We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible front desk absolutely no service standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya
Ranked #18 of 442 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible front desk absolutely no service standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hard Rock Pattaya has the worst front desk staff that I have experienced! I have stayed in much cheaper hotels and stayed in hostels who have better trained courteous staff who are happy to help and understand service standard is key to the whole experience. The front desk are rude, no greeting, impolite and just look impatient all the time. Led by a man with thin face spiky hair in black shirt so i assume he is supervisor level. Guest services is fine and the staff at the pool are great but just severely let down by front desk. The general manager should be ashamed of himself and the front desk should not be in a people facing role. Will not stay at hard rock again. Now in Courtyard Marriot. Bangkok where we are pleasantly greeted

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Will W,

Greetings from Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya and with first instance, please accept our sincere apology on our service shortcomings at the Front Counter as, you’ll understand these are not reflective of our aspirations and standards at all.

I’d personally address this matter with the bandmember concerned and have had detailed discussion with my colleagues to follow-up and make improvements as well. We would like to thank you for bring up this point, as it is only through these feedbacks that we will improve. Again, we truly regret on this particular incident and we apologize for your negative experience during your stay with us.

On a positive note, we thank you for your cool comments as well and we hope this isolated incident would not prevent you from visiting us again.

We thank you for your patronage and should you have the opportunity to visit us again, please be so kind to contact me directly.

With kindest regards,
Patrick Ng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    710
    211
    49
    34
See reviews for
618
521
159
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I and my friend stayed at Hard Rock for 3 nights and quite satisfied. Hotel was beautiful, nice decor. Our room was spacious, clean with a big bath room. Hotel staffs were friendly and helpful. But what we like the most in this hotel was swimming pool. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Despite web booking for two adults and a child only two single beds were provided.
Surcharges were added to the headline room rate and for our son to use the executive facilities that went with the room.
The executive express check in took an hour and our luggage a further half hour.
The bar knew nothingabout the complimentary drinks.
When I expressed my disatisfaction on check out there wasn't even an appology.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnie1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Donnie1326,

Greetings from Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya and we thank you for patronage of our Hotel recently. With first instance, do accept our sincere apologies to you and your family for our shortcomings as, you’ll understand these are not reflective of our aspirations and standards at all. Further to that, do allow us to address issues pertaining to your queries.
We should have made known to you in advance that a nominal surcharge is levied for any extra person staying on these floors which includes additional perks and exclusivity usage of our Kings Club Lounge. On the bedding configuration, our Booking Confirmation did specified the bed type availability on that time, nevertheless our staffs should have re-clarify your bedding preference again upon your check-in. We sincerely apologize to you on this matter and also the delayed occurred during your check-in and luggage delivery due to busy periods. Rest assures I will personally address these issues with our colleagues.
We are sorry for your negative experience during your stay with us. I have had a detailed discussion with my colleagues to follow-up and make improvements, and I'd like to thank you for bring up the points, as it is only through these feedbacks that we will improve. Should you have the opportunity to visit us again, please be so kind to contact me directly.

With kindest regards,
Patrick Ng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel is located in prime area..easy access to the market, restaurants etc...Nice view from the room..Nice balcony...excellent service by the help desk staff..Every saturday there is a foam pool party, which is free..Overall its an excellent experience..we had stayed there for 4 nights..

Room Tip: Ask for Beach view rooms...they are awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfirockz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, our first being for 1 night in October this year. As we live in Bangkok Pattaya is a nice distance to come away for a long weekend and staying at the Hard Rock really makes it feel as though we are on holiday, even though we are only 2 hours from home. I only booked the hotel at about 1pm on Saturday, I rang them directly to check for availability and they sorted it out promptly.
All taxi drivers know where the hotel's so getting a taxi from the bus station is easy. If you get a shared songtaew with others doubt multiple drop-offs expect to pay 20b per person, if you have your own songtaew it'll be about 100 and takes about 10 minutes.
The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. They did at first require our passports for check in but as we live over here we didn't think to bring them. Although slightly worried our weekend was at an end before it started, the staff were able to easily retrieve our details from our previous stay and that was sorted.
On both visits the rooms have been nicely decorated, spacious and clean. Due to our late booking though we did have to accept two single beds, although they were massive! The beds and pillows are also very comfortable.
People say The Hard Rock Cafe is expensive. It is in comparison to Thai food but it is no more expensive than what I would pay in England for a good meal.
The pool is a great size with a good amount of Sun beds. There are lots of activities that go on throughout the day too and opportunities to win a free glass of beer (for adults) or soft drink (for kids) which goes down well with most guests. There is aPpoolside bar too and staff who walk around with menus so you don't have to leave your seat.
The gym is well equipt and usually quiet. They provide towels and water too.
All in all another great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaiTravelJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear ThaiTravelJade,

Welcome back and we thank you for your great comments of our Hotel in which I’m proudly share with our bandmembers.

Should you plan to visit us again, do let us know and rest assures we will take care of your preferred requirement.

With kind regards,
Patrick Ng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Booked two rooms with two other friends 6 months in advance. I had emailed hotel a few times to confirm that we would like to book one room with two single beds and the other room with one king size bed. Upon check in, the front desk staff verified these details and allocated our rooms. When I entered my room I was surprised to find two single beds (which are the size of double beds each!!) and not the king size I had communicated only 5 minutes earlier and which I was supposedly allocated by the front desk staff. My friends' room was as requested. I called and asked for room with king size bed and they obliged, however, I had to wait a further hour while a room was prepared. Although only a minor complaint, thankfully the rest of our stay was fantastic!

I must admit, though, that the king size bed room was much smaller than my friends' room with the two double beds- their room was huge, though my room did have a small balcony. The beds and pillows are super corfortable, lots of entertainment value using TV (you have to pay more for more of an extensive range), internet is expensive at BAHT400 per 24 hour period. Minibar, laundry, spa treatments and onsite restaurants all rather expensive too which was expected.

Gym was well equiped, pool area was huge but not too deep, staff were quirky but still friendly and helpful, breakfast was fantastic with vast selection to choose from, beach just across the road.

Location wise, it is about 10-15 minute walk to most of the popular big shopping centres and about 20 minute walk to Walking Street- that is for most fit and able people walking at a good pace. Probably add another 10 minutes if you prefer to slow walk. However, I think many people just chose to take a shared taxi or metered taxi as it is a decent distance away. We preferred to walk everywhere and take all the craziness of Pattaya in. Just to mention, there is no shortage of restaurant offerings!!!

The hotel does have many kids staying here, but I still do recommend to singles and couples too as they did not affect our stay at all!! The hotel does have a "happening vibe" about it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear nicesun,

Greetings from Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya and we thank you for your patronage of our Hotel. All in all, thank you for your great comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apology in regards to the initial wrong allocation of room bed configuration as mentioned. As for the charges for the usage of internet, we do have special deals in our official Hotel’s webs that includes complement usage of wifi.

Once again, thank you and should you have plan to visit us again, do let us know and we will personally take care of all your requirement.

Warms regards,
Patrick Ng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

No free wifi or ethernet at this price. Plenty of guests that are there for 'one-night', but probably more family-friendly than other cheaper hotels. Reception/concierge is helpful and friendly. Location is good, but a bit too far from walking street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianAmericanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Pattaya, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear AsianAmericanNYC,

Greetings from Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya and we hope you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the great comments. Kindly visit our Hotel’s official website for best deals that includes free usage of wi-fi.

Should you have the opportunity to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we have special perks for all our returning guests.

Kindest regards,
Patrick Ng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#10 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Pattaya
Hilton Pattaya
#15 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Dusit Thani Pattaya
#20 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#22 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya
Address: 429 Moo 9, Pattaya Beach Road | Cholburi, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pattaya
#10 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#12 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#16 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located an hour and a half drive from Bangkok, for work, play, meetings or parties, there is something for everyone and everything that rockers would wish. The 323 rooms & suites include exceptional Rock Star Suites, new accommodation for families with kids, luxurious digs for Composers and Executives, and Sea & City view Deluxe rooms for those on a break, to chill or to work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Pattaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing