We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Cliff Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Ranked #19 of 441 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

This must be my 3rd or 4th time to The Royal Cliff Hotels. On this occasion I stayed on the newly refurbished 8th floor of the Royal Beach Hotel.
The hotel has had many new features and even a new marble floor on the 8th. The room itself was large and spacious with a nice lounge area separated from the main bedroom. This I found an ideal location to work from. The bathrooms now have glass walls looking out onto the bedroom which makes the rooms look even larger and let the natural light flood in. My only problem was the water wasn't very hot but on mentioning this, problem solved!
I had a great view over the gulf of Siam and the new infinity pool which I had to myself before breakfast. A beautiful start to the day. Breakfast was a culinary feast from around the world and really sets you up for the day.
The weather was unusually bad during my stay but that didn't spoil my time at the hotel as there is so much to do. Just watching the storm roll in and out of the Gulf from the 8th floor is priceless.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    272
    104
    46
    37
See reviews for
259
316
51
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

Royal Cliff Beach Hotel at Pattaya is Great Value for Money. It is a big property with a great view. It has it's own beach with water sports. The Hotel has 3 Swimming pools and the viw from pool is breathtaking. The Rooms are good size and it also seves vegeterian meals for vegeterians. In all, a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishnu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Firstly I must point out that I had been recommended this hotel from an elderly friend who had spent many happy stays here in the 1980’s.

On arrival to the Beach hotel (which is the oldest of the properties) my first impressions were not that great as we were met with the ugly concrete frontage of the hotel and the oil stained forecourt rather reminds you of a long service petrol station and not that of a tranquil 5 star resort hotel.

The main points to raise and possibly that need addressing by the owners are :
Damp dated carpets, the dated furniture and fittings, the concrete! Masses of concrete, The noisy and tacky breakfast area, the empty and depressed bars shops and dark coridors , the over priced drinks and snacks. The polluted and dirty beach area which actually doesn’t have a beach but a raised mass of yet more concrete.

'definatly not the 5 star resort it claims to be' a reall disappointment in Pattaya !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckystar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

The hotel, at first, when walking into the lobby, give the impression of a high end establishment. Once arriving into the room, however, it was the details that made the stay fall apart. The safe that is now a standard in almost every hotel I have ever been too, was broken. The king size bed that was promised was two twin beds pushed together. The shower was a trip hazard, being slick and slippery, even with the provided shower shoes. Most of the light swtiches did not work, as well as the patio door lock. An alarm clock was not present, making a wake up call necessary if one wants to get up on time. The decor, however, was stylish and pleasing to the eye. There was no mistake that the room was clean and sanitary. The hotel boasts over 15 resturants and bars, most of them small and their selection even smaller. While eating in the resturant known as the Panarama, a small cafe style location with a very tacky panarama of fish over the windows, the noise was often bothersome. The phone was loud and could be heard across the whole resturant, often cutting a conversation short due to its annoying sound. Many of the other resturants around the hotel had the same problem. A gift shop located in the lower level was a joke, housing a small assorment of figurines and odd end clothes, staffed by three women who spent most of the time I was in there talking on their cell phones. The Royal Cliff Beach Hotel is a place for those who only care about getting a nights sleep before going back out into the city of Pattaya and are not looking for the hotel experience. I would give this hotel a 4/10, a clean hotel, but its attention to detail lacking greatly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeFort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

When i comes to location, i wouldn't say this is the best in town. Nothing is in a walking distance. Plus you have to walk the steps from the Hotel down to the beach. But if you're driving anyway and don't mind the steps, this Hotel is definitely worth it.

I was there with two friends. We booked a mini-suite sea-view room and was satisfied with it. The room was spacious and clean.

There were two pools (that we knew of). One of them was under renovation when we visited, but the other one near the beach was nice and quiet (though a little deep). Actually the whole hotel was very quiet as there weren't many guests when we visited.

What I particularly like about this Hotel is the staff. Staffs at most hotels in Thailand may be well-trained, but those at Royal Cliff Beach aren't just well-trained, they are GENUINELY service-minded. They made us feel very special. :)

We also loved the Thai restaurant and the Sushi bar. They served one of the best sashimi. It wasn't pricey at all compared to the quality of food and service. Outstanding.

All in all, it would be too much to say that this Hotel is a five-star. It's a bit old (but definitely not run-down). But if you're looking for a quiet beach getaway near Bangkok, then this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mllenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed here for about a week in early August at the start of our Honeymoon. The staff and hotel are second to none. Simply fantastic. They could not do enough for us. The quality and choice of food was excellent. The pools etc are excellent. It was rainy season so we had some rain but this has nothing to do with the hotel. The Grill bar is worth a look. We had the best meal we have had in a long time there. Food was exceptional. You have to get a taxi to the main shopping areas etc but they are cheep approx 300TBH. Getting back is even cheaper.

On the whole it was a perfect hotel to strat off our married life. We hope to return again sometime in the future, fingers crossed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

“Love the Nature & Stay There”

Royal Cliff Beach Resort!
We decided not to visit Krabi this year. Instead, we decided to try something closer to Bangkok. Two years ago we stayed at the Sofitel Hua Hin, which was also a nice hotel. This time we chose the Royal Cliff Beach Hotel a fabulous place.
>From the moment we entered the newly refurbished lobby, I knew we were in for a treat. Besides the artistic design and magnificent vistas, we were greeted by a young lady receptionist who introduced us to the GM of the Resort who quickly made us feel like VIPs.
We had the pleasure of staying in a Theme Suite with marvelous ocean views. The facility consists of beautiful lush tropical gardens in a magnificent hillside setting. There is nothing conforming about this property, it is totally unique. A walk around the botanical grounds is an experience you will never forget.
The food in the 10 restaurants was wonderful. The Maharani Indian restaurant overlooking the water and the fulfilling breakfast buffet were all treats.
The people at the Royal Cliff made this a completely charming experience.
I won't forget the servers in the buffet who paid special attention to us. Even the bellman was special.
We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
#10 of 441 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#3 of 441 in Pattaya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
3.0 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
2.5 mi away
Amari Garden Pattaya
Amari Garden Pattaya
#25 of 441 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
2.5 mi away
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Cliff Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Cliff Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Address: 353 Phra Tamnuk Road | (part of the Royal Cliff Hotels Group), Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#14 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#14 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#18 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#24 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Cliff Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 544
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The vibrant and lively Royal Cliff Beach Hotel (Casual luxury) is located in the heart of the Royal Cliff Hotels Group. The hotel went through extensive renovation recently and the rooms offer IPTV solution. Providing exceptional value for money, the hotel offers a wide range of accommodation and all the benefits and facilities of a luxurious five star resort including, 11 restaurants, 5 bars, 2 health spas, Thai cooking school, fitness centre, 7 floodlit tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 7 swimming pools, kids' world, Teen lounge, exclusive beach and private catamaran. There is also a business centre equipped with the latest Apple Macs available within the resort for business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Cliff Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cliff Beach Pattaya
Hotel Royal Cliff Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing