We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star hotel in good location of Pattaya city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Ranked #20 of 445 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Five star hotel in good location of Pattaya city”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is very large as five star hotel. I stayed in club seaview room. It looks good and very comfortable for stay and sleep. The view from the room is superb. Hotel has very good fitness center and well trained staff. It has many swimming pool also. Breakfast in club lounge is very good in quality but not various.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuttasak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave your kind review on tripadvisor.
We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities and services during the stay with us.
Again many thanks and we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    571
    183
    83
    32
See reviews for
451
753
100
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

A great hotel if you are staying in Pattaya. It has big grounds in the front and is away from the noise of the traffic, but close enough if you want to go around the beachfront. We were welcomed by the reception staff and offered fruit drinks, which were most welcome. The reception lady escorted us to our room on the fifth floor which is a non smoking floor, although i do smoke, but never inside. The room had a wonderful view of the huge pool and of the bay of Pattaya. It has a balcony where you could sit outside and admire the view of boats and see the paragliders.
The staff were very friendly and the interior of the entrance hall is spectacular. The pools were very welcome and we swam mostly at night after sundown having been out on the town all day.
Their are supermarkets within walking distance of the hotel if you need any items and you can take a bus taxi for ten baht which goes around the beach area and back, quite good fun, like climbing on the back of a truck with seats. They come and go all the time.
We booked Dusit Thani hotel on the internet and payed up front about a month and a half before our journey and managed to get a reduced price. When we arrived everything was just fine, so you do not have to worry about doing this. The hotel has some eating places but we did not eat there, preferring to eat out. They have a day menu where you can order different meals to your room. Our room was very neat and clean and book out time is only at 12o/clock noon, which helps you to still sleep in a bit on your last day.
We did find that tourists in Pattaya seemed to be mainly from Russia, Ukraine, and Eastern European countries, and generally the prices we found have really increased since we were there, although that was nearly ten years ago. Overall the Dusit Thani hotel was a very good choice for us and we really enjoyed our short stay there.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the big pool and on the fifth floor with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear George,
On behalf of a very grateful team here at Dusit Thani Pattaya, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Pattaya and for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, the room and services by our team. Thank you so much for your kind recommendation and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had a quiet enjoyable one week stay meeting some family over Pattaya.

Mainly, The Dusit Thani is one old cruise ship that still holds pretty well against the tides of aging.
We went for a Grand Room that was very comfortbale and well decorated, clean and spacious; as it should be since you pay extra for those. You may not have to pay extra if you are long time returning customers.
And this is maybe my major gripe with the hotel but I will come back to that later.

Concerning the premises:
- Beach access is nice, and the beach itslef is quiet nice and clean (attention, pattaya standard here.. I would not advise swimming there, as the city sewage system is less than effective..)
- Lobby is rather pretty, very high ceiling with garden and cascade..
- Rooms: lower level rooms are just bearable, Superior rooms are ok for a nice stay, Grand and Suite deliver the goods
- swimming pool: clean, the main one is good for a good swim, the smaller leisure/cascade one offers good relaxation. The hot bath pool is a germ paradise and should be used with care.
- Restaurants: Cascade (lobby side, no idea, did not try). The bay (pool side) is pretty good, even if a little expensive.The Peak (Chinese one, top floor) presents no interrest if you know your chinese food and overpriced (but then there isn't a lot of Chinese restaurant in Pattaya, so no competition..)
- Lounging spaces: all right but nothing exceptionnal, no theme ambiance. Quite a stale experience compared to the very "wooden/Jungle theme" of the mariott or the "white beach lounge" of the Pullman.
- SPA: excellent but pricy, still went back a few times, really enjoyable.
- As stated in other reviews, the Saturday Buffet is glorious, this is a highlight. Only thing they to take care of is that oysters have to be served alive and not dead for a few hours... They ought to send somebody spy at the Pullman how it ought to be done. However the Dusit overall buffet is still king (The foie gras poele was perfect).

The Service and personnel:
- Clercks: all right, effective and helpful.
- Majordome (Dusit Club): willingness to help but little result, I generally ended up looking for soltuion to my "problems" myself and found those.. ("True" deep sea fishing, limousine booking, etc..)
- Housecleaning: very friendly and thorough.
- Lounge services and pool bar: good and reactive. Always ready to provide the little extra that makes a difference.

The location:
- probably one of the best: at the end of the beach road you can easily catch the 10bth taxi shuttling around to go and come back from the center; while enjoying a very calm spot of Pattaya.
- The overall view from the sea view rooms will give you the best sight on Pattaya one can get.


My only gripe:
This hotel is aging and its clientele with it, not that this is bad in itself but prospects should be aware that the hotel catters to those first. Here, Seminars and retirees are kings: meaning relaxing music around the pool or pool bars are nowhere to be heard, Light a cigarette and you will be looked upon as a black sheep, try to teach swimming to your kids were the pool is deemed too deep by the Pool Overlord and you will be reprimanded, food seems to be spiced according to european tastes..... Well, you get the idea..

Adding to that, is that, whatever you ask or pay for, if one of the old customers (if you read other reviews you will note :"14th time there" "back for the 8th time", etc..) needs your spot/staff, then you will be kindly asked to move along. I mean.. Upgraded customers should never be prioritised in regards to full paying one...

Conclusion:
Pretty good choice if you are looking for an average experience within the upper scale segment of hotels in Pattaya; but would the Pullman be closer to the city center, this hotel would lose its competitive edge pretty quickly..

Room Tip: Go for the Grand rooms or Suite and the Dusit Club offers, they are worth the extra. Be clear you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear GuYong,
Thank you so much for your detailed comments & appreciative words which make all of us extremely happy that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guests' expectation and create a memorable stay for them. Direct steps for improvement will be taken wherever necessary in the areas highlighted. We certainly look forward to many more visits from you in the future.

With kind regards

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Recently stayed at the Dusit Thani, had first class room service,staff were very friendly hotel was clean and the newly decorated and updated rooms are great. Breakfast there was a huge range of food i defy anybody not to find something they liked Swimming area could do with menus around so you can see what food and bar has to offer.but other wise excellent. I Would recommend this hotel in Pattaya.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms is a must. 5th floor no smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendi_lindsay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Wendi,
Thank you for your generous comments and kind recommendation. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us. Will definitely share your comments with the team who will all be delighted.
We look forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future.
Have an outstanding festive season.

With kind regards

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

our 14th visit to the dusit thani lovely hotel. Rooms are beening done up over the last few years always refurbishment going on but does not interfer with holiday. The pool guys are great same sunbeds every day of your holiday do not like their new uniforms they look hot and sweaty. The maids who clean the rooms do a good job only thing our room was not hoovered in 14 days which it is no wonder carpets get worn and dirty so quick. Breakfast fantastic couldn't ask for anything more great choice. lovely location the best in pattaya. Love the seaview rooms over loooking pattaya bay just love to sit and watch patttaya come to life. the turn down service good if want ice just ask and they will bring it every night. lovely hotel,lovely staff.

Room Tip: over looking pattaya bay also they get sun in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Kerry,

Thank you very much for your continuous support and kind feedback, and I'm glad that you have again enjoyed your recent stay with us. All feedback will be reviewed for improvement in our continuous effort to meet guest's expectation and create a memorable stay for all. It also gives me great pleasure to share your compliments with our team, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. Looking forward to welcome you back again next year.

Have a wonderful Christmas

With kind regards,

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Five days in Bangkok gave me ample time to confirm that, post the awful flooding, things were back to normal and the Thais were smiling once more. It was time to move on.

I'd decided to tour the popular tourist city of Pattaya and its surrounding areas and so, with consummate ease and an outlay of only £20, hired a taxi for the 95 mile journey. Allowing for the usual traffic jams around the area of the international airport, the trip took a little under two hours – but so what? All I had to do was look out of the windows, admire the scenery and let the driver do all the work.

There are some 321 registered hotels in Pattaya, which meant choosing the right one for what I had in mind, needed careful research. I chose the Dusit Thani, located at the northern end of the very well-used coastal road (named Pattaya Beach Road) which fronts what could be called...'The Action'.

My advice to those planning to stay in Pattaya, is to list their priorities well in advance of booking and select the hotel which best seems to accommodate them (or most of them?).

Many of the major hotel chains have built 'ribbon fashion' along the beach road in recent years, names like Amari – Holiday Inn – Hilton – Montien and Marriott, flash their signs boldly in an effort to entice custom from competitors.

When there is a plethora of hotels sporting the same number of 'Stars', it can be quite a difficult task in choosing between them. So, my priorities prompted me to opt for the Dusit Thani.

Whilst all of those hotels I've listed above have impeccable standards of comfort and service, most - because of very precious land availability – are 'tower-like' structures which, by necessity, maximise every square inch for room numbers and thus revenues. Public spaces are very much limited in size, as are the grounds, gardens and pool areas. Such is very understandable but should be a factor when making a choice.

The Dusit Thani Hotel was built almost three decades ago. Its style is very different to its more 'modern' contemporaries. Storeys are limited to a mere eight. However, it can still boast 457 rooms in three wings but a guest would never know that there could be a further 1000 somewhere in the acreage. This is where the hotel really differs...space...lots of it.

Not only are the public areas vast, they are welcoming, functional and a pleasure to be in. The biggest surprise to arriving guests has to be the atrium...a fantastic panorama some 100 feet high, located at the rear of the massive and imposing lobby. It's a literal jungle of orchids, bromeliads, palms, pools...all dwarfed by a stunning waterfall. The entire area is capped with a series of glass panels, which allow the suns rays to 'highlight' different areas as it traverses the sky. What a feature!

Outside areas are no less attractive and BIG! Two large swimming pools (one salt water) are sited at different levels and angles, meaning that guests can 'follow' the sun at their leisure. The quality of the pool furniture, is probably the best I have ever experienced. Staff flit around at regular intervals, dispensing iced water and enticing cocktails. That went down extremely well with every guest...I watched and listened very carefully.

There are numerous 'viewing points' around the grounds where guests can gaze out to sea, watch the comings and goings of the many types of boats and Jet skis, follow the arial paths of the intrepid individuals parasailing across the waves, or just contemplate whatever is on their minds.

The car park is huge and more than sufficient to cater for both staff, guests and casual visitors and bordered with immaculately manicured gardens and low hedges.

Saturday nights are really special, as, on one of the pool terraces, the international buffet is held...and what a buffet! I gave it a try. The hors d'oeuvres were every bit as sought after as the main courses, all of which I might add, were authentically reproduced, country by country (even the roast beef and Yorkshire 'pud' was as good as I've ever tasted). Could that have something to do with the fact that the head chef hailed from Dublin? Anyway, with a live four-piece band tucked away in one corner emitting mood music to suit the many nationalities, the entire evening was a smash hit.

The rooms followed the same pattern of size. Big, comfy and with an air of well-being. Every expected amenity was to hand and the quality more than acceptable. The balconies were typical of the hotel's age, large enough for two folk to sprawl without knocking knees (or gin and tonics off the table?)

The Dusit Club, managed here by a delightful Filipino lady by the name of Imee, was in evidence, as it is world wide. Members (and those granted temporary access) could relax in comfort, partake of evening 'happy hours', where food and drink of all kinds were complimentary. Here too, was a bank of computers freely available for business use or pleasure.

Taking a few steps up a winding staircase brought me to the members breakfast room, where, in serene surroundings overlooking the sea, one could 'tick' boxes on a card whilst sipping a fruit juice, hand it to one of the attentive staff, where it was whisked away and replaced minutes later with the dishes selected - cooked to perfection. In the evenings, the room morphed into a Chinese restaurant, which was always full of satisfied diners.

What really made my stay at this hotel, was the staff. None I witnessed were merely 'going through the motions', all wanted to help and please and was much appreciated by every guest. The little sometimes irksome things were soon identified and nipped in the bud. Nothing was too much trouble – and it showed!

I came across most of the senior management during my 11 night stay, all of whom were willing to spend time with me and answer my oft 'tricky?' questions. There was certainly a mood throughout, that the guest came first - and last - and that any snippet of a constructive suggestion was more than welcome.

Pattaya's Dusit Thani is a happy ship, one that rides the waves of problems by accepting their presence as and when they occur...and then calms everything back to an even keel with grace.

My score for this hotel is...well...

…what I have written above should help readers to guess

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have the advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cumbrian25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Cumbrian,

On behalf of a very grateful team, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani on your recent trip to Pattaya, and for taking the time to leave a kind review of your stay on our page.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our resort but I am especially pleased to know that you enjoyed our resort location, the facilities and the services from our hardworking team. I shall be sharing your kind comments at our next meeting which I am sure will be very gratefully received.
Thank you again for your kind review, we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back again to Dusit Thani Pattaya at some point in the not too distant future.

Wishing you a wonderful festive season

With kind regards

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I recently stayed at the Dusit Thani for what was my 9th or 10th time,They are currently doing some renovation work to the hotel which did not spoil our stay,Some parts of the hotel have already been improved such as the bar,My standard seaview room was comfortable and clean with a great view over the bay,The bathrooms could do with a make over as the are now a little bit dated in design,All the staff are friendly as always,The Dusit's location is excellent,I hope to return next year

Room Tip: Book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neoh_boon, Resident Manager at Dusit Thani Pattaya, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Brummiegary,

Thank you so much for your continuous support & kind feedback of which we appreciate greatly. It is absolutely great to know that we have created memorable hotel experiences
and you have again enjoyed your stay with us.
Together with the Team I look forward to welcome you back again to your "second home" next year.

With kind regards,

Neoh Kean Boon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.6 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 445 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#22 of 445 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amari Garden Pattaya
Amari Garden Pattaya
#25 of 445 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 445 in Pattaya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Pattaya

Property: Dusit Thani Pattaya
Address: 240/2 Pattaya Beach Road | Pattaya City, Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#14 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#16 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#18 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Pattaya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Pattaya enjoys a five-star status and the resort hotel presents a luxurious blend of city comforts and beach relaxation for individual travellers, business executives and family holidaymakers. It is a very short distance to the many family attractions in the resort city including parks and gardens, cosmopolitan dining as well as diverse and upscale shopping venues. It has three restaurants - Cascade Restaurant is located near the main lobby overlooking the hotel’s Atrium and waterfall. The Peak fully justifies a claim to being Pattaya’s finest Chinese Restaurant offering an excellent Dim Sum menu and a la carte menu of Chinese cuisine. Choice food in more casual surroundings is offered at The Bay, where the best skewers are served and the most famous weekend dining in town (The Bay Grill & Buffet)is held. Dusit Gourmet Bakery offers a wide variety of gourmet snacks, pastries, cakes, ice creams, teas and aromatic coffees. Dusit Shop has gift items and Thai souvenirs while other shops include a tailor's and jewellery store that are also worth a visit. These perfectly complement the eco-friendly hotel's Deluxe, Club Rooms, Club Grand Rooms and Suites along with the extensive facilities and amenities it offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dusit Thani Pattaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Pattaya Hotel Pattaya
Pattaya Dusit Resort
Dusit Pattaya
Dusit Resort Pattaya
Dusit Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing