We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by bad service level”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Ranked #20 of 442 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Let down by bad service level”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Chose what we thought one of the best 5* properties in Pattaya (after a wonderful experience in their Dubai property), was sadly let down by the service level of what must be untrained staff.

Checked into a marvellous double deluxe sea facing room, but had strong cigarette smells. It was the only room available to us over the long weekend despite booking 2 months ago. Hotel placed an aromatic incense burner to rid the smells but it kept us up all night coughing and sore throats. Most of the smells disappeared when the carpets were vacuumed and the sheets changed the next day (there's an obvious question here of whether the sheets changed and vacuuming done BEFORE new guests check in?). Asking for more incense the next day took 2 hours, only after the duty manager and housekeeping supervisor was called out. Housekeeping weren't communicating with the front office of our issues and required remedies so every request was a total surprise to all concerned. Having to explain what I wanted several times during the 'pass the phone' exercise was utterly frustrating.

The property is on an excellent location, excellent views but a little dated (carpets are filthy with black streaks in it - until vacuumed), all mod cons are available incl. balcony, excellent restaurants within and nearby including transportation that t are you around Pattaya City, clean en-suite with good strong rainfall shower. WiFi was free for up to 5 devices.. but I won't be back as I'm sure there are other hotels which look after their customers needs. This hotel is NOT worth the 5* rating that it got, keep the F&B people but change management to people who know what they are doing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hanra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Han,

Thank you for your kind review.
Please accept my apologies for the bad experience you had. I am equally disappointed that we did not get to make it right during your stay with us even though we offered you a room change. I assure you that we do change the sheets, linen and vacuum all rooms thoroughly after each guest checks out. I regret that we did not manage to totally get rid of the cigarette smell.

My sincere apologies for our shortcomings and I honestly hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again as we look forward to welcoming you back with a more postive stay experience.

With kind regards,

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    563
    183
    82
    32
See reviews for
439
740
97
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have to agree with 190762Sue about the so called pool problems its the refurbishment of all parts of the Dusit Thani Pattaya that makes it such a wonderful hotel we also are looking forward to our return to the Dusit but unlike Sue we have to wait until early October before we'll be back in the best hotel in Pattaya if not the whole of Thailand.
I'm sure people could use the Lagoon pools or the beach below the Lagoon pool as there always seems to be plenty of room whenever we are there in fact a few times when we were last there a few afternoon our soon and daughter were the only two people in the water.
There have been previous visits when ther have been working going on once or twice within the hotel but its never stopped us having a wonderful time at the hotel, we would not think of staying anywhere else in Pattaya.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you very much for posting your comments. We appreciate very much your support !
Looking forward to weloming you back to your "second home" in October.

With kind regards,

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our 3rd stop on our honeymoon. We stayed for 8 nights and everything was perfect. We had a garden view room. The bed was very comfortable and the toiletries were excellent. There was a fridge in the room and complimentary water left every day. Someone called at the room around 6 everyday to see if we needed anything else. The sheets and towels were changed on a daily basis. The bath robe was changed when requested. The sunloungers are very comfortable and the staff always put towels on for us which seemed to be heated. They also ensured that the umbrella was in the preferred position. We had afternoon tea one day which was lovely. We only had breakfast so can not comment on the restaurant. I had an hours reflexology manicure and pedicure at the salon at the roundabout for £12 which I would highly recommend. The salon in the hotel was expensive in comparison to the salons in the town. We ate at Gullivers on the beach road that our rep recommended and it was very good. The only downside to the hotel was that pigeons roosted above our balcony and you can imagine the mess however the balcony was cleaned daily. There was building works going on at the pool when we were there but we never heard anything. As for the rest of Pattaya well it has to be seen to be believed but the hotel made up for everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivyviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are extremely grateful to you for taking the time to leave the kind review of your stay. We are absolutely delighted that you are happy with our room and facilities, but are especially pleased to read that you enjoyed very much the reflexology manicure and pedicure at our Devarana Spa
On behalf of all the team at the resort, thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

cant wait to arrive September 9th 3 weeks only heard good feedback - 4 weeks 4 days to paradise! WHY ARE people still complaining re the pool refurbishment - there are another two to use plus the beach - people would complain if the pool was not up to standard

so when do they expect the Dusit to complete the refurbishment? Thailand is another world amazing all the time - just enjoy your holiday we intend to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190762Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Sue,

Many thanks for your comments, appreciate it very much. Our Chaba pool renovation will be completed by mid September, 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back next month.

With kind regards,

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We are also due back at the Dusit Thani in October. We also always pay extra to have the lovely sea view.
With regards to the comments of the building work, when we go there is always some form of renovations going on always with minor distruptions .
With regards to Chaba pool we don't use this and if the work starts at 10-6 well most people are sitting at the pool so won't be in the room looking and listening to the building work.

With regards to the carpets that are filthy , last October all the carpets were replaced in the renovation program.

I would not like a dirty room or stained carpet , but in my experience with the Dusit Thani the staff and management at the hotel will be happy to resolve any minor problems to keep guests happy and satisfied . Surprised at the comments of unpleasant staff at breakfast , yes in the past due to other events it can get really busy but have found the staff do smile and work really hard.

With regards to towel changes if you use the towels and they come to the room to deliver water and orchid they will take wet towels away and leave new ones never found this a problem.
Also with regards to extra pillows the maid will be more than happy to supply these for you.

We have been going to this hotel for a good few years and in our opinion it has lovely grounds , great staff , and has best location in Pattaya .

As the other reviewer said go with the flow and enjoy this special hotel we also are looking forward to our three weeks stay in October it can't come quick enough . We are counting the weeks.

We meet lots of friends at the Dusit new and old as most people do visit again

We are so looking forward to coming back .

Anne and Willie.

Room Tip: We like a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Would just like to make a comment regarding kdhFrance review of the Dusit. We have been going to the Dusit for many years and my husband also has a problem with sunburn. We have always been aware that you are able to wear white T shirts in the pool and not coloured ones and have never had a problem regarding this. My husband takes white shirts which he only uses in the pool, they are never worn outside, you can buy cheap cheap t shirts from Primark which are ideal for using in the pool as they are quite thin and wouldn't weigh you down in the water and certainly wouldn't break the bank!!!!!!
We are back again in October when hopefully the chaba pool will be finished.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Pauline,

Many thanks for your comments. The Chaba pool renovation will be completed when you arrive.
Looking forward to welocming you back to Dusit Thani Pattaya again.

With kind regards,

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Am unfortunately staying here at the moment and I'm so disappointed at this hotel. Having stayed in many hotels in Thailand previously, this one just doesn't match - from the standard of the rooms, to cleanliness and surprisingly to service and staff. As already stated, the entrance and foyer are impressive, but sadly it stops there. I have a room that overlooks the swimming pool renovations and has a side view of the sea, I don't think guests should have to pay extra for a sea view, as we have, to have a view of building work, which is essentially what a sea view provides!! It has been noisy at times, but nothing major, the worst noise starts at 12mn from the mega bass at a bar immediately outside the hotel on the beach - which you pay extra to view of course!! Soundproofing is non existent! The room itself is distinctly average and dated, the carpet is filthy and you can't walk around in bare feet as it makes your feet black. We were offered an alternative room on floor 6 which had been renovated, but we couldn't stay as it only had 1 bed and we needed an extra bed for children.( We had assumed 2 queen beds, but this is not available apparently) The bed is firm and not overly comfortable, pillows not great either, I asked for an extra 4 pillows and the lady at the front desk just about had a coronary and would only compromise and give us 2!! Bizarre!! Am unimpressed with service of the room, which is so unusual for Thailand too. Room isn't vacuumed, despite crumbs on floor, towels are changed only once a day - usually they're replaced on an evening if necessary but not here. You also get bare minimum of towels an no more, again unusual. Breakfast is a total riot!! Staff are not pleasant or particularly helpful and the buffet is chaotic to say the least. I was sat at a table that was dirty with stained place settings and had tea and spilled food on the seats. You practically have to pin staff down to get coffee and same again for a refill. They don't immediately clear dirty plates, uneaten food away, they pile it all up un a table until it's overflowing and then move it. Food selection is again average and geared toward the Asian customers, it's not a great standard at all. Naturally, the pool is busy due to renovations and it's ok. Overall, this really isn't the expected standard for this star rating, it lacks the nicer touches Thailand always provides. If you're looking for something lovely, stay at the Sheraton - worth the extra money to be out of the madness of Pattaya. So disappointed !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyJ37_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for posting your comments on our page. Without your full details I'm having difficulty checking if you have informed us of all the points highlighted while you were with us. Had we been informed of your displeasure during your stay, we would have done our utmost best to try and make sure you had a pleasurable stay. I do regret that we were not given this opportunity to make it right during the time of your stay with us.

We however take all comments seriously and will look into appropriate corrective action for improvement wherever possible.

My sincere apologies for our shortcomings and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we can provide you with a more positive stay experience.

With kind regards,

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.6 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#11 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#22 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amari Garden Pattaya
Amari Garden Pattaya
#25 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 442 in Pattaya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Pattaya

Property: Dusit Thani Pattaya
Address: 240/2 Pattaya Beach Road | Pattaya City, Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#14 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#16 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#18 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Pattaya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Pattaya enjoys a five-star status and the resort hotel presents a luxurious blend of city comforts and beach relaxation for individual travellers, business executives and family holidaymakers. It is a very short distance to the many family attractions in the resort city including parks and gardens, cosmopolitan dining as well as diverse and upscale shopping venues. It has three restaurants - Cascade Restaurant is located near the main lobby overlooking the hotel’s Atrium and waterfall. The Peak fully justifies a claim to being Pattaya’s finest Chinese Restaurant offering an excellent Dim Sum menu and a la carte menu of Chinese cuisine. Choice food in more casual surroundings is offered at The Bay, where the best skewers are served and the most famous weekend dining in town (The Bay Grill & Buffet)is held. Dusit Gourmet Bakery offers a wide variety of gourmet snacks, pastries, cakes, ice creams, teas and aromatic coffees. Dusit Shop has gift items and Thai souvenirs while other shops include a tailor's and jewellery store that are also worth a visit. These perfectly complement the eco-friendly hotel's Deluxe, Club Rooms, Club Grand Rooms and Suites along with the extensive facilities and amenities it offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Thani Pattaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Pattaya Hotel Pattaya
Pattaya Dusit Resort
Dusit Pattaya
Dusit Resort Pattaya
Dusit Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing