especially when you lock all the cash in the room safe trying to rush out for lunch. Despite right combination it's just simply can't open due to mechanical failure. 5 technicans were called and I can tell they tried really hard to fix, but they got no clue at all and finally decided to open it by violence after spending 2.5 hours on it. During the period, nobody really try to come up and comfort us other than the PIC of the front desk staff, nor asked if we need anything to eat/drink (we supposed to go out for lunch!) Well what I can say is you could easily tell they're not trained to handle situations and were not able to "take a step further" and think from their guests' point of view.

To summarise, you got a fair chance of a decent vacation - only if things not going wrong. Yes, may be I'm the 1 out of 1,000 guests who suffered from situations like this, but even if there's a 0.1% of happening this is still not acceptable. Definitely re-trainings are needed on crisis management (The GM and Resident Manager did a fantastic PR job) - perhaps on knowledge transfer to let the skill to reach working level staffs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Royal Cliff Hotels Group and for taking the time to share your experience to other travelers. Thank you also for meeting with me in person and accepting our apologies for the unfortunate circumstance about the safe.

We are sorry that you had to wait a long time but our General Manager did escort and offered free lunch to your family at a restaurant of your choice. It was our staff that informed us you had missed your lunch because of this incident. All our staff care for every single customer.

Based on your input, a detailed discussion with the engineering department was taken to review our quality control systems and to avoid similar mishap in the future.

Concerning your comment about the old rooms I have to clarify that over 80% of the rooms in the resort have been refurbished. We are now renovating the others so for future stay you will get to experience our renovated rooms with the Ultra Modern Style or Modern Thai Style.

For your information, the Royal Cliff Grand Hotel has recently renovated the guests rooms, some are brand new ultra Modern design and some are renovated in modern Thai Design. The entrance and Lobby have also been renovated to offer an authentic Thai style. The above works have been completed a few months ago.

Safe deposit: The safe was mal-functioned, but we have already returned the safe to the supplier. We will followed up with them to find out the cause of the problem. In the meantime, we have replaced a new safe deposit unit.

All the concerns you raised have been noted, discussed and action planned has been developed to improve our service level.

Please allow me to explain about the internet access of the resort. We provide free fast Wi-fi for every guest staying with us. The only time we charge is if a guest would like ultra fast speed. This however comes at a very reasonable price.

Further, based on earlier guest comments, Royal Cliff Hotels Group took steps of improvement by increasing seat availability and frequency of our shuttle service operation to enhance guest convenience (we offer a shuttle at THB 100 per person an trip).The reason that our team encourage you to use the hotel shuttle service is that we can guarantee your safety, comfort and ensure you arrive at your destination. We do not want you to risk using the local taxi and moreover we cannot guarantee your safety.

We hope that you will give us another chance in the future and I look forward to welcome you back for another stay at Royal Cliff Hotels Group.

With kind regards,

Robert Schnabel

Resident Manager
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    122
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
132
225
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Cliff Grant Hotel for 10 nights in November 2013. The hotel is just beautiful, the staff (and we mean all staff from the porters, to the restraurant staff, the front desk staff the pool staff, everyone were polite, friend, professional, helpful and knowledgable of their location and area of expertise. Checkin and checkout was good. We had booked directly with the hotel and the whole process was smooth and fast.

We stayed in a Sea View Suite on the 9th Floor and the view was fantastic. The room itself was very comfortable, clean and spacious. The housekeeping staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.

The pools were beautiful and pool staff helpful, we loved the infinity pool and spent many relaxing hours by and in the pools and of course the private beach. Breezo's was a great place to have a light lunch or a drink at night overlooking the Bay.

Breakfast was very good, plenty of variety, the only thing I would say is that I think they use powdered egg rather than fresh eggs to make the omelettes or scrambled eggs, it just tastes a little rubbery and heavy. Other than that, the selection offered is excellent.

We would l ike to thank all at the hotel for helping to make our holiday so wonderful and we will certainly visit again and recommend this facility to family and friends.

Room Tip: the hotel has a shuttle service which they charge 100baht per person to go into Pattaya, a taxi will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravellerACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your compliments. Nothing pleases us more than to hear that you had an amazing time with us. I have already passed on your kind words to all our staff. They are truly grateful and appreciated you acknowledged their hard work.

We also were very happy to read that you liked the room, the view from the balcony of the hotel.
Clean, comfort and convenience are the areas we strive for perfection at Royal Cliff.

We aim to offer exclusive and personalized service to everyone.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay with Royal Cliff Hotels Group – The State of Exclusivity and Fascination!

With kind regards,

Robert Schnabel
Resident Manager
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is our second stay in Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, and once again we were very happy to stay there.
Excellent hotel for a family holiday, staff so helpful and nice. Everyone from General Manager, Resident Manager, reception personel , catering and houskeeping were wonderful.
Great restaurants and excellent facilities! Loved the happy hour from 5-7 in the Grand Hotel lobby bar.

We'll be back.

Thanks,
Martina + family

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for bringing your family to stay at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel.

Thank you also for your compliments about the hotel, restaurant and our happy hour at the Grand Hotel lobby bar.

We are delighted that you had an excellent and relaxing stay with us.
It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family as our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your pleasant experience at our hotel and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Royal Cliff Hotel Group– The State of Exclusivity and Fascination!

With kind regards,

Robert Schnabel
Resident Manager
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had the pleasure to experience this breathtaking oasis on our trip to Pattaya, and we were highly impressed. We picked this hotel because it was secluded and it has a private beach, which gave us the opportunity to have a wonderful view right from our room. The swimming pool here is absolutely huge, and the room was highly comfortable and nicely decorated. The service was also flawless, and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. Overall, the Royal Cliff Grand Hotel was one of the best hotels we ever stayed in, and I would go back there every time without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmundUFrenchTasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely comments about your recent stay to other travelers.
It certainly feels good when our guests “brand” our superior products “ Incredible relaxing”.
We are happy to read that you liked our beach, the view from your room and service.
It will be my pleasure to share your compliments to the entire team and I am sure this will be a great motivation to them.

I was also very happy to read that you liked the new design of our infini pool.

Thank you again for sharing your pleasant experience at our hotel and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Royal Cliff Hotel Group– The State of Exclusivity and Fascination!

With kind regards,

Robert Schnabel
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I note the hot water, tired room issues from another reviewer so these need to be looked at. Overall the experience was fantastic. There's a pool that meets the ocean in a majestic and fun way. Needs lots to do with regards to Customer Service but maybe it's a general issue in Pattaya as compared to back home in Kenya. The logistical efficiency in Thailand is amazing. From Airport to Pattaya to Hotel Rooms to Activities to Bangkok - WoW
The cost of activities was quite affordable making this a great holiday destination.

Room Tip: Specify the Beach Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SsirKenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent visit to Royal Cliff Grand Hotel.

We wish to assure you that the room upgrading project is ongoing. About 70% of our rooms have been upgraded, including 3 floors of completely brand new rooms called “ the Grand Sea View Plus” which we have received a lot of positive comments.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations concerning to Customer Service. Rest assured that training have already been set up to improve on customer satisfaction level.

We also were very happy to read that you like our Infini pool.

I have already passed your compliments onto our logistic team, who are in charge of all transfers to and from the airport, about your kind words. They are very grateful and happy to know that you appreciate their service.l

We all look very much forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay with Royal Cliff Hotels Group – The State of Exclusivity and Fascination!

With kind regards,

Robert Schnabel
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Travelling with Family this Hotel has been a must for many years.
I note the blender issue from another reviewer, we also copped hard plastic pieces in our juices at Panorama so this needs to be looked at. Staying in a suite we had no hot water for our extended stay in our shower or sink. This was a major inconvenience and although the room size and balconies were excellent the room was dated and tired. I look forward to the new renovation being completed and hope it will be all rooms not just the few top floors to keep it in line with new offerings like the new Pattaya Hilton!
The restaurants were excellent and the meal I had at Maharani Indian was one of the best Indian meals I have had yet again.

The pools were great for the kids but unfortunately due to rain the kids club was closed for the duration of our stay, yet again maintenance issues.
The most annoying thing about this oasis is the remote location! Great, unless you want to get in or out of town! At a cost of 300-400 Baht per trip each way this means you are paying $20 plus dollars just to pop into town to do shopping, go to the movies, grab a bite to eat or get a massage.
All of these activities cost less than the car transport!!
I suggest the group of hotels should provide a free hourly shuttle to Central for guests. All other transport is not allowed to get through the gates and those coming back complained of having to pay at the gate.
I look forward to seeing a free shuttle or next stay might need to be at the Hilton for its convenience and modern rooms.

Room Tip: Suggest only staying in the new renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perthguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for bringing your family to stay at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel.
Thank you also for your compliments about the hotel, restaurant and our swimming pool. We are delighted that Maharani was one of the best Indian restaurant you have been to.

Base on your input about the blender, a detailed discussion with the Food and Beverage Manager (and his team) took place and the equipment will be replaced and a daily control system is being implemented.

We are planning to renovate the remaining Grand rooms this year to be more stylish and modern. This will be completed soon. On your next occasion we hope you will like our new rooms.

We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the hot water in the bathroom. Our engineer team did the best to fix this as soon as possible.

As for the shuttle bus service I am please to let you know that we have plans to extend the operation time of our shuttle bus service only at 100THB per person.

Funtasea - kid's world is now open for hotel guests. We apologise that it was closed during your stay.

Guests' happiness is our top priority so we take all reviews seriously. Thank you for your contribution so that we can use it to improve the hotel. We hope that you will visit us again so we can prove to you that your feedback was implemented and that we listen to all our guests.

With kind regards,

Robert Schnabel
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is superb, me and my fiancé spent a week being treated like royalty here last week and I truly cannot remember a time when we have been treated better, the staff are really attentive, helpful and alway smiling! The place is spotless and the food is excellent, the pools and private beach is superb and the location and view are loverly! Massive thank you to the staff from the both of us and I truly hope I will get the chance to return one day!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieransalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your compliments. Nothing pleases us more than to hear that you had an amazing time with us. I have already passed on your kind words to our staff and housekeeper. They are truly grateful and appreciated you acknowledged their hard work.

It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your fiance as our guests.

Please do find sometime to return to us. We truly enjoyed taking care of you.

We will wait for your return.

Best wishes,

Robert Schnabel
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#22 of 447 in Pattaya
1,076 reviews
3.1 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 447 in Pattaya
1,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
#1 of 447 in Pattaya
344 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 447 in Pattaya
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cliff Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cliff Grand Hotel

Property: Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Address: 353 Phra Tamnuk Road | (part of the Royal Cliff Hotels Group), Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#8 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#16 Family Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Cliff Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern architectural wonder, the Royal Cliff Grand Hotel (formal luxury) fulfills every expectation implied by its name, from the sweeping curves of its sea-facing balconies to the impressive atrium lobby. Its beautifully landscaped area, infinity edge swimming pool and sun decks are for the exclusive use of the hotel's guests. The hotel has just gone through a major upgrade in 2015 and has added many new facilities including a cigar lounge. Furthermore the hotel offers the sophisticated business travelers with state of the art technology and business center suites. All the rooms and suites are equipped with IPTV solution and balcony so all guests can enjoy the breathtaking view. Finally you are always connected staying at the Grand Hotel as fast Wifi is offered free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Royal Cliff Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cliff Grand Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing