We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with a few flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 456 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

One of the best hotels in Pattaya, luxurious, comfortable, great location and views, friendly and obliging staff. We stayed there for a quick 7 day vacation, and liked it.
A few things weren't as perfect as you'd expect from a 5 star hotel though. Food we ordered from room service was lousy (especially the burger), and the ladies at the 'Beautiqe' beauty salon don't really know what they're doing. I had a french manicure, it basically looked like I did it myself while being blindfolded :-) Considering the price, those kind of things shouldn't happen in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloomy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your compliments and for saying we are one of the best hotels in Pattaya.

We apologize for our below par service standard during manicure treatment and food served in room service. Rest assured that steps have already been taken to improve on these matters.

Thank you again for sharing your experience of your stay with us to other travelers.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your return.

With kind regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 660 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

I would say that the service is below average but the accommodations are good. Location on the beach is outstanding. The infinity pools are positioned perfectly to blend into the scenery. The several restaurant and the business lounge on the 9th floor give you room to spread out, even when the weather is not good.

The room with the mountain view is fine, a water-view is not necessary because the dining and swimming areas are right on the water in any case. Housekeeping was responsive and replaced a broken light bulb without delay.

The concierge appeared to be unwilling to summon outside transportation and repeatedly tried to push their own transportation, which is more expensive than the typical commercial taxi service.

Other than the buffet, I think that most people will find better dining options outside the facility. I did not care for the seafood at the Thai restaurant in the hotel. It's partly the way that they clean and cook the fish than anything else. Local fish is usually just partly cleaned and when it's served requires some dissection of skin and some of the fish bones.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is huge and no matter your taste, you will find something that you will like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IHG_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Royal Cliff Hotels Group on your recent visit to Pattaya and for taking the time to post your review for other travelers to read.

We were very happy to read that you liked our popular breakfast buffet, the room, and our spectacular infini pool. We have commended our housekeeper for her efficient service to you.

Concerning location - in fact - most of our guests consider the location as an advantage since we are away from the hustle and bustle of Pattaya, yet in proximity to the downtown area.
Pattaya town can be reached (by car) within 5 minutes.

Further, based on earlier guest comments Royal Cliff Hotels Group took steps of improvement by increasing seat availability and frequency of our shuttle service operation to enhance guest convenience (we offer a shuttle at THB 100 per person an trip).

The reason that our team encourage you to use the hotel limousine service is that we can guarantee your safety, comfort and ensure you arrive at your destination. We do not want you to risk using the local taxi and moreover we cannot guarantee your safety.

Once again thank you for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Royal Cliff Hotels Group soon.

Warm regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel. Originally we booked at the Beach Royal Cliff but went for a short stroll and had sashimi at the Grand and looked at a room.Once we had , we thought we'd like the style and grace of the Grand better.
We were right and it was worth the "top-up" cost of 35AUD a night for both the style and the complimentary extras.
All the staff were really friendly, particularly in the breakfast room where Saishua was like a lovely sister to us.
Food at the Japanese,poolside and Thai restaurants was top shelf, excellent authentic and beautifully presented food, again served with lots of smiles.

The resort seemed very underbooked which suited us and the access to the private beach, great pool and pool side service was appreciated.
We trevel internationally 2-3 times a year and this accomodation option; being so nice and a bit away from the busy main pattaya, suited us well.
Some may find the taxi to and from the shopping and bars etc to be a cost but we found it was a benefit to be away from the smog,noise and threats of "walking street" .

A great way fro security conscious travellers to experience Pattaya with a feeling of safety and in small excursions for massage, shows etc.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms are what you want, as usual, above 8th floor is best view (over adjacent hotel) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at with us and for sharing your experience to other travelers.

I was very happy to read that you had a great experience here.

It was pleasure to have you as our guest.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay with Royal Cliff Hotels Group – The State of Exclusivity and Fascination!

With kind regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had the immense good fortune to stay at this beautiful Hotel.
I was greeted by Stephanie. Stephanie has decorum and charisma, she
heads up the Customer Service Department - a role she was created to
control. My room was perfect, reminiscent of the original Raffles in Singapore.
Everyone - from the delightful owner to the Porters were exceptional.
This was a business trip. I'm hoping to revisit with my wife this Christmas or
New Year. I cannot sing their praises enough. It was another of those triple wows!!!!
Save youselves for breakfast - you will not have a better breakfast anywhere.
If you find a Bloody Mary a little bit too spicy ask him for a Bloody Matthew - no tobasco
or pepper. It's absolutely superb. I was sad to leave and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask Stephanie or anyone on reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt76_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your generous comments about your recent visit.

It certainly feels good when the superior products and services of Royal Cliff Hotels Group gets authenticated by our valued guests and we appreciate that you took time to review our hotel and for putting us on par with the Raffles Hotel.

I was very happy to read that you liked the room, service and breakfast provided.

We also appreciate your remark that you found the “Bloody Mary” too spicy and I have passed this on the beverage department.

Thank you as well for your lovely comments about the friendly service extended by our Guest Relation Manager Stephanie who will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed her friendliness and hospitality.

Feedback like yours is making a difference to motivate our team and to keep up with the unparalleled service we strive to provide.
It was pleasure to have you as our guest.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay with Royal Cliff Hotels Group – The State of Exclusivity and Fascination!

With kind regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

old needs refurb, for a 5 star - work needs to be done on all levels , beds were very comfortable but rooms really need some work for the star rating, staff at checkout were poor considering the rating, however room service and bar staff great. expensive not goo

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for choosing Royal Cliff Hotels Group for your recent stay in Pattaya and for your comments.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed the service provided by the room service and bar staff and it will be pleasure to pass on your remarks.

Concerning your comment about the old rooms I have to clarify that over 80% of the rooms in the resort have been refurbished. We are now renovating the others so for future stay you will get to experience our renovated rooms with modern furniture.

Further, I was saddened to read that the service during check out was lacking and we are keen to better understand what we missed (kindly mail additional details to wannarat@royalcliff.com). We are truly sorry about this. I will personally speak with the check out team.

Please do visit us again as we strongly believe we can replace these experiences with happier memories.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back at Royal Cliff Hotels Group – The State of Luxury and Fascination.

With kind regards

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013. This has been our 5th stay here,and each time it is like a new visit.and someone always recognises you. The staff are so friendly and helpfull. we stayed for 4 nights and no need to leave the grounds ,you can move around many pools and beach all day. Eat at a different fabulous restaurant each evening if you have room to fit in more food after the most amazing choice of breakfast items from the breakfast buffet, you need to have a A- LA- CARTE breakfast ocassionaly to stop over eating. and top quality. (Ive written a review for the GRILL Room,amazing place,so good we ate their twice). Yes the hotel is getting older,arent we all and our bodies dont look like when we where born after20, 30,or 40 years.But the Hotel standard's of the fixtures and fitting are immaculate and spotlessly clean. We stay at many hotels thru out the world,some of similar age, and usually they are not so well maintained as this hotel. ( some things at the newer infinity pool are not so perfect, many missing tiles, But we watched how quickly it was constrcted to keep guests happy,) We consider the infinity pool could do with some trees in the 2 circles close to stairs that where being repaired while we where there, Anda big shade sail going out over the pool would be amazing to keep cool as their is no shade place when you are in the pool, as it is so hot you get badly burnt quickly, ICE CREAMS poolside amazing . Lotus club lounge is wonderfull, But sadly now only has sweet biscuits on offer (The biscuits are amazing good quality and tasty,But NOT GOOD FOR A DIABETIC). We liked it much more when their where some canapes, fruit and club sandwiches on offer ,instead of now only biscuits. Sad the BBQ Seafood buffet is only on a SAT night ,it makes it hard to match a booking where it includes and stay over the weekend to partake of this highlight. another mid week would be good. But overall my family all where waiting to arrive to this hotel as it is always the highlight of our stay in Thailand.
And as expected all dissapointed when we needed to pack up and leave. In all my world travels, This is my most favourite place i look forward to comming back to visit again.
All Reastaurants are up to fine standard.
Yes, and i agree it is lovely the place is not overrun with screaming children.I had my son with me, but he knew how to behave in this environment.it is easy to do this when you see all other people acting similarly

Room Tip: I havent had a bad room here,all rooms have excellent view. the last stay we booked a Grand club roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty and patronage over the last couple of years and for taking time to post such excellent comments on tipadvisor.com.

I was very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you liked the friendly service and the food at the Royal Grill Room and breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to write another review about The Royal Grill Room.

Your lovely comments were conveyed to our associates because feedback like yours is making a difference and motivate our team to keep up the “Royal Cliff Service”.


We just recently refreshed the lobby looks at Beach Hotel and over 70 percent of our rooms inventory have been recently refreshed and updated (take a look at our newly renovated rooms by clicking http://www.royalcliff.com/luxury-hotel/beach-mini-suite-plus-mountain-viewsea-view.php).

Thank you as well for patronizing and recommending The Royal Grill Room in the restaurant section as this will assist other readers to select their preferred dining venue in Pattaya.

We also appreciate your input concerning more shade around the pool, the BBQ and the food variety offered at the Lotus Lounge. This will discussed during our next management meeting with the aim to find a better solution.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay with Royal Cliff Hotels Group.

Warm regards,

Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 3 days at a meeting at the on campus PEACH Convention Center and stayed at the Royal Cliff Grand Hotel. Beautiful complex of 4 related hotels and the convention center on 64 acres beach side. The facilities were very good, but the best part was the outstanding staff. When we indicated that our car back to Bangkok was scheduled at 5 PM, they cheerfully extended our late checkout till 5pm. Always helpful and courteous. Restaurants excellent.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank MACPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Cliff_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Cliff Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your compliments.

We are all pleased to know that you liked our facilities and that you had a successful meeting at our convention centre - PEACH.

I very much appreciate your lovely comments and it will be my pleasure to pass them on to our associates (particular that you found that our service is the best part of your experience).

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay with Royal Cliff Hotels Group.

With kind regards,


Christoph Voegeli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#24 of 456 in Pattaya
1,117 reviews
3.1 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#11 of 456 in Pattaya
1,626 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
#17 of 456 in Pattaya
1,738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
Royal Wing Suites & Spa
#1 of 456 in Pattaya
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cliff Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cliff Grand Hotel

Address: 353 Phra Tamnuk Road | (part of the Royal Cliff Hotels Group), Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#5 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#15 Family Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range: $122 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Cliff Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern architectural wonder, the Royal Cliff Grand Hotel (formal luxury) fulfills every expectation implied by its name, from the sweeping curves of its sea-facing balconies to the impressive atrium lobby. Its beautifully landscaped area, infinity edge swimming pool and sun decks are for the exclusive use of the hotel's guests. The hotel has just gone through a major upgrade in 2015 and has added many new facilities including a cigar lounge. Furthermore the hotel offers the sophisticated business travelers with state of the art technology and business center suites. All the rooms and suites are equipped with IPTV solution and balcony so all guests can enjoy the breathtaking view. Finally you are always connected staying at the Grand Hotel as fast Wifi is offered free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Cliff Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cliff Grand Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing