We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time and 'so-so'...but may try again!”
Review of Momento Beach

Momento Beach
Ranked #222 of 957 Restaurants in Pattaya
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Barbecue, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dining in Pattaya Momento Beach Restaurant is the ideal place to relax and have good time with your friend. Enjoy a delightful lunch or dinner with our French and Thai chef for the best experience!
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
“First time and 'so-so'...but may try again!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I do recide in the neigborhood and this "newly relocated" or branched-out French eatery seemed to be a welcoming sign but our first impression was just average! We had lunch (my Thai friend and myself) at about 1pm. When we arrived there was no real welcome and we seated ourselves. We were a little surpwised as only open-air seating seems to exsist but this is fine. The decor is warm, chic and friendly. We were then approached by a tall Thai female (skinny) who was seeminly not the friendly type and hardly managed to take the order...no welcome Wai, no smile and no sense of Thai hospitality! When asking for room temparture water the answer was "no have; only cold"!

The food was average for taste but portions are way too big. I know we should not "complaint" about portions being too big but I do believe that they go overboard as half of our two pastas were returned and most likely went into the garbage; which is a shame. If they cut the portions i.e. 20% they could offer even a better price as they already offer reasonable menu prices which would make them "Champions"...sort of! The Pesto Pasta was not really of the full flaovor of Pesto but very oily and the Pasta was very overcooked. The Bolognese sauce was very sweet and also quite oily and lacking of beef (minimal beef amount) but the pasta was cooked perfect. The cheese provided for the Pasta was not Parmesan but cheap block Mozarella without any real taste. Pasta must be served with Parmesan!! The menu overal is really a mix of everything from Ham and cheese sandwich to Escargotsa and Filet Mignon but then again not very French like we expected from a French eatery. The prices are CHEAP and perhaps are too cheap with a 350 gr Tenderloin steak for 390.- baht!!!!???? I will try this item when i return for dinner. The food presentation is nice with well selected chinaware and other dishes "le extravanganza"...however the food quality may not match the fancy presenations!
On another note there was some renovation work going on at the little Thai house right next to the restaurant and it was very noicy and dusty as they were cutting tiles...this could really wait until after the lunch period!
When we ask for the bill it came fast but again without a smile nor wai nor THANK YOU! When we left the restaurant no staff even tried to Wai or say anything like ..."BeyBey"! Mhhhh....So-So!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    75
    32
    30
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Large portions!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

After hearing that they had moved to a new location, I had to try it out! The new location is not bad, but not great either. The hotel it is situated in is run-down and old but the restaurant owners seems to have invested a lot of money into the new restaurant as it looked great with the swimming pool setting and the music made a great atmosphere. The food was OK, seems like they have the same chef. and the portions were massive. Make sure to go on an empty stomach. overall a great, cheap place to eat at. good atmosphere. 8/10 would recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inexcusably Rude/Bad Management”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our friends were visiting for the second time and recommended it mostly because of the proximity to our hotel. The food is better than average but certainly not anywhere near as good as Cafe Des Amis. The credit card processor had been broken when they were there earlier so they asked if it was working again. The waiter/waitress (tall ladyboy) said it was fixed. When the bill came they said the machine was out of service. This combined with the fact a second waitress had substituted a second bottle of twice as expensive (and not so great) wine without our permission had my friend asking for a manager. Before we knew it two of the staff were loudly voicing obscenities at my friend who clearly didn't deserve such treatment. The owner/manager took the bill away as if to do something about it but came back with the same bill and not even a word of apology. It was very easy to ascertain that the rudeness filters down from management. You would be well advised to pick a different restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bwilliams1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very nice place to eat in Pattaya "Jontiem"”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Here a place to be know for the amateurs of French local food. Momento restaurant in coco residence, not easy to be find. Soi 15, thaphraya road or Norway soi 15.
I recommend that you booked a table, very busy place for lunch and dinner.
Try out the skewer meat, tartiflette and the classical parmentier beef (all very generous portion).
I will definitely go back there. Average per person 600thb with a glass of wine and a coffee.
One thing I didn't know why?? breakfast is served too late 10am, I believed for the guest staying at the residence, it's very inconvenient to be serve that late

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julianallain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

But the food was not my taste, which is okay. It seams very cheap when looking at the menu, but considering the quality of food they served, it is not cheap at all. Had a Mozzarella cheese for starter, that was a block Mozzarella, not what one would expect. The rack of lamb had all the fat and skin on, very unpleasant. The dessert, a flamed ice cream was okay. But disturbing is that the woman in charge of the service, a foreigner, seams to be drunk. She was not friendly, but rather inpolite, Service was fast, which was not difficult, as I had to do everything myself. Pooring the wine from the bottle which they place in an ice coller, putting the dirty dishes aside and so on.
But the setting of the hotel and therefore the restaurant is chic.
I would not return there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momento Beach also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Momento Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing