We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'21st Century' design with 1970's construction standards - will be great when (if) it's finished.”
Review of Cape Dara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Dara Resort
Ranked #21 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“'21st Century' design with 1970's construction standards - will be great when (if) it's finished.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

First the positives ....

Nice quiet beachfront location
Bright modern design
Great seafood buffet
Bright rooms
Excellent staff

And now some things to be aware of before booking ....

It's not finished:

The large beach level pool and swim-up bar is still under contruction - I reckon another 2 months work or more. Lower level ground floor rooms still being built.
There seems to be unfinished parts everywhere you look - ceiling in the restuarant, corners of balconies, stairways etc. Construction standards not too good - baths and showers do not drain properly - there needs to be some serious quality control/snagging checks to get everything sorted.

Not recommended for small children as there's unfenced drops, scaffolding and hazards at the beach facing area of the hotel.

Buffet breakfast below average and 'low budget'

Upper level pool overcrowded because main beach level pool not finished.

Mosquitoes in open air restaurant - not enough fans to keep them at bay.

Very noisy AC in the bedrooms - not possible to sleep with it switched on - so be ready for a warm night!

But despite this (and it is in a 'soft opening' stage) it's still worth considering for the large, bright rooms, funky design, good staff, excellent value evening buffet and nice little beach.

You need to use the shuttle to get to the town centre though - as it's a long-ish walk.

I will probably go back in March when it should be finished - but I guess I wont get such a good deal then!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wotnominibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattamon M, General Manager at Cape Dara Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Sir,


Thank you so much for your comments. On behalf of Cape Dara Resort management team, we are glad to know that our resort and service could satisfy you to the certain level and that you will be back in March. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that caused during your stay. As we inform on our website, we are currently in our soft-opening period and we are aware that there are some touch up works and finishing construction to be done in the lower part of beachfront building. Therefore we have been selling at soft-opening rates and those rates shall remain until all finishings are done.

We really put your comments into account and after an investigation with our engineering team, the drainage problems have been checked throughout every guest rooms and fixed accordingly. All ACs have already been checked and made sure that they are under 55 decibels as per health & safety law required. For breakfast, we provide a variety of buffet bar and balance out between asian food and western food, according to our guests' preferences. However, our chef has been informed to be more delicate into guests' preferences of breakfast line.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcome you back in March :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    297
    95
    49
    21
See reviews for
237
367
32
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

When we first arrived at the hotel, we were excited to see the lobby, pool & pool bar complete with comfy couches. It is all relatively new, with more pools being built overlooking the beach. There should be clear information on the hotel website detailing what is finished/unfinished on the property. We saw our room & were pleasantly surprised with the view and facilities, having also seeing pictures on websites that appeared enhanced. We had a problem with weak Internet room coverage which was resolved quickly by a friendly staff member. The food in the restaurant was nice, room service prompt.
Now for the constructive feedback. Our room had mild drainage issues in the shower (possibly a common fault in newly built hotel). On one occasion, our towels were re folded and not replaced when left in the bath. We requested an ashtray at the pool bar & were told sorry, without the staff even attempting to get one. I asked whether there was table service for food by the pool and was told there was, however at no stage did the staff initiate or prompt service as expected in a five star hotel. These may seem slightly trivial but are important when catering to a high end market.
The free buggy service to the roundabout near Beach Rd was good, however we found it annoying that it was one way only, and were told to ring the hotel for a return service (foreigners don't always have ready telephone/mobile access) so maybe there could be a better way to ensure safe transport back to the hotel. Often, we would walk the several hundred metres back to see several staff chatting by the cart with nothing to do.
Lastly, I was told that a taxi service to the airport would be 2900 baht. I walked 20 metres away from the entrance to locate the taxi service next door (who the hotel must utilize as the man wore a Cape Dara jacket?) to be told it would cost 1200 baht. When I queried the hotel receptionist, she explained that the taxi service was "different" and it was more expensive booked through the hotel as it was a guaranteed "licensed" taxi. So we left a little confused by this discrepancy.
The hotel has great potential, but you will struggle to get client recommendations until service improves considerably.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Slapnuts001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattamon M, General Manager at Cape Dara Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments. Please allow us to clarify the taxi issue with you. The taxi stand nearby does not belong to the resort and we cannot control their pricing. The one at the resort is however priced as per the standard of the tour company and it has a proper health and safety policy which we are very much concerned for our guests.

We've taken all your comments into account. Our concerned departments promised to improve our services and procedures to excellence. We hope to welcome you back at Cape Dara Resort again in your next trip to Pattaya :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I'm always a big fan of Pattaya. This city offers lots of things to do.

We (family of 2 kids, me, my husband and our parents) stayed at this hotel for a week and were absolutely happy with the service. The rooms were nice. Beds were very comfortable. Overlooking-the-ocean views from the room were spectacular, one of the hotels with best views in Pattaya I must say.

Most importantly, we loved the food there very much, especially buffet dinner and set lunch, very good value!. Also, the breakfast was nice.

Will totally consider staying there again next time we visit Pattaya. Would like to see how it's going to be like when it finishes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattamon M, General Manager at Cape Dara Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We've put a lot of emphasis on warm service and Thai style of hospitality. We glad to hear that you had a great time staying at Cape Dara Resort, and hope we will have a chance to welcome you back again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I spent 3 nights with my family at this resort a couple of weeks ago. The resort is located not that far away from the main street. It's like 2 km away from the Beach Road (the mainstream of Pattaya). This makes it a perfect quiet hideout, while accessible to the city. Also, I'd recommend you have a car to make your trip more convenient, however, if you don't, the resort does have a shuttle service (free of charge, I guess). Besides the absolutely stunning endless seaview, my family was also impressed by the service. I miss the bedroom where we can enjoy the open seaview without worrying that other people outside the resort building would see us.
I wish I could stay longer.

Room Tip: The building has 2 sides that face to 2 different directions, thus you'll get a chance to have d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnEarth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattamon M, General Manager at Cape Dara Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for comments. Our resort provides buggy service for guests who want to travel to dolphin circle, and shuttle service for guests who want to travel to the main shopping area on beach road. Both of these services are free of charge. Guests just need to inform our front desk to use the service. We're happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and hope to welcome you back at Cape Dara Resort again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I love Capedara it's peaceful and private.
nice people are there
Atmosphere is cool.
I like the pool..I had no problem with it b'cus i followed the rule.
Water was so clear and i could see the sea from the pool.
and I dont mind about the distance between main road and hotel
im happy to pay for the room n I ll absolutely get back there!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattamon M, General Manager at Cape Dara Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We are happy to hear that you had a great time and will come back again. We hope to welcome you at Cape Dara Resort again too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have never experienced such a thing from this hotel. On the contrary, very warm welcome from EVERY staff (not few) was the first impression I recieved when I arrived. Walking around the hotel was another awe-inspiring experience, not only because its layout but gorgeous decorations. What about the room? How spatious and good view of the beach and the sea from the room. Very nice and clean!!! What else I could say? Oh well, about the distance from the main street. I think someone seemed to be exaggerating!!! It is only 5 mins walk from the hotel to get to the main area and dont you think its best to get away from noisy and busy area since you are on vacation seeking peaceful and serene atmosphere. And that's Cape Dara is offering to you.
Go and experience it yourself and you won't be disaapointed from this new splendid hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeDaravisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattamon M, General Manager at Cape Dara Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you Mr.Lee for your comments. In addition to our products which is the architectural and interior that has been delicately designed and built, we also put a lot of emphasis on our service and aiming that all guests would have a great time and great memories throughout their stay. We are looking forward to welcome you at our resort again in the next time you visit Pattaya :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This new hotel had made us very upset because of swimming pants ( see attached file ).
Even if someone wore same pants as me , they just claimed our pants because ours have side pocket & speedo... They told me speedo is not swimming pants company " it is just jogging pants company " ha ha ha ... unbelievable !! what a foolish !!

And this hotel is too far from main road & lousy shuttle service ( at least 10-20 minutes waiting otherwise walking 10-15 minutes ) & still under construction with very noise sound & dust .
The only good thing is price & few very kind workers .

Do not wear speedo pants with side pocket otherwise you would be kicked out from swimming pool within 1 minute & could be realized "Speedo is jogging pants company " by swimming pool workers....

If you are ready to pay U.S$ 100.00 in pattaya , you better go other brand hotel such as Amari or best western or woodland which are much better well-known hotel near there ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank tripmania_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattamon M, General Manager at Cape Dara Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Mr.Tripmania_12


Thank you for your comments. After we have investigated with our team about the incident you mentioned, we would like to clarify as followings:

1. We asked that all of our guests should wear proper swim suits to the pool in order to uphold five stars standard and for hygiene purpose.

2. Cape Dara Resort is conveniently located only 5-7 minutes walk from Pattaya-Naklua road, and still maintaining serenity of beach vacation. We do provide buggy to send our guests off to the dolphin circle, and free shuttle service to send our guests to the main shopping area, Mike Shopping Mall on beach road. Both of our buggy and shuttle service are standing by at the lobby all the time, which makes it ready to serve whenever guests are needed.

3. Cape Dara Resort is under our soft opening period, as per schedule, we have already informed our guests through all of our booking channels, including our website.

We thank you for your comments to help us improve and thank you for your compliments to encourage our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.6 mi away
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
#23 of 447 in Pattaya
1,577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
2.6 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#22 of 447 in Pattaya
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Dusit Thani Pattaya
#20 of 447 in Pattaya
1,942 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
#12 of 447 in Pattaya
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Dara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Dara Resort

Property: Cape Dara Resort
Address: 256 Dara Beach, Soi 20, Pattaya-Naklua Road, Pattaya, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Dara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Dara Resort invites you to experience five-star luxury at a six-star location. Rising 26 storeys above a quiet residential section of North Pattaya, the resort stands amid lush natural surroundings including its own private beach on beautiful Pattaya Bay. At Cape Dara, guests enjoy the calm and tranquillity of a seaside retreat, yet all the while are but minutes from the pulsing centre of one of the world's top destinations for leisure and business travel. Note: ATM is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cape Dara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing