We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful moment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rim Talay Seafood & Steak

Rim Talay Seafood & Steak
Ranked #235 of 911 Restaurants in Pattaya
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful moment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We wanted to have a nice spot for a birthday on the beach with goos seafood and affordable prices.
Super location , the crabs rock lobsters and shrimps where exceptionally good and all this for less than 20$ / person (we brought our own wine)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank laura4747187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RimTalay, Manager at Rim Talay Seafood & Steak, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your patronage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Birthday on the beach and especially our Seafood. We will continue to do our best to provide all guests with memorable dining experience.

Once again thank you for your positive reveiw and we look forward to your next visit.

Hospitably yours,
Manager of Rim Talay Seafood & Steak Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    64
    37
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have read many good reviews on this restaurant and glad that we made the right decision to
Try out . What a place to be hanging out and enjoying dinners with friends . The beautiful beachfront seatings are no to be compensated for the delicious food and lively staffs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Vanisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Price / Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have brought my team of 12 people to Rim Talay a couple of weeks ago for a casual dinner. Many of my team members are Thais and they appreciated the relaxing setting. We sat outdoor on the terrace. Given that the restaurant is located at the beach, the setting is really tropical.

The food was very good, authentic Thai. It is prepared "the normal Thai way" or not so spicy if so requested as spicy Thai food doesn't suit every Foreigners palate. The portions are generous, the hot dishes were served nicely hot. The wait staff was attentive and caring.

We had a fantastic evening there and the overall experience was excellent. The best part: Not expensive at all!

PC in BKK

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Touristy, Mediocre, But Some Might Like It Anyway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The place offers on the sand dining, but for those expecting luxury or even borderline upscale, forget it. I must first caution anyone not familiar with temperatures in Pattaya. If you're from L.A. like I am, or any more northern latitude than Thailand, you might find that it's going to be hard to dine in the hot tropical sun or with 90+ humidity. In other words, forget the air conditioned world, and get ready to sweat if you eat here in the day time. Even in the "winter" season in Pattaya, it is still going to be in the high 80s in the daytime and if you're lucky, it will go down to low 80s or high 70s if you are there at night. And now, the food. The food is standard tourist-oriented Thai and not much better than you will get at any number of the faceless places along Beach Road or Second. I found the music to be God awful: Picture a "Saturday Night Live" parody of tourist traps, with off key Thai amateurs signing into a distorted P.A. accompanied by a bad band. I wouldn't call this a tourist trap however, because I think the staff is nice and they are sincerely trying to provide visitors (most of whom are foreigners) with a pleasant experience. Why did I say "Some Might Like It Anyway"? Because the menu is varied, the prices are far far less than hotel prices, the food isn't bad (it's merely mediocre), and it really is an unusual way to dine in Pattaya. If you don't mind the heat and tacky house bands playing through fried speakers, and you aren't demanding gourmet quality Thai food, it might be worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M in L.A.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Blissful location - food let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

It has everything right but the food - a free shuttle service 200yds to the beach location- great sea views - plenty of space-- a live band playing 70's hits- then the food, hot prawns in mushroom sauce which tasted like gravy, not a good combination. Main course of beef in teriyaki sauce which didn't taste anything like beef, (it was meat but what kind escaped us). Sad congealed noodles accompanied by a little pile of ground peanuts? and what tasted like fried tofu - we gave one to 1 of the 3 beach stray dogs sitting watching us and he chewed it and then buried it in the sand which neatly summed it up.
The service was quick and attentive ( but there were only three couples there) on a Friday night.
2000 Bart was worth it for the location/ band but not the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chriswoodbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rim Talay Seafood & Steak also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Rim Talay Seafood & Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing